We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fat Fish

124 York Street, George 6529, South Africa
+27 44 874 7803
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good26%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“kingklip” (27 reviews)
“seafood” (34 reviews)
“mussels” (20 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Sushi, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
124 York Street, George 6529, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice quiet atmosphere outside, good wine list and fish menu is excellent - seafood curry was delicious.

Thank ChristelleKristee
NicolaA2080, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Christelle Thank you for that short but fabulous review of the Fat Fish in George! Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, The Fat Fish

Reviewed 1 week ago

By virtue of the name of this restaurant, my fish choice of beer battered hake and chips put a smile on my face. The overall dishes available on the menu convinced me to go back another day.Our waitron was most attentive and her knowledge of...More

Thank D4742QYtonym
NicolaA2080, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of The Fat Fish and for the wonderful compliments all round. Do hope to see you again when next you are in George. Kind regards, The Fat Fish

Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Ok guys this was right on the money. Superb evening and completely family friendly. Service was pleasant and efficient. The food was absolutely excellent. Each main was as good as the last, finger licking good. I can't recommend this restaurant higher top class.More

Thank Voyager776960
NicolaA2080, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Voyager776960 Thank you for that wonderfully comprehensive review! So encouraging to hear we ticked all the boxes and thank you for including the fact that we are most definitely a family friendly restaurant. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards, The Fat...More

Reviewed 5 September 2018

Monday night and the restaurant had many tables occupied - a good sign that it is a popular place to dine. We had the Mushroom Arancinis with hake & chips - the arancinis were very tasty and the hake well fried and fluffy - beautifully...More

Thank Roelf V
Nicola A, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear Rudi Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Fat Fish and for the wonderful compliments which we will pass on to the team. Do hope you will make the most of our Winter Specials running up until the end...More

Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

I’ve read previous reviews and do not agree regarding price - knowing the cost of fresh seafood and quality ingredients - a certain amount of objectivity is needed, these ingredients are expensive! My wife and I enjoyed the chowder to start which we shared, calamari...More

Thank PiccoloManagement
Nicola A, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear PiccoloManagement Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Fat Fish in George, for your wonderful compliments regarding the quality of your meal as well as your acknowledgement that our pricing is not expensive but entirely in line with the...More

Reviewed 30 August 2018

The service is professional and the food is excellent, but at a price. A special place for a special occasion.More

Thank Lorraine v
Nicola A, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Lorraine Thank you taking the time to review your experience at The Fat Fish in George and for the wonderful compliments regarding the quality of our food and service. We will soon be celebrating our 3rd anniversary in George and maintaining that consistency in...More

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

The 'buy one get one free' fish special is definitely great value for money. Thank you for presenting superior food, the fish is always fresh.More

Thank Mariza v
Nicola A, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Mariza Thank you for the wonderful review! Our Weekly Winter Specials are definitely hitting the spot with the Fish & Chips undoubtedly leading the popularity contest. So pleased you are making the most of it and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind...More

Reviewed 27 August 2018

The food is good and prices reasonable. The service is very good, but the place can get really crowded and things will be rushed. Be sure to make a reservation.More

Thank Robert D
Nicola A, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Robert Thank you for taking the time to review The Fat Fish and for your positive comments all round! If you are a regular to The Fat Fish be sure to download the DinePlan App or visit our website for easy instant bookings online...More

Reviewed 7 August 2018

Food was amazing and fresh. The only thing is they don;s serve any liquor but their mocktails are refreshing and tasty. Definitely a winner!

Thank Pathfinder689780
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Excellent fish, my favourite grilled prawns and calamari. Good service. Open all days of week. Central town locationMore

1  Thank eschalk2
Nicola A, Manager at The Fat Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear eschalk2 Thank you for taking the time to review The Fat Fish in George and for the wonderful complements regarding both the food and service! Do hope you are making the most of our weekly Winter specials - including the Prawn special every Tuesday....More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in George
Protea Hotel George Outeniqua
168 reviews
.18 km away
Oakhurst Hotel
89 reviews
.22 km away
Town Lodge George
82 reviews
.30 km away
Protea Hotel George King George
316 reviews
1.58 km away
Nearby Restaurants
101 Meade Street Restaurant
528 reviews
.50 km away
Travel Bugs Garden Restaurant
222 reviews
.27 km away
La Capannina
478 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Outeniqua Transport Museum
382 reviews
1.50 km away
Robertson Brewing Co.
96 reviews
1.05 km away
Garden Route Botanical Gardens
74 reviews
1.10 km away
Dutch Reformed Mother Church
29 reviews
.63 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Megan K
26 August 2018|
Answer
Response from NicolaA2080 | Property representative |
Hi Megan. We are open 7 days a week 11:30 - 22:00. Kind regards, The Fat Fish
0
Votes
Lusinda V
10 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Simon A | Property representative |
Dear Lusinda Thank you for the enquiry, unfortunately I have all my staff for this season. Kind regards Simon
0
Votes
Grant D
25 March 2016|
Answer
Response from Leoni K | Reviewed this property |
casual but not scruffy
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 124 York Street, George 6529, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  George
  • Phone Number: +27 44 874 7803
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing