We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Helena's Restaurant

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
Helena's Restaurant at Coopmanhuijs aims to serve heritage food with finesse, often with subtle twists in the detail, thereby turning the familiar into the spectacular. The menu is designed to reflect the bounty of the Boland, with specific emphasis on freshness and food provenance - the "from where" and "by whom" of locally sourced (often artisanal) ingredients.
PRICE RANGE
US$13 - US$18
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
African, International
FEATURES
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Wine and Beer
Reviews (1 353)
Filter reviews
1 102 results
Traveller rating
821
198
50
23
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
821
198
50
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood bisque duck liver pate rack of lamb karoo lamb kingklip cheesecake steak bread coopmanhuijs hotel church street excellent food wonderful dinner our waiter fine dining beautiful restaurant attentive service south africa
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

I will be back for some more delicious cuisine. The food is out of this world from breakfast to the last drop at diner.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We had excellent food and wine. The deboned neck of lamb I had, was a winner and the veggie that went with it were out of this world. The service was professional and friendly. I also received a piece of mouth watering baked cheese cake...to take home; just because my name is also Helena. We will definately eat there again.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

I ordered the set menu, the food was very nice but I was very disappointed by the staff for a number of reasons: a) they forgot to serve one of the items on the menu... b) the (white) wine was kept away from the table...in an ice bucket which is fine but they never spotted that my glass was empty and I always had to ask for them top it up c) They basically spend as little time as possible in the restaurant and instead just spend all their time in the kitchen socialising. The excuse I got for the service: "Sorry I'm really tired because I did the breakfast shift as well"More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and myself had a fabulous breakfast on the veranda. Excellent service, beautiful location! Perfectly prepared soft poached eggs. Our friendly waitress was very happy to replace my toasted bread with toasted English muffins as I requested. The coffee was out of this world....Cannot wait to return.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
General Manager, General Manager at Helena's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi ChristoBez, The team here at Helena’s Restaurant @ Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa are thrilled to receive such a great rating. We hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Suzaan Groenewald General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was stellar. Fresh seafood prepared just right. Service was quick and attentive. James and Tutu, our waiters were charming and wonderful.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
General Manager, General Manager at Helena's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi laurensf2014, The team here at Helena’s Restaurant @ Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa are thrilled to receive such a great rating. We hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Suzaan Groenewald General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Helena's for dinner and absolutely loved it! The ambience was great and cosy. The waiters were friendly, present but not in our space- felt like they would come to us at the right time each time, not too early but also not too...late. The food was on point, enjoyed my lamb- the best I have had so far! Desserts were also tasty. It was all beautifully plated - we loved this dining experience. Unfortunately, during our meal a huge cockroach showed up on the wall vlose to our table. It was unexpected and a real spoiler.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
General Manager, General Manager at Helena's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear rue10d Thank you for taking the time to review Helena's Restaurant @ Coopmanhuijs. We are very happy that the service as well as the food was above your expectations. Our biggest apologies about the cockroach you saw - unfortunately this flying pest entered through...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a group of 26 at Helena’s for Sundays lunch. We had starters and a main course, and every single one of us were extremely happy with our food. Delicious! The service was great and the staff was very friendly. Will definitely go again...when in Stellenbosch.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
General Manager, General Manager at Helena's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear linniek, The team here at Helena’s Restaurant @ Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa are thrilled to receive such a great rating. We hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Suzaan Groenewald General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Truly one of our best dining experiences in Stellenbosch by far. My wife and I don’t often go for a set menu, but our excellent waiter, Muzi, “gently” insisted that we have a look at it, and we’re very happy we did ! All three...courses were absolutely superb for both of our choices. Not only was the food excellent, but the presentation was world class. The service by Muzi for our food and James for our wine selections were both excellent, and a credit to this superb restaurant. It’s also not often anymore that as a South African, you can say that a fine dining experience in Stellenbosch was value for money, but this certainly was ! Thanks so much for a wonderful evening, and we will definitely be back again soon.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
General Manager, General Manager at Helena's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi CharisM71, The team here at Helena’s Restaurant @ Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa are thrilled to receive such a great rating. We hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Suzaan Groenewald General Manager

Reviewed 18 April 2022

We enjoyed exceptional food and service at Helenas Restaurant, which I can highly recommend. My son and I had a wonderful cheese and biltong soufflé starter. As main, the deboned lamb neck was the most flavorful and soft I have ever eaten, accompanied with a...very tasty mixed vegetable dish and mashed potatoes that complimented each other very well. My son had the ostrich fillet, which I was amazed how flavorful and tender it was. My wife's mushroom rissoto was out of this world, which I can highly recommend. The bana and toffee desert was delicious and my wife's pear desert was served with a mint ice cream, which is to die for.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
General Manager, General Manager at Helena's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jean-Pierre M, The team here at Helena’s Restaurant @ Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa are thrilled to receive such a great rating. We hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Suzaan Groenewald General Manager

Reviewed 18 April 2022 via mobile

Superb Food & Service Great location Very cozy atmosphere One of the ‚ must to visit ‚ places in Stellenbosch Valet service available

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
General Manager, Owner at Helena's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi 1955markusz The team here at Helena’s Restaurant @ Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa are thrilled to receive such a great rating. We hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Suzaan Groenewald General Manager

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Oude Werf Hotel
909 reviews
.05 km away
The Stellenbosch Hotel
1 600 reviews
.06 km away
Eendracht Hotel
653 reviews
.11 km away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
454 reviews
.17 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Stellenbosch Kitchen
1 677 reviews
.07 km away
Basic Bistro
1 035 reviews
.02 km away
Jardine Restaurant
281 reviews
.09 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Stellenbosch Village Museum
374 reviews
.14 km away
Dorp Street
453 reviews
.06 km away
Dutch Reform Church
140 reviews
.11 km away
Stellenbosch Wine Routes
29 reviews
.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Helena's Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Helena's Restaurant

Yes, Helena's Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Helena's Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5