We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tin House Cafe

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2016, 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
59
49
8
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
59
49
8
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch carrot cake wraps cakes coffee shop great coffee delicious breakfast knysna waterfront efficient service nice food lovely atmosphere trees tranquil homemade
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was average - tasted OKAY, presentation poor. Really good fresh juice and really good service though.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank DanielS23076
Reviewed 12 December 2018

I became balsamico and olive oil to my salad. On the olive oil bottle it said 100% organic olive oil so I poured oil over my salad. It did not taste like olive oil nor smell nor look like olive oil. My salad was ruined....More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 10a20
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Simply good food & fresh croissants and muffins. Slow, but homemade. I’d eat here again. Food tasted good.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank SanPABosDC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

We went here based on its reviews and weren't disappointed. Following a rubbish hotel breakfast we thought we would go elsewhere, poached eggs on muffins were good as was the French toast, lovely fresh juices as well

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Richard P
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Had a delicious breakfast. The coffee they use is very nice and strong. The atmosphere is tranquil. Staff very nice!!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank jacop889
PP05, Owner at The Tin House Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thank you vor visiting us at The Tin House. We are so pleased to hear you had a great experience with us. It is our pleasure to serve you. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 13 July 2018

We had a meeting there - six of us - and all thoroughly enjoyed their cappuccinos/coffees. The prices were good, the service great, a very good experience all round

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Peter L
PP05, Owner at The Tin House Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Thank you for your review of The Tin House Cafe. It was our pleasure to serve you and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

Food was delicious, service good. The place is super cute with a cracking fire place. Really good coffee, we only had breakfast but the cakes looked good.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank C_daniels89
Reviewed 13 June 2018

We visited The Tin House Cafe during the week and was pleasantly surprised. A great variety on the menu and with a very hands-on approach by the staff. We had delicious soup with a toasted cheese sandwich. Next time we will leave the soup and...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Theo W
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Lovely setting - cool outdoor tables in a garden setting for Summer; warm fireplace for Winter. Fresh, good food and friendly, helpful staff. I almost always go back to one of their great wraps. Cakes also yummy.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank the_forest_fairy
PP05, Owner at The Tin House Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for for your review. We are probably Knysnas most romantic restaurant in any season and are thrilled you love The Tin House and we love to have you visit us.

Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

Visited this cafe twice. The first time was for lunch under the trees. The staff were pleasant and friendly ( far too many places in Knysna sadly I found have staff who look like they don’t want to be there. The owners should try some...More

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank dontwantascreenname8
PP05, Owner at The Tin House Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

We are pleased you enjoyed your visits to The Tin House and we look forward to seeing you again. We apprciate your comments.

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
CharissaAreington
18 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DeanT746 | Reviewed this property |
They use a blend from different countries. It is very good
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing