We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melissa’s Stellenbosch

86 Dorp Street | Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
+27 21 887 0000
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good41%
  • Average17%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (5 reviews)
“cake” (4 reviews)
“brie” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
86 Dorp Street | Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Before entering Oom Samie se winkel, we stopped here for a quick lunch. I took a while before we got served, but the sandwiches were ok.

Thank Zwaga
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

I love the farm style feeling and all the farm breads, jams and other goodies for Sale. Nice environment to catch up with friends.

Thank Daniel S
Bridgette R, Guest Relations Manager at Melissa’s Stellenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Good Day, Thank you for visiting Melissa's Stellenbosch and writing a review. We look forward to your return. Kind Regards, Melissa's Management

Reviewed 13 March 2018

We came here for breakfast because it was underwhelming at our hotel. We enjoyed a salmon and avo open sandwich and some capuccinos. Milk alternatives are available, which is great.

Thank michelejeannine5
Bridgette R, Guest Relations Manager at Melissa’s Stellenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Good Day, Thank you for writing a review on Melissa's Stellenbosch. We are pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with healthy and wholesome breakfast that was not underwhelming. Kind Regards, Melissa's Management

Reviewed 10 February 2018

Next to Oom Samies shop (worth a visit) the cafe is a traditional cake and coffee place, with a difference. Nice outdoor seating as well. We had livers and egg fruit parmasana with cappuccino. Very nice, good service.

Thank Margot P
Bridgette R, Guest Relations Manager at Melissa’s Stellenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Good Day, Thank you for your positive feedback and recommendation. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Melissa's Management

Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

Went for breakfast here. Cosy coffee shop for a rainy day. Fantastic breakfast menu and good coffee. I ordered oats and got a big portion for a reasonable price.

Thank Alexanderkurtz
Bridgette R, Guest Relations Manager at Melissa’s Stellenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Good Day, Thank you for writing a review on Melissa's Stellenbosch, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience. Kind Regards, Management Management

Reviewed 12 January 2018

Very tasty breakfasts with fast service! A recommended visit. The menu caters for food lovers. Sitting and watching the tourists provides an European feeling of being in Paris!!

Thank kobusp2015
Bridgette R, Guest Relations Manager at Melissa’s Stellenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Good Day, Thank you for visiting us at Melissa's Stellenbosch, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our atmosphere and food. We hope to see you soon. Kind Regards, Melissa's Management

Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

I am totally in love with this sweet little spot in Stellenbosch. Great food, friendly staff and a creative atmosphere! Definitely the best Flat White Coffee in town

Thank Stellenbosch_foodie
Bridgette R, Guest Relations Manager at Melissa’s Stellenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Good Day, Thank you for writing a review on Melissa's Stellenbosch. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to your return. Kind Regards, Melissa's Management

Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Had breakfast here this morning ,waited forever. When the food arrived , it seemed that it was not brought out on time and warmed again. Bacon was like rubber and I was not able to cut the Ciabatta with a knife. Tomatoes was burnt too....More

Thank Nkwazigi
Bridgette R, Guest Relations Manager at Melissa’s Stellenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Good Day, We are very disappointed to hear about your terrible breakfast. This is not the Melissa's way and we sincerely apologise. Kindly send your telephone number and email address to info@melissas.co.za, our area manager would like to contact you directly. Thank you. Kind Regards,...More

Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

So I’ve just moved around the corner and was hoping to make this my daily.... What a waste of time Ordered poached eggs medium, arrived rock hard, bacon on the side ever arrived, toast soggy and chips pap and greasy Not more than ten customers...More

Thank Matthewsmithex
Bridgette R, Guest Relations Manager at Melissa’s Stellenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Good Day Matthew, Thank you for informing us about your experience at Melissa's Stellenbosch. We apologise for the overcooked poached egg and that the bacon never arrived. Did you have the opportunity to speak to our manageress? Nonetheless, our area manager would like to reach...More

Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

I am still hoping I am going to wake up from this nightmare. Staff do not care about service - unlike any other Melissa's experience I've ever had. This is not the Melissa's brand standard. Staff were unhelpful, rude and even rolled their eyes at...More

Thank Kriel_A
Bridgette R, Guest Relations Manager at Melissa’s Stellenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Good Day, We sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to inform us about your experience at Melissa's Stellenbosch. It is unacceptable that you were served with a rude attitude and that eyes were rolled at you. It is deeply regrettable that you will...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 18 hotels in Stellenbosch
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
154 reviews
.29 km away
Protea Hotel Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa
136 reviews
.42 km away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
371 reviews
.48 km away
The Stellenbosch Hotel
1 020 reviews
.54 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Gino's
235 reviews
.11 km away
Hudsons, The Burger Joint
343 reviews
.09 km away
Spek & Bone
121 reviews
.03 km away
Twaalf
87 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rupert Museum
164 reviews
.62 km away
Dorp Street
406 reviews
.60 km away
Stellenbosch Toy & Miniature Museum
26 reviews
.25 km away
Dalla Cia Vineyard
9 reviews
.57 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Melissa’s Stellenbosch staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 17:00
Monday
07:15 - 18:00
Tuesday
07:15 - 18:00
Wednesday
07:15 - 18:00
Thursday
07:15 - 18:00
Friday
07:15 - 18:00
Saturday
08:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 86 Dorp Street | Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Stellenbosch
  • Phone Number: +27 21 887 0000
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;