We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beluga Restaurant

Is this your business?
70 Prestwich Street | The Foundry, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 418 2948
Website
Save
All photos (276)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good32%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (613 reviews)
“dim sum” (126 reviews)
“beignets” (20 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
70 Prestwich Street | The Foundry, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: Beluga Restaurant
1. Mouth-watering Dishes
"Best tuna I've ever had"
tjcdjc1
See reviews that mention steak
2. Great, Professional Service.
"welcome"
myworld52
See reviews that mention our waiter
3. Atmosphere
"atmosphere and the food is really good"
Rencia2015
See reviews that mention sit outside
Write a ReviewReviews (2 166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1 689 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The vegan sushi options here were great! My favourite by far was the tofu crunch! Service was good, vibe relaxed and trendy, food great and cocktails fresh and tasty!

Thank thehungrytraveller10
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

First of all the location is really nice! The staff is super friendly and helpful in terms of good recommendations - so if you can’t cope with the choice of foods or wines just ask for their advice or let their sommelier come to your...More

Thank LissyLpSun
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had lunch at Beluga and we all enjoyed the food. I had beef fillet which was good, even that not as good as I expected. Restaurant was quite empty when we were there, which is usually an alarming sign. However, I assume that it...More

Thank Yair K
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent steak, great crispy duck and actually good sushi, which we didn't expect from such a mixed menu. One of the best restaurants and very modestly priced for what it is. Service can be inconsistent, but again, not unusual or out of ordinary average.

Thank Natia K
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We returned to this restaurant 4 years after our 1st encounter. Previously in 2014 service was good and food was brill. 4 years later we returned to Cape Town and booked this place again. WHAT A MISTAKE. Food to put it politely was mediocre ,...More

Thank Bovington-Smythe
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our AirBnB host made our reservation for us on our first night in town, which happened to be the night of the Carnival, and it was such a treat! The food was delicious, our waiter a delight to speak with who was super attentive, and...More

Thank _dianerich6
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a wonderful seafood restaurant. We didn't have the sushi, can't help you with that. We did have the fish with butter mash, the battered fish and the prawn appetizer. The prawn and avocado appetizer was so good we decided to try a second...More

Thank funner2travel
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not sure what has changed but have been a regular for many years. Maybe new management or the new limited menu..... But service was very poor with one main course not arriving till after others finished eating. Management not to be seen and food very...More

Thank ynot12345
BelugaRestaurantCPT, Guest Relations Manager at Beluga Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good day Thank you for your feedback. At Beluga, we appreciate all the feedback we can get. New ownership took over last year September. The normal menu is quite extensive and available at all times. However, it is possible that you have only been exposed...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a miscommunication with the hotel concierge and ended up here. Now being from New York I didn't wan to get sushi in Cape Town and I didn't. The meal that I did get was fantastic. The springbok carpaccio was a must have. The king...More

Thank Elena B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came with high expectations. The sushi wasn’t very good. A lot of mayo and you didn’t taste the fish. The sushi fell apart. The taste was not good. At the Average take away restaurants in holland it is much better sushi than this restaurant....More

Thank MarianneK008
BelugaRestaurantCPT, Guest Relations Manager at Beluga Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good day Marianna Thank you for your feedback. We at Beluga, appreciate all feedback we can get. We will be hosting a meeting with our head sushi chefs to discuss this matter and make sure it is dealt with accordingly. Our current process is we...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 113 hotels in Cape Town Central
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction
682 reviews
.12 km away
Rockwell All Suite Hotel
621 reviews
.30 km away
Sugar Hotel & Spa
384 reviews
.31 km away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle
230 reviews
.34 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Pigalle Restaurant
1 153 reviews
.17 km away
Gold Restaurant
1 446 reviews
.09 km away
Anatoli Turkish Restaurant
274 reviews
.27 km away
Il Leone Mastrantonio
676 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Shimansky Jewellers Rockwell
8 reviews
.32 km away
Martin Osner Fine Art Photography Gallery
8 reviews
.38 km away
Nobel Square
320 reviews
.25 km away
Cape Quarter Mall
68 reviews
.45 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
871edieh
10 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Pete K | Reviewed this property |
Not sure what the question is. My experience was excellent, and none of the three of us had any problems with our food.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 70 Prestwich Street | The Foundry, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 418 2948
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing