We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fat Butcher

1 Van Riebeeck Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
+27 21 882 8705
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good22%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (235 reviews)
“parmesan mash” (11 reviews)
“marrow bone” (25 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 22:30 Hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Barbecue, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
1 Van Riebeeck Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Had tried to book a table on a Friday evening, but left it too late. So ate late afternoon / early evening. My wife had fillet steak with peppercorn sauce and I had NY Strip with monkey gland sauce - both cooked medium rare. Delicious...More

Thank Garonne9
manager693, Manager at Fat Butcher, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Garonne9, Thank you for your excellent Review. We await your return. Kind Regards, The Fat Butcher Management Team

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We were told you have to make reservations two days in advance but having just a day in Stellenbosch we went there in the morning and managed to get a table. They serve amazing food (stakes mostly) and the venue is very nicely done. Just...More

Thank Michal J
manager693, Manager at Fat Butcher, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Michal J, Thank you for your awesome feedback. We await your return. Kind Regards, The Fat Butcher Management Team

Reviewed 4 days ago

We enjoyed the ambience and style of this place known for their steaks. The service was very helpful and kind and the food was good.

Thank Jason R
manager693, Manager at Fat Butcher, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Jason R, Thank you for your great review. We look forward to your return. Kind Regards, The Fat Butcher Management Team

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Booked the day before and upon arrival seated upstairs next to a noisy party of 12. We were moved to a table a little further away but it was still difficult to have conversation. We both had fillet steak, I had the grosvenor, finishing with...More

Thank garry4366
manager693, Manager at Fat Butcher, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear garry4366, Thank you for your constructive feedback. If you have any further comments, suggestions, or wish to contact us directly, you are more than welcome to pop us a mail at manager@fatbutcher.co.za. Kind Regards, The Fat Butcher Management Team

Reviewed 5 days ago

Can't really say more, have it blue to get the real flavour of the meat! The staff were great and the prices were really quite reasonable (for the amount of meat that you get)

Thank Craig1986
manager693, Manager at Fat Butcher, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Craig1986, Thank you for your awesome review. Enjoy your stay in South Africa. Kind Regards, The Fat Butcher Management Team

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

My partner and I went on a Thursday evening after he had made a reservation. I was pretty glad that he did because the place was starting to fill up and the only space would’ve been outside which was very cold for me. Upon arrival...More

Thank MoM1593
manager693, Manager at Fat Butcher, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear MoM1593, Thank you for your constructive feedback.Our sincerest apologies about the noise level. If you would prefer in the future to reserve a specific table, please feel free to contact management directly at manager@fatbutcher.co.za. We look forward to your return. Kind Regards, The Fat...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very popular spot, great steak and very good wine, lovely atmosphere. We hadn't booking but we waited for a table and they tried to accommodate. It was worth the wait!

Thank Strawberrychica
manager693, Manager at Fat Butcher, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Strawberrychica, Thank you for your excellent review. Enjoy the remainder of your stay in South Africa. Kind Regards, The Fat Butcher Management Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

We returned to the Fat Butcher, this time choosing a table downstairs. Restaurant is extremely popular - Make sure to book your seat! You are pampered from the moment you walk through the door - Excellent customer Service! Great vibe! Great ambiance! Great service! Great...More

Thank Christine C
manager693, Manager at Fat Butcher, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Christine C, Thank you for your awesome feedback. We look forward to your return. Kind Regards, The Fat Butcher Management Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

We turned up without a reservation at 7pm on a Friday night and could see how busy the restaurant was but the staff found us a table albeit in the outside section which I was a little unsure about given it was a chilly evening....More

Thank speedsister
manager693, Manager at Fat Butcher, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear speedsister, Thank you for your awesome feedback. Enjoy the remainder of your stay in South Africa. Kind Regards, The Fat Butcher Management Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were welcomed by the manager , who was very kind and explained to us about the wines and about the meats and their cuts they serve . We chose the T Bone with Parmesan mashed and mushroom truffle sauce - amazing, one of the...More

Thank Vanessa t
manager693, Manager at Fat Butcher, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Vanessa t, Thank you for your awesome feedback. Enjoy the remainder of your stay in South Africa. Kind Regards, The Fat Butcher Management Team

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 18 hotels in Stellenbosch
Oude Werf Hotel
766 reviews
.16 km away
Eendracht Hotel
517 reviews
.20 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
988 reviews
.21 km away
River Manor Boutique Hotel
148 reviews
.23 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Helena's Restaurant
978 reviews
.21 km away
Basic Bistro
818 reviews
.22 km away
De Warenmarkt
168 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden
751 reviews
.21 km away
The Stellenbosch Village Museum
324 reviews
.07 km away
Dutch Reform Church
124 reviews
.11 km away
Dorp Street
409 reviews
.23 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
W52EX
18 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Xhariep | Reviewed this property |
You must absolutely book. The meat is so good, it is fully booked virtually every night
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$8 - US$30
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:30
Thursday
12:00 - 22:30
Friday
12:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Van Riebeeck Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Stellenbosch
  • Phone Number: +27 21 882 8705
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing