We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jimmy the Fish

Blaauwklippen Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
+27 21 880 0071
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good48%
  • Average11%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (44 reviews)
“calamari” (16 reviews)
“pizza special” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Sushi
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Blaauwklippen Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2017

Newly named Popolo, it is a restaurant we go to if we want to relax and have a good time. The food is wonderful, salads awesome and the wine is decently priced. We have never had bad service, the waiters are always polite and attentive....More

Thank Susan W
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

Now known as Popolo, this family friendly place served us the best Quattro Stratcioni Pizza, Sashimi and Seared Tuna salad we have had for a long time! Friendly service always taking note of individual needs.

Thank chantipelser
Reviewed 13 December 2017

We ordered pizzas and half we ordered was not available. Service and food was terrible. Will definitely not go back.

Thank maryna451
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

So far the best Seafood restaurant we visited during our trip to Cape Town/ Stellenbosch. Great value, and very friendly waiter - Itayi. Food was more than we could eat. 5 Star - Don’t miss this restaurant.

Thank Clarissa B
Reviewed 5 September 2017

I trapped by the adwertisment and went there : Label of "Jimmy the fish " taken out. The new name,if there is one is one of the unknown! The order came back as a disaster for what we paid for. If you want to go...More

1  Thank ruhetg
JimmyTheFishO, Manager at Jimmy the Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback, wer would like to rectify the experience you had, if possible could you send us your details and we will contact you, you can send your details to the following email address info@jimmythefish.co.za thank you

Reviewed 31 August 2017

we went out for a family meal mid-week. While the food was good as always, there are a few small details that are lacking at the moment. The menu has shrunk quite a lot, and the way you order mains plus starch makes it seem...More

Thank Yvette W
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

I went there a few weeks ago with my Son as a spoily, they have taken their kiddies play area away and when I complained got no feedback as well. Also not the first time. Really sad that the attitude of the managers on owners...More

Thank ronaldj67
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Overall our experience at Jimmy's was amazing, we enjoyed every minute as we stepped into a fantastic place and the fish tank breathtaking, then there was the fireplace which made the whole place warm and cosy. Our Watron was attentive and ready to serve, I...More

Thank Caron P
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

Long waits for food...slow waiter with a short term memory. My husband had to fetch his own beer at the bar. The waiter advertises 30% off the sushi that apparently ended on Monday and it's Wednesday already but we still had to pay even though...More

Thank Nastassia H
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

We have been coming here for 13 years and have never been disappointed. Wide variety food selection available, good service and play area for the kids. Not a fine dining venue, but perfect for family outings (especially for families with young children). Good value for...More

Thank Horrorkins
PreviousNext
12345616
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch Lodge
78 reviews
.22 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
372 reviews
1.74 km away
Protea Hotel Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa
126 reviews
2.62 km away
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
133 reviews
2.70 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Makaron Restaurant
311 reviews
1.03 km away
Die Wingerd Restaurant
24 reviews
1.13 km away
Bossa Stellenbosch
18 reviews
.03 km away
Caveman Cafe
8 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rupert Museum
153 reviews
2.31 km away
Blaauwklippen
225 reviews
1.21 km away
Oude Libertas Amphitheatre
56 reviews
2.73 km away
Kleine Zalze
94 reviews
1.71 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
McC5038
15 April 2015|
Answer
Response from JimmyTheFishO | Property representative |
Morning Yes you can bring your own wine, but we do charge a R30 corkage fee
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$15
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Blaauwklippen Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Stellenbosch
  • Phone Number: +27 21 880 0071
  • E-mail
Description
Taking its name from a Greek mackerel fisherman that one of the owners once met while on holiday , Jimmy the Fish offers the freshest and most succulent seafood in Stellenbosch! They also offer an array of Mediterranean dishes to suit every palate and they cater to vegetarians and those who are Halaal. Surrounding its customers rustic relics from the ocean, this cosy and vibrant restaurant is the perfect dining destination for one and all. Whether you are looking to feed the whole family, have a romantic dinner or have business lunch meeting - this is the place to be! Join the friendly, well trained staff at Jimmy the Fish for lunch or dinner and you will find yourself a regular in no time. Don't miss the nightly predator feedings between 20:00 and 21:00 to see what is lurking in the fish tanks!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing