We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Steakhouse, Grill
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Sponsored by: The Hussar Grill Paarl

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Premium Quality!
1. Premium Quality!
"Once again, the best Steaks ever."
foodmust
See reviews that mention Premium Quality!
2. No Corkage!
2. No Corkage!
"and best of all... NO corkage! We will go back and back!"
Mardre L
See reviews that mention no corkage
3. 50 Years of Excellence!
3. 50 Years of Excellence!
"This a restaurant that knows how make an outing all round special."
Paljas1976
See reviews that mention meat restaurant
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
170
98
22
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
170
98
22
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak calamari t bone complimentary chocolate friendly service cape town meat hussars sauce
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I went for dinner and there was no covid prococols followed when we arrived. Our Jong male waitor wasn't bad, but the food was horrible a sad lonely burnt steak on a big white plate with nothing els with it and then...you pay Exstra for 10 McCain for en chips with no seasoning on it and then to top it off the really disgusting "truffle chip" what a joke. We will not be going back.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Paarl, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jason100005, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are very disappointed to read about your experience at The Hussar Grill Paarl. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to address the issues you experienced during your visit with you directly. Kindly provide us...More

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 27 December 2020 via mobile

The Hussar Grill is a very consistent quality dining experience and we have always been very pleased with our food. The service is attentive and friendly. It is not cheap meal but most certainly quality food and worth the price. Remember to make a reservationMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Paarl, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2020

Good day, Paljas1976, Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our grill room. We're absolutely thrilled that the staff's wonderful attitude and your delicious meal made your Hussar Grill experience even more enjoyable. We appreciate your continued support and look forward to...More

Reviewed 12 March 2021 via mobile

The setting is good the food and service was a disappointment. One of my worst dining experiences I have ever had.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Paarl, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Iancloete66, Thank you for your review of our The Hussar Grill Paarl grill room. We are extremely disappointed to hear about the level of food and service you experienced. We would like an opportunity to contact you. Could you kindly take a moment to...More

Reviewed 12 March 2021 via mobile

Friday evening we went out with friends to celebrate the weekend and to just relax and have a great meal and festive time. What a rude awakening it was, the service we received was poor and really put a damper on the evening. It became...clear to us that the restaurant is completely understaffed. We ordered our food just to wait an excess of an hour, then the order was mixed up the restaurant members had a raffle at the table with what plate of food belongs to how. I don’t mind waiting a long time for food but then I expect good quality, our food was cold, burnt and just plain pathetic! If you come pair the experience with the price, the two is not getting close to one another. Unfortunately I will never put my foot at or recommend anyone to dine at Hussar Grill Paarl. You deserve better.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Paarl, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Johnwilliamcloete, Thank you for your review of our The Hussar Grill Paarl steakhouse. Our sincerest apologies for the level of food and service you received. Please may we have the opportunity to discuss this further? Kindly follow this link https://hus14.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=jdYzcB and provide us with...More

Reviewed 16 January 2021 via mobile

Unfortunately the place really need a very good revamp,food OK,but ordinary Steakhouse type of food. Service not up to standard. Not sure if we'll be backMore

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?3  
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Paarl, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2021

Dear Coen_12, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We would appreciate the opportunity to contact you directly. Please kindly follow this link, https://hus14.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=82sCWP to leave us...More

Reviewed 13 November 2020

The food was really good as was the service unfortunately it was very hot inside and there was no aircon where we were sitting , the outside was fully booked, also there was no music so all we could hear was the staff discussing tables...and orders which took away a bit of the charm, it would have been good to have some background music and also some ventilation or air conditioning,More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Paarl, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2020

Good day, Richiestarfighter, Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our The Hussar Grill Paarl steakhouse. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the food and service you received. Please feel free to contact us via this link -->...More

Reviewed 11 November 2020 via mobile

Once again, the best Steaks ever....👍🏻. Beautiful seating outside and delicious food. 😁 The Bitter Ballen for a starter was absolutely fantastic... and the. The Madagascar pepper Fillet and veggies went down just right.. will definitely eat here again when visit Paarl 💯

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?2  
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Paarl, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2020

Good day, Foodmust, Thank you for your review and recommendation of our The Hussar Grill Paarl steakhouse. We are thrilled to hear that your starter and steaks were superb and cooked to perfection. We look forward to your next visit. Warm regards, The Hussar Grill

Reviewed 13 October 2020 via mobile

We all enjoyed delicious pizzas and burgers at the Goatshed. The Deli offers amazing farm baked breads and a tasty variety of cheeses. We enjoyed filling a basket with some of our favorites. The goats are entertaining and quite precious - their tower and bridge...is well set-up and interesting to view. Beautiful bird life and squirrels surround the outdoor seating area at the Goatshed. A super experience for all ages!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 March 2020 via mobile

Recommended by Wildepaardejacht, the B&B where we stayed. Superb food & great service. Wine selection excellent & prices reasonable from a UK perspective. We would definitely returnMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Paarl, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2020

Dear Geoffwjohnson, Thank you for your wonderful review of our The Hussar Grill Paarl steakhouse. We put customer satisfaction as top priority. It gives us great encouragement to receive positive feedback from you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, The...More

Reviewed 13 March 2020

Had dinner at Hussar Grill the last eve in Cape Town. Great selection of meat dishes and some other, including game. We decided to eat outside on the more simple tables, but same food and service as the indoor white tablecloth. Good selection of SA...wines. As usual very few from other parts of the world. My classic sirloin with fries and bearnaise was excellent, kids tried burgers with great joy and my wife tried the fish, which was also good. Service was flexible and friendly. All in all a very good experience!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?2  
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Paarl, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2020

Good day, A_Gunnarsson, Thank you for your wonderful review of our The Hussar Grill Paarl grill room. We are happy to hear that the kids enjoyed their burgers, and that you enjoyed your perfectly-ages succulent steak as well as our award-winning wine selection. We'll be...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
123 reviews
.36 km away
Grande Roche Hotel
590 reviews
.52 km away
Goedemoed Farm Guest House
84 reviews
.68 km away
Zomerlust Guesthouse
30 reviews
1.37 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Noop Restaurant
920 reviews
.34 km away
Freedom 301
6 reviews
.85 km away
eat@simonsvlei restaurant
77 reviews
1.21 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Paarl Mountain Nature Reserve
202 reviews
2.67 km away
Afrikaans Language Monument
444 reviews
2.26 km away
Laborie
38 reviews
1.17 km away
KWV Wine Emporium
90 reviews
.93 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
marilync02
16 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from TheeI2 |
Hi Marilyn Yes, you can buy a voucher from them. Contact them at +2721 863 0466
1
Vote
Mariehome
30 December 2014|
Answer
Response from HussarGrillPaarl |
our average price pp is about R250
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing