We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Helena's

33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
+27 21 883 3132
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good21%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“mezze platter” (22 reviews)
“rack of lamb” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RRRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Maybe the ambience of sitting outside can make up for the less than stellar food quality, but this is not haute cuisine. I think the chef would be better off staying with simpler dishes. The ostrich carpaccio was bland and unimaginative, the stuffed quail alright,...More

Thank TravelandLearn_11
Marketing_and, General Manager at Helena's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear TravelandLearn_11, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. As we pride ourselves on delivering a high standard of food and service, we were disappointed to learn that your experience at Helena's Restaurant failed to meet your expectations. Please could...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited this restaurant on a very warm evening and dine outside on the front porch. We were well looked after by a very professional waiter and had great food and wine. Highlight of our Stellenbosch stay.

Thank william s
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked to sit on the terrace at the front and had an amazing meal. The atmosphere was lovely and there were a couple of little treats from the chef. Try and go if you can.

Thank KTKM
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ate two dinners here and after the first excellent meal were not very adventurous on the second visit. We ate Saldana Bay Mussels in a cream sauce, and perfect Parma Ham and Melon. Grilled Lamb Chops and a Fillet Steak. On the first visit...More

Thank MarkPatrick
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am unfortunately very disappointed. With the exorbitant prices I was expecting food to die for...this did not transpire! Burnt aubergine pasta, crispy in fact which I didn’t think possible, dry venison, burnt smoky mashed potatoes and flavorless unseasoned food. The service was good, no...More

Thank LesOpland
Marketing_and, General Manager at Helena's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear LesOpland, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. As we pride ourselves on delivering a high standard of food and service, we were disappointed to learn that your experience at Helena's Restaurant failed to meet your expectations. Please could...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food and atmosphere were top notch. Go for the quail or the lamb. Hearty portions so think about your starter if you have your heart set on dessert. Perfect place for a quiet dining experience in Stellies.

Thank MaHoDe
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Four of us had dinner here last night sitting on the terrace. The ambiance was magical and the food excellent as always. To start, we shared two mezze platters which included snoek pate, spicy feta balls, marinated mushrooms, red peppers and tempura aubergine sticks –...More

Thank s3aview
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Helena's is inside the lovely, small Coopmanhuijs hotel, and is often booked so reservations are essential. We sat in the courtyard and had a a really excellent meal. I had the stuffed quail, which was outstanding, although as with all the food in South Africa,...More

Thank Lucy I
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff were very friendly and attentive. The food was lovely and would recommend it is very central too

Thank lexielexie18
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Brilliant food and great quality mixed with the friendliest staff!! Staff really makes an extra effort and nothing is too much. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank elke818
PreviousNext
12345673
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Stellenbosch
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
884 reviews
.00 km away
Oude Werf Hotel
696 reviews
.05 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
946 reviews
.06 km away
Eendracht Hotel
450 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Stellenbosch Kitchen
893 reviews
.07 km away
Basic Bistro
709 reviews
.02 km away
Jardine Restaurant
129 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden
683 reviews
.41 km away
Dorp Street
390 reviews
.06 km away
The Stellenbosch Village Museum
293 reviews
.14 km away
Dutch Reform Church
115 reviews
.21 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Helena's staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:30 - 15:30
18:00 - 21:30
08:00 - 10:30
Monday
12:30 - 15:30
18:00 - 21:30
07:00 - 10:30
Tuesday
12:30 - 15:30
18:00 - 21:30
07:00 - 10:30
Wednesday
12:30 - 15:30
18:00 - 21:30
07:00 - 10:30
Thursday
12:30 - 15:30
18:00 - 21:30
07:00 - 10:30
Friday
12:30 - 15:30
18:00 - 21:30
07:00 - 10:30
Saturday
12:30 - 15:30
18:00 - 21:30
08:00 - 10:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Stellenbosch
  • Phone Number: +27 21 883 3132
  • E-mail
Description
Helena's Restaurant at Coopmanhuijs aims to serve heritage food with finesse, often with subtle twists in the detail, thereby turning the familiar into the spectacular. The menu is designed to reflect the bounty of the Boland, with specific emphasis on freshness and food provenance - the "from where" and "by whom" of locally sourced (often artisanal) ingredients.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing