We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
Our dishes are inspired by classics from around the globe. We source most of our produce from within a 50 km radius of the beautiful town of Stellenbosch and work closely with our local suppliers to find the best local, and freshest seasonal produce. We have taken classical dishes, researched their origin and how they were prepared and adapted them to our own style.
PRICE RANGE
US$10 - US$17
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
European, Contemporary, International
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Buffet, Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Family style
Reviews (1 647)
Filter reviews
1 381 results
Traveller rating
939
320
69
33
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
939
320
69
33
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monster burger lamb shank calamari stellenbosch hotel our waiter delicious food chocolate fondant service was excellent george wine waiters presentation
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First night in Stellenbosch and lemme tell you about this absolute GASTRONOMICAL DELIGHT called The Stellenbosch Kitchen. Lovely staff, food was otherworldly, and of course, some extremely extremely enjoyable wines. Started with homemade ciabatta with herb butter and a spicy lentil spread. Followed by an...exotic mushroom risotto with grandano padamo and truffle oil (not pictured was the calamari and chorizo with chickpea and a paprika and sherry vinegar). I had the slow braised lamb shank with sweet potato mash and courgette and carrots, Edward had a sirloin with pepper sauce, potatoes, and mushroom. We finished off by sharing the butterscotch and blueberry cheesecake 😮‍💨 tonight’s wines were Diemersfontein Pinotage and the Kanu Noble Late Harvest Sauvignon Blanc. 10000/10 would send everyone I know here.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 24 October 2021 via mobile

Such warm And friendly staff. Big ups to Elain our waiter that made our visit so warm and amazing. Food is amazing aswell ❤️

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
General Manager, General Manager at Stellenbosch Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2021

Dear OnAir27304314859 Thank you very much for your response, we are glad to be of service. Sincerely Stellenbosch Kitchen

Reviewed 16 October 2021

I was here for my birthday with my family and had to make an account just to leave a review about this amazing place! The restaurant was fairly busy when we arrived, but the staff were so kind and really made sure all the guests...were well taken care of. I had an amazing pizza and the portion was perfect, my family had various different meals because we wanted to try everything on the menu, and every one was very satisfied with their meal! Would gladly come back and highly recommend any tourists and locals to go there for a nice relaxing dinner!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
General Manager, General Manager at Stellenbosch Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2021

Dear Ganechac We thank you for your response and glad to be of service. Hope to see you again soon. Sincerely Stellenbosch Kitchen

Reviewed 14 October 2021

Cannot understand why this is ranked so high. It's cold inside, food is basic, portions are small, waiting times neverending. Kudu carpaccio: too salty. Beef: overdone. Calamari with chorizo: one half slice of chorizo in the whole plate, but a ton of canned chickpeas. Kinglip:...kid's portion. Maybe for the price it could be acceptable, depending on what your priorities are. For me it was a big disappointment.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
General Manager, General Manager at Stellenbosch Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2021

Dear Geek Tourist Following your recent experience with us at Stellenbosch Kitchen, we wish to thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. As we pride ourselves on delivering a high standard of service, we were disappointed to learn that you...More

Reviewed 3 October 2021 via mobile

Had an amazing experience, the quality of food and service speaks for itself. The variety is extremely amazing. My family is meat eaters were in a vegetarian. I was completely satisfied with the meal.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
General Manager, General Manager at Stellenbosch Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2021

Dear Fearless23370791229 Thank you for your review, we are glad to be of service Hope to see you again soon Sincerely Stellenbosch Kitchen

Reviewed 25 September 2021 via mobile

The Pizzas we had at Stellenbosch Kitchen were amazing. Proper wood fired pizzas made with top quality ingredients, pancetta, prosciutto, gorgonzola, truffle oil, etc. Also great value for money, five star pizzas at three star prices. I can highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 19 September 2021 via mobile

Loved everything about Stellenbosch Kitchen! Breakfast and dinner we had there for our stay was well presented, delicious and affordable. Staff went the extra mile for us, making us feel at home, all safety precautions in place, felt safe... Will see you all soon, please...take care and keep up the great service. Thank you to staff who made my husband's 50th birthday extra special ❤️More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 8 September 2021

Dont look any further when in Stellenbosch. Value for money. Lovely restaurant service (thanks Laeticia !). We stayed in a family apartment for two weeknights. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 September 2021

We had pizzas, lamb curry and lamb shanks. The food was amazing 😉 the meat was nice and succulent... and service was amazing. Thanks Elaine to our waiter 🙏💕🎁

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 September 2021 via mobile

The food and service was amazing with soft meat and tasteful pizzas Elaine was of amazing service and she was full of positive moods and willing full service 10/10

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Stellenbosch Hotel
1 547 reviews
.03 km away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
446 reviews
.10 km away
Eendracht Hotel
633 reviews
.11 km away
Oude Werf Hotel
895 reviews
.12 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Helena's Restaurant
1 316 reviews
.07 km away
Oppie Dorp Bistro, Bar and Restaurant
1 620 reviews
.10 km away
The Blue Crane & The Butterfly
249 reviews
.09 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Dorp Street
452 reviews
.05 km away
Dutch Reform Church
140 reviews
.16 km away
Gavin Collins Art Gallery
5 reviews
.13 km away
Verbatim Bookstore
8 reviews
.06 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Linsey S
12 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from PraveenDwarika | Reviewed this property |
Hi Linsey, I've always been lucky enough to get a table without booking but I would recommend that you do book just to make sure. Believe me; you're in for a treat. My personal favourite: the lamb - perfection!! PS. Don't... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Stellenbosch Kitchen

Yes, Stellenbosch Kitchen is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Stellenbosch Kitchen is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5