We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Haiku - V&A Waterfront

Is this your business?
Victoria Wharf | Shop No. 6264, Upper Level, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27 21 418 5700
Website
Save
All photos (33)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good31%
  • Average17%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible18%
Travellers talk about
“dim sum” (23 reviews)
“peking duck” (4 reviews)
“tuna tacos” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Victoria Wharf | Shop No. 6264, Upper Level, Cape Town Central, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have since Haiku/Bukara opened at he Waterfront been patrons and have witnessed the steady decline in offering and service. Wednesday past confirmed that we would never ever go there again. We have had countless business and personal dinners/lunches here. First sign that the wheels...More

Thank Melonie B
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Dear Melonie, Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Kindly send us an email to feedback@Bukhara.com with a copy of your review, so that they may investigate and resolve this with the...More

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Food hit the spot, the dim sums were excellent the garlic fried rice is fantastic a must try. all the dishes we tried were fantastic good atmosphere food and service

Thank Lani1072
Management response:Responded 23 January 2018

Hi there Lani1072, Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed both your meal and service! We do hope to see you again, soon. Kind regards, Haiku

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Looking for something different to eat; after eating here, I wish I had went for another steak or fish. A sizzling chicken and cashew chicken dishes served with side of fried rice. The rice was as good as any rice I’ve had anywhere - really...More

Thank Sonny1965
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sonny1965, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are very concerned to read about your poor meal experience. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Kindly send us an email to feedback@Bukhara.com. We hope to hear from you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We initially booked dinner at Haiku in town, having had excellent experiences there previously. Shopping at Waterfront we spotted Haiku, so we switched our reservation! What a mistake!! Totally different in every way. The menu is condensed with minimal choice. The service was sporadic, the...More

Thank LeeAnneSingh
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Dear LeeAnneSingh, Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback. We are terribly sorry to hear about your experience with us. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Kindly send us an email to feedback@Bukhara.com. We hope to hear...More

Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

I visited this restaurant with my boyfriend, it is beautifully decorated! We loved the fact that you can have Thai and Indian food as we couldn’t decide between the two! For starters we shared the duck dim sum which was very tasty! I chose the...More

Thank Abbii B
Management response:Responded 13 March 2018

Hello AbbiiB, Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback. We do apologise that the Pad Thai was not up to standard but are thrilled that you enjoyed your curry. We hope to see you and your boyfriend again, soon. Kind regards,...More

Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

I have visited Haiku on Burg Street in Cape Town and had a fantastic experience- seeing the name in Waterfront made me naively believe the same would happen. Upon our arrival we were asked whether we would like to be seated in Asian or Indian...More

Thank Kat V
Management response:Responded 13 March 2018

Good day, Kat, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are terribly sorry to hear about your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Kindly send us an email with a copy of your review...More

Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Ordered the pad Thai with prawn. When I got it, it had no prawns in the dish. The waiter took it back to the kitchen and said “the chef said there is prawns in, they just very small”. Due to the partitioning it is hard...More

Thank etoro123
Management response:Responded 9 February 2018

Hi etoro123, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Kindly send us an email to feedback@Bukhara.com with a copy...More

Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Food was good but staff not very friendly. Drinks straw came unwrapped and placed on sticky wooden table. Only desert available was ice-cream. Broken dish on floor did not get swept up.More

Thank Derek F
Management response:Responded 23 January 2018

Hi there Derek F, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are terribly sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Kindly send us an email...More

Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

The first sign of a poor restaurant is when the waiter does not understand the basic difference between veg and non veg . We were served prawn dimsums, egg fried rice instead of the veg options . I ate the prawn dimsum half way before...More

Thank Devpriya B
Management response:Responded 28 December 2017

Hi there Devpriya B, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are terribly sorry to hear that this was your experience. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Kindly send us an email to feedback@Bukhara.com. We hope to...More

Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

Tofu, rice, vegetables, sushi--all perfection. Great views, reasonably priced. On the V&A Waterfront.

Thank Keith L
Management response:Responded 28 December 2017

Hi Keith, Thank you for the review! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our vegetarian options accompanied by great views. We do hope to serve you again, soon. Kind regards, Haiku

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 113 hotels in Cape Town Central
The Table Bay Hotel
2 501 reviews
.15 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
1 646 reviews
.30 km away
Dock House Boutique Hotel
213 reviews
.31 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
776 reviews
.34 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Willoughby & Co
3 400 reviews
.13 km away
Baia
2 565 reviews
.02 km away
Karibu
1 839 reviews
.04 km away
Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs
888 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
10 139 reviews
.12 km away
The Springbok Experience
472 reviews
.29 km away
The Cape Wheel
797 reviews
.24 km away
Cape Town Magic Club
36 reviews
.25 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Haiku - V&A Waterfront staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$30
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating
Good for
Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Victoria Wharf | Shop No. 6264, Upper Level, Cape Town Central, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 418 5700
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing