We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$4 - US$12
CUISINES
African
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (1 037)
Filter reviews
880 results
Traveller rating
531
249
66
18
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
531
249
66
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pasta malay curry burger skewers fries dukkah
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a wonderful meal here, and great service! The food is decently priced, and they are super accommodating re: dietary requirements and allergies. They have an amazing vegetarian friendly menu!

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rico @ Basic, General Manager at Basic Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the great review we really appreciate it! The Basic Bistro Team

Reviewed 15 May 2022

Went here a few times for breakfast and dinner. Really liked it. The menu is not that extensive but what they service is great and the service can not be faulted either. Would definitely return.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rico @ Basic, General Manager at Basic Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2022

Thanks for the review, we really appreciate it! Hope to see you again very soon... Warmest regards. Rico

Reviewed 4 May 2022

We had a return visit to 'Basic Bistro' after an absence of some time, happily open on a Sunday evening, when it is mostly the 'chain' venues in Stellenbosch that are open. Apart from the convenient location, the hospitable welcome, warm friendly (and efficient) service,...the menu offers a diversity of choices, which they just seem to get right, from a small kitchen along with an interesting drinks list, and good coffees. Delicious ciabatta with dips (hummus, dukkah and more), followed by tandoori chicken skewers and a great salad. From pasta to burgers, here they also take great care to provide low carb and vegan options. Desserts were memorable - their baked cheese cake with lemon ganache, as was the rich dark chocolate cake and chocolate sauce. A unique dessert is their 'Magic Mousse', but discover that when you dine there! It was filled largely with local residents, and apart from a happy 'buzz', the music is not too loud, and we'll certainly return - it is also affordable and it is just that, a bistro!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rico @ Basic, General Manager at Basic Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2022

Hi Lew - thanks so much for you fabulous review! We really appreciate it and hope to see you again very soon. All the best. Rico

Reviewed 20 April 2022 via mobile

This pretty restaurant gives you a warm welcome situated on a busy side street with great atmosphere, food delicious, I recommend the chicken curry !

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rico @ Basic, General Manager at Basic Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2022

Thanks so much for the review, we really appreciate it! Rico at Basic Bistro

Reviewed 29 March 2022 via mobile

Nice easy atmosphere, good food and good service. Suggest you book beforehand as it’s always busy, a testimony to its popularity

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rico @ Basic, General Manager at Basic Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2022

Thanks so much for the review, we really appreciate it! :)

Reviewed 26 March 2022 via mobile

We have been in SA for four months and use TA to guide us on our restaurant choices. So after two weeks in Stellenbosch we decided to try Basic Bistro. This was the worst meal we had by a long shot. The Santorini Burger was...bland and smothered in a tzatziki type substance that was inedible. The fries were called waffle fries but when they came they were potato crisps dripping with balsamic glaze. The sirloin steak was bland,over cooked and the chips were soggy. The presentation was the worst! Superficially this place looks so inviting and based on other reviews others had a better experience than us. It certainly is a Basic Bistro in all the wrong ways.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rico @ Basic, General Manager at Basic Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2022

Hi - very sorry to hear you did not enjoy our food. Most of our valued guests enjoy our casual bistro-style meals and we don't cater for fine-dining clientele for example. However, we will investigate into the meals you ordered and improve where we can....More

Reviewed 24 March 2022 via mobile

Basic but that’s just in the name. Price quality almost the best option in Stellenbosch. Packed with locals , very chil out service. Good pasta’s. Love it !

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rico @ Basic, General Manager at Basic Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2022

Thanks so much for the review, we really appreciate it! :)

Reviewed 23 March 2022 via mobile

Food was only okay… not really something I would eat again. We each had the burger and it was tasteless except for all the onions and cheese sauce that was on it. I have been here pre COVID and had a good meal…. But not...this time☹️More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rico @ Basic, General Manager at Basic Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2022

Hi - so sorry to hear about your experience. We will investigate immediately and improve where we can. Best regards. @BasicBistro team

Reviewed 12 March 2022

After a surfeit of (very good) 'fine dining' in Franschhoek, it was something of a relief to settle down on the stoep at Basic Bistro (in one of Stellenbosch's quieter streets, but very central) for a most relaxing and enjoyable dinner. The staff are friendly...and welcoming, and the recommendation of the house burger was spot on. An excellent evening. Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rico @ Basic, General Manager at Basic Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2022

Thanks so much for the fabulous review! We really appreciate it and hope to see you again very soon. Warm regards. Rico

Reviewed 15 January 2022

Popped in for dinner for 5 people and it was a great. The food was spot on and the the Malay curry wonderful. The loaded fries are a must and wine of the day it would seem is always a winner. If you are after...a fancy place its not the place but if you want a lovely chilled atmosphere, great service and well made homely food, well this is the place in Stellenbosch.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rico @ Basic, General Manager at Basic Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2022

Good morning - thanks so much for the fabulous review! We truly appreciate it and we hope to dine with you again soon! Warm regards. Rico

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Stellenbosch Hotel
1 618 reviews
.06 km away
Oude Werf Hotel
910 reviews
.06 km away
Eendracht Hotel
657 reviews
.13 km away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
455 reviews
.17 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Helena's Restaurant
1 360 reviews
.02 km away
Stellenbosch Kitchen
1 685 reviews
.08 km away
Jardine Restaurant
284 reviews
.08 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Stellenbosch Village Museum
376 reviews
.15 km away
Dorp Street
453 reviews
.08 km away
Dutch Reform Church
140 reviews
.12 km away
Gavin Collins Art Gallery
5 reviews
.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Basic Bistro staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Basic Bistro

Yes, Basic Bistro offers takeaway services.

Basic Bistro is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5