We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stellenbosch Kitchen Restaurant

) #7 of 201 Restaurants in Stellenbosch RR - RRR European, , International
Dorp Street | Corner Dorp Street and Andringa Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
+27 21 883 2893
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good32%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lamb stew” (15 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, Contemporary, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
Dorp Street | Corner Dorp Street and Andringa Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

A late night meal no reservation needed. Meal well presented and fast service. My daughter had the kudu, very tender and flavorfulMore

Thank Mary C
Marketing_and, General Manager at Stellenbosch Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Mary C, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit at Stellenbosch Kitchen. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our Kudu and service. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Me and two of my friends came especially for the Madiba Day Special - a great initiative from your side! If you buy one lamb stew with samp and beans (highly recommended, it is very hearty and tasty!), Stellenbosch Kitchen will sponsor one meal of...More

Thank Nakadien
Marketing_and, General Manager at Stellenbosch Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Nakadien, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit at Stellenbosch Kitchen. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding food, service and community support initiative. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

I had the lamb, it was excellent! I also tasted the gnocci, so it spoiled gnocci for me for the rest of my life, as no gnocci will be as smooth and soft ever again! The atmosphere was great. People were actually spending time with...More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Lorette T
Marketing_and, General Manager at Stellenbosch Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Lorette T , Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit at Stellenbosch Kitchen. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our lamb and gnocchi, I will be sure to pass your comments on to our chefs....More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Did my bit for Madiba day by having traditional Umgqusho ( stew with samp and beans). Wonderful!!! Thanks Bianca and Robert, job well done!!!More

1  Thank roosenwijn
Marketing_and, General Manager at Stellenbosch Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear roosenwijn, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit at Stellenbosch Kitchen. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our Stew with Samp & Beans for Madiba day. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Your Service was exceptional, Tims served us and was very friendly and helpful and overall had a great experience catching up with family at your restaurant. The food at the Buffet was well presented and of top quality. Would recommend and come visit again any...More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank Brian G
Marketing_and, General Manager at Stellenbosch Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Brian G, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit at Stellenbosch Kitchen. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our Breakfast Buffet as well as Tim's service, we will definitely pass your comments on to him....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I usually don't eat at hotels. I was greatly surprised with this restaurant. The food was extremely good. I ordered a mushroom risotto and was extraordinary!! Went to congratulate the chef. The wine list was also excellent. Very good price and impeccable service.More

Thank LuisMerizalde
Marketing_and, General Manager at Stellenbosch Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear LuisMerizalde, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit at Stellenbosch Kitchen. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our food. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests. We look...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Back for lunch as previously loved it. What a disappointment!!! Pathetic service. Still waiting for my Irish coffee! Food was bland. I don't know what happened, I really enjoyed this spot! Guys you need to sit down and reinvent yourself. Things are slipping fast!!! I...More

Thank DanieW312659
Marketing_and, General Manager at Stellenbosch Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear DanieW312659, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. As we pride ourselves on delivering a high standard of food and service, we were disappointed to learn that your meal failed to meet your expectations. The matter has been addressed...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had dinner here - the staff are very welcoming and efficient. We had the line caught fish of the day and the kudu which were excellent. Recommended.More

Thank Go55
Marketing_and, General Manager at Stellenbosch Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Go55, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit at Stellenbosch Kitchen. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our food. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests. We look...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This restaurant doesn't meet any of the even average reviews. Food was ok, service was horrible than they tell you upon leaving they're credit card machine doesn't work. And they lead the customer to believe its they're problem when in fact they knew all along...More

Thank renee k
Marketing_and, General Manager at Stellenbosch Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Renee We are extremely disheartened by your incredibly damaging online review, considering our sincere efforts to resolve the payment difficulties on the night and again thereafter in private correspondence. To clarify, our card machines were in perfect working order but the bank network was...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I were staying at the hotel as our last stop on our honeymoon. The restaurant welcomed us with warmth and the food - both dinner and breakfast the following morning - was superb. We couldn't have asked for a better end to...More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank ronej2017
Marketing_and, General Manager at Stellenbosch Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear ronej2017, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit at Stellenbosch Kitchen. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our food and service. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Helena's
751 reviews
.07 km away
Oppie Dorp Restaurant
970 reviews
.09 km away
Basic Bistro
618 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden
613 reviews
.40 km away
The Stellenbosch Village Museum
264 reviews
.20 km away
Stellenbosch Visitor Centre
23 reviews
.47 km away
Dylan Lewis Sculpture Garden
13 reviews
.50 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Linsey S
12 September 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from PraveenDwarika | Reviewed this property |
Hi Linsey, I've always been lucky enough to get a table without booking but I would recommend that you do book just to make sure. Believe me; you're in for a treat. My personal favourite: the lamb - perfection!! PS. Don't... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Meals
Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 10:30
Monday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 10:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 10:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 10:30
Thursday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 10:30
Friday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 10:30
Saturday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 10:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dorp Street | Corner Dorp Street and Andringa Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Stellenbosch
  • Phone Number: +27 21 883 2893
  • E-mail
Description
Our dishes are inspired by classics from around the globe. We source most of our produce from within a 50 km radius of the beautiful town of Stellenbosch and work closely with our local suppliers to find the best local, and freshest seasonal produce. We have taken classical dishes, researched their origin and how they were prepared and adapted them to our own style.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing