We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fat Fish

124 York Street, George 6529, South Africa
+27 44 874 7803
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good26%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“catfish” (121 reviews)
“kingklip” (27 reviews)
“seafood curry” (14 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Seafood, Sushi, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
124 York Street, George 6529, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We made several visits the Fat Fish during our stay in George and each time the Food and Service could not have been better the Quality and Price is correct . The drink and Food was served perfectly time wise the service was also very...More

Thank Peter G
Reviewed 3 days ago

Has some of the best fish dishes on the Garden Route . I have eaten there before and the quality is always maintained. Had English fish and chips - and ended off with a chilli-berry mouse (wow-wow-wow)Excellent food. Just remember to book.

Thank 766heind
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We had an excellent meal here. We were staying at the Fancourt hotel and took a taxi here organised by the hotel, be it was by far the most expensive taxi on our trip. The food choice was very good as was the wine list....More

Thank Anne A
Reviewed 6 days ago

Only went to this restaurant because we heard someone on the power-van say they would meet here - on that recommendation we decided to try it - Are we delighted we did! It was afriday night and they were fully booked but managed to squeeze...More

Thank Barrie T
Reviewed 1 week ago

Ok but expensive and didn't feel we really had value for money. The staff were friendly and helpful and it is in a convenient location at the top of York street but a little disappointed with the food, too much pasta but not enough of...More

Thank CookRE
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I visited along with another couple for Sunday lunch. We all had starters and mains and two of us had a sweet as well. Food was very well cooked and presented. The waitron Pieter was very helpful and overall the staff were...More

Thank b16blr
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had been directed to try other restaurants in George but we stumbled upon the Fat Fish hidden behind the tourist info unit. Wonderful craft gins preceded beautifully cooked fish. After a week in Cape Town and another in Fancourt one might have been forgiven...More

Thank Janet G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ate here last week as part of a group of twelve so didn't have the best table which was in a side room and lacked a true restaurant atmosphere. However this was made up for by the food. The calamari starter was good but the...More

Thank JulianP1956
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is one of the best places to go eat sea food.Its fresh and very tasty.The staff is also friendly and very helpful.You want to eat sea food this FAT FISH is the place to be.

Thank samanplant
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have only eaten here on two occasions and we felt the food offerings were not as good as the Plettenberg Flagship. The food was OK but not outstanding, in future it’s the Plettenberg alternative for us.

Thank John W
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in George
Protea Hotel George Outeniqua
161 reviews
.18 km away
Oakhurst Hotel
74 reviews
.22 km away
Town Lodge George
78 reviews
.30 km away
Protea Hotel George King George
295 reviews
1.58 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Old Townhouse Restaurant
374 reviews
.56 km away
Travel Bugs Garden Restaurant
204 reviews
.27 km away
101 Meade Street Restaurant
464 reviews
.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
Outeniqua Transport Museum
361 reviews
1.45 km away
Robertson Brewing Co.
94 reviews
1.05 km away
Garden Route Botanical Gardens
68 reviews
1.10 km away
Dutch Reformed Mother Church
29 reviews
.63 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lusinda V
10 December 2016|
Response from Simon A | Property representative |
Dear Lusinda Thank you for the enquiry, unfortunately I have all my staff for this season. Kind regards Simon
Grant D
25 March 2016|
Response from Leoni K | Reviewed this property |
casual but not scruffy
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$20
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 124 York Street, George 6529, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  George
  • Phone Number: +27 44 874 7803
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing