We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fat Fish

124 York Street, George 6529, South Africa
+27 44 874 7803
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good26%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“kingklip” (28 reviews)
“seafood curry” (15 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Sushi, European, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
124 York Street, George 6529, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 388 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Always excellent service, excellent food, well presented. Well worth a visit as one of the premier eat-out places in George.

Thank Jan H
Reviewed 2 days ago

My girlfriends and I went to the fat Fish for Girls Lunch. It did not disappoint. The chowder lived up to the previous ratings of 5+ Will definately return.

Thank lynnorep
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We frequently visit the Fat Fish in George and on majority of occasions can honestly say we’re good. The only criticism is that they removed a fab panco hake dish from menu and at times do not have sushi available for some reason. Otherwise pretty...More

Thank Daddyd2014
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Lovely restaurant. Friendly staff. Great food. I had the Cajun kingklip and my wife had the prawns. Both meals were really good.The prawns were a bit expensive. Otherwise a good experience

Thank dassennaidoo
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a great spot for dinner. We sat outside a couple of the nights we went and one of them that had entertainment which was perfect. They make a superb Grey Goose Martini and the food is out of this world. The GM and the...More

Thank FFKKinDC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

In 2017 we visited them twice while in the Garden route area and again this year. They serve the most delicious Chalmar steaks and for that reason we will visit them again when in the area. Besides the great steaks they also do a delicious...More

Thank Annali K
Nicola A, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Annali It's always wonderful to hear of return visits to The Fat Fish and even more so to be acknowledged for having met expectations a second time round! Those Chalmar steaks are indeed fabulous but so good to know you also sampled so much...More

Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

Fat Fish consistently serves well- prepared food. 😋 We enjoyed the special of the day, Fish and Chips, which was perfectly priced for lunch at R110 for two. We also enjoyed various tapas, deserts and coffee. Our server was polite and friendly. 😊More

Thank reginafug
Nicola A, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Dear Regina Thank you for taking the time to review your lunch at The Fat Fish and for the wonderful compliments regarding the food and service! The key in this industry, once you get things right, is undoubtedly consistency and that's what we work hard...More

Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

The place came recommended and we are glad we ate there. Friendly service and nice atmosphere. Excellent fish and calamari dishes. Can recommend the restaurant.

Thank Jaco U
Nicola A, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Dear Jaco Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Fat Fish and for your recommendation! So glad you enjoyed your time with us. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, The Fat Fish

Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

The chowder is to die for. Best ever!!!! Great service and warm and cosy! We had the hake calamari combo. The hake was incredible.

Thank Marc T
Nicola A, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear Marc Thank you for your wonderful review. Will pass on your compliments to the team - especially those responsible for that "Best ever chowder!" Do hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, The Fat Fish

Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

Great setting, great atmosphere, great food. The service is top notch. They have a wide selection on the menu, decent portions, quality food. If you are in the area you have to go!

Thank Wynand V
Nicola A, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear Wynand Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Fat Fish and for the wonderful compliments. We will be sure to let the team know. Do hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, The Fat Fish

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in George
Protea Hotel George Outeniqua
167 reviews
.18 km away
Oakhurst Hotel
80 reviews
.22 km away
Town Lodge George
79 reviews
.30 km away
Protea Hotel George King George
307 reviews
1.58 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Old Townhouse Restaurant
388 reviews
.56 km away
Travel Bugs Garden Restaurant
207 reviews
.27 km away
101 Meade Street Restaurant
486 reviews
.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
Outeniqua Transport Museum
370 reviews
1.50 km away
Robertson Brewing Co.
96 reviews
1.05 km away
Garden Route Botanical Gardens
71 reviews
1.10 km away
Dutch Reformed Mother Church
29 reviews
.63 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lusinda V
10 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Simon A | Property representative |
Dear Lusinda Thank you for the enquiry, unfortunately I have all my staff for this season. Kind regards Simon
0
Votes
Grant D
25 March 2016|
Answer
Response from Leoni K | Reviewed this property |
casual but not scruffy
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 124 York Street, George 6529, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  George
  • Phone Number: +27 44 874 7803
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;