We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Cafe
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
228
93
19
7
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
228
93
19
7
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch french toast sea point great coffee ariel waiters vibey
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago

We went a few times, mainly to Ariel in the evening, but also for lunch. I'd like to think we would normally explore more and be a bit more adventurous, and I blame the restaurant for this.. it was really rather good, so we kept...returning, working through the menu and enjoying not only each dish (delicious - all of them), but also, that the staff were so lovely and the service so good. So yes, quite annoying, as it meant we didn't explore as much as we might have done!More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 June 2022

Great food . Coffee was abit disappointing, but that could just be my taste. Interested to try out the evenings, food and drink.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gabrielle, Marketing at JARRYDS, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello! Thank you so much for visiting us and providing your feedback. We are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your coffee! This is not at all the impression we want our guests to have when visiting us. We are however happy...More

Reviewed 27 May 2022

Having frequented all establishments under this roof (Jarryds, Ariel) for the better part of seven years, it's by easily and by far the best overall offering in Cape Town. The produce is of the highest quality, the staff will do anything to ensure you leave...happy if something isn't perfectly up to scratch and everything is delicious. You can tell there's a consistent effort to refine and the offerings. It astounds me that people can scrape the bottom of the barrel to have something to complain about which is in fact a far better indicator as to the kinds of people they are (the kind that need to find other ways to fill their time) as oppose to any indication of the quality of the experience at the restaurant.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gabrielle, Marketing at JARRYDS, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2022

Hello! Firstly, thank you SO much for your continued support over the years; it means the world to us. We are so happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoy our restaurants offerings. We wouldn't be able to do what we do without loyal customers like...More

Reviewed 8 April 2022

This is not the place to go for good Italian food. The dinner section called Ariel is the in-place to go for people who want to be seen, but their food is really disappointing. I ordered a Bucatini Carbonara pasta, which was not up the...standard of the Carbonara I have eaten in other restaurants. There were a few small pieces of bacon scattered among the pasta, which occasionally gave one the taste of an Italian Carbonara but most of the time it was simply the taste of spaghetti. In keeping with their pretentious approach, the management used the rarer Bucatini as pasta and called the bacon "pancetta" but using fancy names may impress their target customers but does nothing to make the food Italian and tasty. My wife had their Conchiglio beef bolognese, which she described as unexciting and "so-so". Both our dishes are standard Italian fare, despite the fancy pasta used. If the restaurant cannot produce tasty standard Italian fare, I question whether their more complex dishes can be any better.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gabrielle, Marketing at JARRYDS, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2022

Hello. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. We are so sorry to hear about the substandard experience you had at our brother restaurant, Ariel Modern Italian. Please note this is not up to our usual standards and not at all the...More

Reviewed 31 March 2022

As I sit and write this, my mouth gets watery thinking about that breakfast sandwich that was made from heaven or something because damn! Whoever throws down in the kitchen needs a raise. I never had my palette enjoy something as delicious as that. Service...was great. We sat at a pretty dark corner and it wasn't the best, there was a funky smell and some few flies that made us wonder. We requested for a new table which we got in a while coz the place was packed and after we ate, I understood why. Totally worth it and if ya'll do international deliveries, sign me up!More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gabrielle, Marketing at JARRYDS, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2022

Hi Tayshawne. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. Firstly we must apologise for the table you were seated at that was not up to standard. We will be sure to pass this on to management to be looked into. We...More

Reviewed 30 March 2022

Having read the positive reviews we decided to walk there for brunch. We were glad we had the stunning walk along the seafront from Mouille Point to Sea Point and back to say we had deserved the food. We were spoilt for choice but in...the end I had the eggs Benedict royale which was amazing whilst my husband opted for the Aussie scrambled eggs with some add ons. The Cortado coffees were disappointing in that they were so milky. We also tried to order 2 glasses of sparkling wine since this was a celebration and the waiter showed us a wine on the wine list which he said was sparkling and it turned out to be Chenin Blanc still wine. This was eventually rectified but we were sad to see we were given Italian sparkling wine. We would have thought it ought to be Cap Classique . We will return for the food but not the coffees and sparkling wine . Nice to see you were sanitised on arrival.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gabrielle, Marketing at JARRYDS, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2022

Hi there. Thank you SO much for your feedback about your experience with us. Firstly, we must apologise for the substandard cortado you had, as well as the mishap with the wine. Please note this is not up to our usual standard and we will...More

Reviewed 11 February 2022

We tried to get in on our first night, as the restaurant becomes a pop up Italian called Ariel Modern Italian, not realising how busy it was (Friday night) and that they did a two setting deal. However Jarryd was happy to seat us at...the bar until a table was ready, we decided to book for the next evening and were glad we did! The food was excellent, with great wine in a nice vibey setting, with friendly attentive staff. Definitely worth a visit, but book to save disapointment. Thanks for a great evening Jarryd!More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gabrielle, Marketing at JARRYDS, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2022

Hello! Thank you very much for your feedback on our brother restaurant, Ariel Modern Italian. We're absolutely thrilled to hear about the experience you had and we are so glad our team were able to assist you. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 11 January 2022

If you want a boujee breakfast the Jarryd's is the place to go. Delicious food, great coffee, awesome atmosphere. End it off with their Banana Bread - wow!

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gabrielle, Marketing at JARRYDS, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2022

Thank you SO much for your feedback. We're so glad you had a great time with us! We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 22 December 2021 via mobile

We have been coming here for years and this is still the best. It has got even better since they took over the street facing restaurant. A very imaginative menu with great omelettes and Bircher muesli. Staff are clearly well trained and selected for their...customer service skills. Will be back many times.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 December 2021 via mobile

This place really does rock! Some of the beat breakfast menu items in Cape Town! The service is really friendly and the food gets delivered to the table very quickly! Worth a visit when in Cape Town for sure!

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gabrielle, Marketing at JARRYDS, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2022

Hi there. Thank you SO much for brunching with us! We are thrilled to hear about your experience with us. We hope you'll join us again soon!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Amalfi Boutique Hotel
106 reviews
.02 km away
Sea Point Inn
149 reviews
.05 km away
newkings boutique hotel
436 reviews
.10 km away
Latitude Aparthotel by Totalstay
20 reviews
.14 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Three Wise Monkeys
169 reviews
.03 km away
Sundoo
212 reviews
.06 km away
NV 80
1 320 reviews
.10 km away
Lexi's
8 reviews
.07 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ginger & Lime
16 reviews
.35 km away
Mojo Market
217 reviews
.37 km away
O on Kloof Boutique Spa
30 reviews
.65 km away
Sea Point Beach
21 reviews
.92 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Companion44251423707
22 November 2019|
Answer
Response from ESTHospitalityGroup | Property representative |
Jarryds is halaal-friendly, however not a certified halaal restaurant. Jarryds ensures that all our meat and poultry products are halaal. Meals can of course also be prepared using separate cookware. We hope this answers... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about JARRYDS

Yes, JARRYDS offers takeaway services.

Yes, JARRYDS offers delivery services.

JARRYDS is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5