We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
70
74
19
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
70
74
19
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beef and guinness pie pork liver pies malva pudding for sunday lunch watching the sunset large portions lovely setting beers gravy veg carrots deck winner
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 25 April 2021 via mobile

This is or go-to local pub. Morris, Sue &team really go out of their way to accommodate. Yummy food, thank you!

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 28 November 2020 via mobile

A great pub & restaurant offering a nice menu of the usual pub favorites Special mention of the “Pie Special” Please see the photograph below for the various options.... I enjoyed the Chicken Pie served with carrots, spinach & cauliflower in white sauce + chips...( not French Fries) My food arrived quickly & was delicious! With another 5 different pies to go until I have tried them all it’s going to be tough job....... but someone has to do it I suppose! “Bang” goes the diet now!More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 10 March 2020

After numerous enjoyable experiences it was unfortunate to have to tolerate a complete meltdown in all aspects. On arrival for an evening meal, we were seated and our drinks orders taken but no menus were forthcoming. On receiving our drinks we had to remind the...waitron to give us some menu’s We then placed our meal order and after about 45 min after the table next to us received their meals we queried with the waitron where ours was, only to be told on follow up that the meal we ordered was not available. We then changed our order and again after about a half hour queried the delay with who we assumed was the duty manager only to be confronted with an extremely dismissive attitude and comment. After another 15 minutes the meal arrived. What we received was completely below standard. Nevertheless we finished the meal and decided to leave only to be presented with a bill that overcharged for the items ordered. A complete and utter unacceptable experienceMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
T1942CUsusanc, General Manager at Bosun's Pub and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Thank you for your brutal long winded review Mr ! It would of taken less effort to call me and let me apologize profusely and sincerely to you in person , and to make sure you were refunded in full as is deserved when an...More

Reviewed 10 March 2020

Good pub and very reasonably priced eating. There is however an issue with one of the (male) bar staff who, on a recent visit, was extremely rude to me when I asked to try one of the beers before ordering. He muttered something along the...lines of ‘I assume you’ll be paying’ before blanking me and taking ages to, grudgingly, pour me the sample ..he is clearly in the wrong job. Rest of the staff were delightful, including our lovely waitress, so I am not going to condemn the barrel because of one bad apple.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
T1942CUsusanc, General Manager at Bosun's Pub and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2020

My humble apology,you are correct ,he is in the wrong job . Helping him out with some extra hours .Have done some attitude and communication training. Again sorry for the Apple

Reviewed 21 February 2020

We were lucky enough to find Bosun's Pub and Grill during our stay in Knysna and we enjoyed it so much that we returned there 3 times. The food was wonderful, the beer cold and the staff were very friendly all combined with a great...pub atmosphere. e highly recommend this place.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 7 February 2020

Busy lunch time and a charming waitress working hard pouring good pints, taking orders and serving great food (she got help later!). Reminded me of an old fashioned and slightly un-gentrified English pub. Really nice. Food good - we had mussels and liver. Excellent value.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 14 January 2020

With so many restaurants in Knysna, we decide to one close to our Holiday Studio for a night out. This warm and comfortable restaurant was just the place for us. The chef made some effort to dish up an old dish that was not on...the menu anymore and it was delicious! The atmosphere was real cosy and friendly! The waiter was very nice and friendly and we had a joyful evening!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 10 January 2020 via mobile

We were taken to Bosuns by a local friend. Don't be fooled by the uneventful exterior, this is a close an English pub experience you will get when not on Mud Island. The beef and Guinness pie is legendary, the fish basket good and the...burgers too! Throw in proper pub atmosphere, and you have a winner. We'll no longer drive past, we are fans!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 December 2019

We were sceptical because of some negative ratings, but decided to try it out. The chicken burger, beef burger, lamb liver, schnitzel, beef guinness pie and chicken strips baskets were all tasty adequate portions. Service was good and no long waiting. Will visit again next...time in Knysna.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 14 November 2019 via mobile

Just had a lovely meal at Bosuns as decided we'd had enough of hotel buffet. Shepherds Pie and Steak and Guiness Pie were just like home followed by two large portions of Malva Pudding and custard accompanied by a lovely bottle of red. Excellent value...for money and lovely setting watching the sunset from the deck.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
Susancollinsalberts, Manager at Bosun's Pub and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Bosuns Grill. I'm so glad you enjoyed your pies, desserts and red wine. We strive to put out good home cooked meals that don't break the bank and positive reviews, such as yours, really...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
446 reviews
.63 km away
Royal Hotel Knysna
39 reviews
1.87 km away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
929 reviews
1.93 km away
The Russel Hotel
308 reviews
2.07 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
White Washed
55 reviews
.74 km away
All That Jazz
29 reviews
1.51 km away
Boogie's Restaurant
6 reviews
.91 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Knysna Lagoon
647 reviews
.92 km away
Garden of Eden
288 reviews
1.32 km away
Holy Trinity Church
47 reviews
1.59 km away
Knysna Gin Distillery
34 reviews
.38 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
saffron456
10 June 2017|
Answer
Response from Nefertete | Reviewed this property |
You should check their website, if they have one 😇
0
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bosun's Pub and Grill

Bosun's Pub and Grill is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4