We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Makaron Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
26-32 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
+27 21 880 1549
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

286 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 222: English reviews
Hermanus, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arriving at this venue, our expectation were high, and that's always difficult as the restaurant has to live up to it's expectation when a customer enters and is wow'd. Well, to sum it up, my wife and I could not find anything wrong to be critical. Products is fresh(which is always great to have) and mouthwatering and the service professional... More 

Helpful?
Thank pritchardsteyn
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Makaron, responded to this review

Dear pritchardsteyn, We are delighted that you enjoyed our kitchen and service team's effort to meet with your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back really soon at Makaron. Kind regards Karine More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Kudos must be given to the chef. The food was interesting and very enjoyable, everything else lets it down, however. The waiter(s) seemed inexperienced and uncomfortable. I found the decor very confusing (this never bothers me, until now) - outside had a fantastic mediterranean feel, the decor of the restaurant inside is unclassifiable, however.

Helpful?
Thank Swys2014
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Makaron, responded to this review

Dear Swys2014, Thank you very much for your excellent review on the food at Makaron, as this is really what it is all about, we are delighted. We have made a note about your feeling on the waiter and will be sure to take it up with our manager. Many kind regards Karine More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We had been sent a sample menu when we booked the Majeka Hotel back in January and it looked very good. Really looking forward to the meal, but the menu we were given bore little resemblance to the menu we had been sent. We were given a "taster" menu to choose either 4, 5 or 6 plates. We chose the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter D
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Makaron, responded to this review

Dear Peter D, As mentioned in our response on your review on Majeka House, we are really disappointed that our offering did not meet with your expectations. We have taken up your comments with our kitchen and service team and will be sure to work on bettering our services and food standards at all times. Kind regards karine More 

Turnhout, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
110 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2017

The Makaro. Restaurant in located inside the Majeka hotel. A very trendy hotel in the middel of a residential area. The food was delicious, i had the suckling pork, to die for ! And as dessert i had het peaches , Whow what a perfect dessert. The food was really really wonderfull , the atmosphere not really my thing but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Féetje V
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Makaron, responded to this review

Dear Feetje V, We are so delighted you took the time to share your experience at Makaron on this forum and also mentioned the members of our team who have receive the best reward for their hard work this way! We look forward to welcoming you back for more desert delights! Kind regards Karine More 

Somerset West
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2017

From our pre dinner drinks on the modern patio to our dinner in the simplistic dining room, we were totally impressed with the friendliness of the staff...every staff member greeted us, even just walking past us. The water is complimentary and the wine list is very well thought out, with something for every palate and price. We love the new... More 

Helpful?
Thank aqos
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Makaron, responded to this review

Dear aqos, The kitchen and service team are so pleased that you enjoyed your dinner at Makaron. There is no better reward for the team to see that you would like to recommend and come back! We look forward to welcoming you very soon! Kind regards Karine More 

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Fantastic food, great service. Amazing attention to detail. A firm favourite of the Ellis family!!!!

Helpful?
Thank margot_ellis
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Makaron, responded to this review

Dear margot_ellis, The entire restaurant team - kitchen and service - join me in thanking you for leaving us such a lovely review about your experience at Makaron. We are so delighted to hear that we a "firm favorite" to your family! Looking forward to welcoming you back at Makaron for more! Kind regards Karine More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2017

The ugly cheap and badly designed dining room set the tone for this terrible experience. We were given a table in front of a gas fire which was burning on full power - despite it being February and 30 outside. They offered complimentary water (the only good thing about the evening) and it was down hill from there. We both... More 

Helpful?
Thank mark p
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Makaron, responded to this review

Dear mark p, We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us. Our kitchen team is particularly affected by your description of their food as "dog vomit". Kind regards Karine More 

Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We enjoyed a good lunch at Makaron as we had high hopes based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. However, the menu that was presented to us was unlike the website that offered a sunday roast lunch special. Our server had no idea what I was referring to and then manager said that the printed menus are more recent. (I... More 

Helpful?
Thank LifeTraveller07
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Makaron, responded to this review

Dear LifeTraveller07, First of all, thank you for leaving us such a positive review about your food experience at Makaron, we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Secondly our apologies for the confusion between the website and our actual menu, this was meant to be changed and somehow slipped our vigilance during this very busy season. Thank... More 

Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We have eaten in top restaurants all over the world and dining at Macaron was up there With the best. The flavours and unusual touches with each dish were a delight , we could not recommend a visit highly enough. It is hidden away off the beaten track, but well worth making the effort for the delights of Melvin the... More 

Helpful?
Thank merryvale2017
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Makaron, responded to this review

Dear merryvale2017, The kitchen team is delighted that you enjoyed their work, and Marvin, our sous chef, is very pleased that you enjoyed his efforts. The service team is also glad to have been mentioned for their helpfulness. We hope to welcome you back at Makaron very soon! Kind regards Karine More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2016

The attention to detail was outstanding - we were offered free water (still or sparkling), a complimentary delicious little "amuse-bouche" from the chef. The starters were excellent as were the main courses. One of our party was gluten free - special gluten free bread was on offer; another of our party has an egg allergy - no problem - immediately... More 

Helpful?
Thank John G
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Makaron, responded to this review

Dear John G, We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review about your experience at Makaron. The service and kitchen teams are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Kind regards Karine More 

Travellers who viewed Makaron also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Makaron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4,5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4,5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4,5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$54
Cuisine
European, Delicatessen, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 26-32 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Stellenbosch
  • Phone Number: +27 21 880 1549
Description
Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Lucas Carstens presents his menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics. Lucas has enormous respect for the quality and provenance of each ingredient that comes into his kitchen and takes pride in working with ethical producers and suppliers who share his philosophy of excellence. Complementing Makaron Restaurant is M Bar, an inviting lounge-style bar with the decadent ambience of a Parisian salon.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Makaron staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?