We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hudsons, The Burger Joint

Is this your business?
43 Somerset Road | CNR Portswood and Somerset Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 433 1496
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good43%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“sliders” (20 reviews)
“burger” (161 reviews)
“burguer” (4 reviews)
Opens in 16 min
Hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
43 Somerset Road | CNR Portswood and Somerset Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2018

Visited Hudsons Greenpoint for a quick bite with the brother. We chose the 3 sliders to share, some loaded fries as well as disco fries. Without Hyperbole, these burgers were the most disappointing I have ever had. The " sauces " and topping on these...More

Thank dafelkyle
JonathanBurg, General Manager at Hudsons, The Burger Joint, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Good Morning dafelkyle I would like to express my deepest apologies for the poor experience you received at my branch. This is not the Hudsons standard and shouldn't be accepted. I will make sure that my kitchen manager is briefed about the experience and together...More

Reviewed 26 March 2018

This burger joint was at the end of our street in Green Point. It was packed so we thought it must be a great stop. We ordered a great burger and draft beer was great. A yummy meal. You won't be disappointed.

Thank Retired_teacher_56
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Good burger in line with other burger establishment from the basic to pile it on. Rather noisy and favored by the mid age group. Has a bar so don’t get upset if someone uses your table to place a glass. Found some of the food...More

Thank Jay M
Reviewed 20 March 2018

After great experiences previously - very disappointing and lay blame on fact that it was the day after Cape Town Festival. Draft Beer was flat, bottled beers were not chilled - onion rings were raw and Burgers were ... average. The only upside were the...More

Thank DrewHousecpt
JonathanBurg, General Manager at Hudsons, The Burger Joint, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Good Day DrewHousecpt Thank you for taking the time to send us this review. I would like to apologies for the poor experience you had at my establishment on Sunday. This is not our standard at all, even after a big event like the Cape...More

Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

We went with friends twice and enjoyed the burgers and pizzas tremendously. Try the truffle fries and the sweet potato fries with any of the burgers. The beer selection is also great. Service is efficient, friendly and professional. We didn’t try the gourmet milkshakes but...More

Thank marussiav
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Well situated , in Green Point. Perfect pit stop to grab a bite before watching a game or attending a concert at the stadium. Service is friendly but give yourself time as the kitchen can be a little slow. BUT .... Well worth the wait....More

Thank nadiad437
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

I was extremely disappointed tonight. We drove all the way from Durbanville to go have dinner at hudsons as it was on the entertainer. We went for this reason only. On the app it cleary states 2 for 1 burgers. We both enjoyed 3 small...More

Thank Marjo P
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

One of better burger chain restaurants we’ve been to, better than any we’ve tried in London. So much choice - vegan and veggie friendly. Truffle cheese chips delicious! Medium rare burger cooked perfectly, nice view watching the world go by from seating facing the street....More

Thank Pfarrell27
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

Ate here last night. Great burgers.... However, our main came out before the starter. Fries were over cooked. Asked for a bottle of water which came after we had finished the meal. Staff running about in every direction. I don’t know if this was due...More

Thank Hayley C
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

What's the point of having a burger joint if the burgers are average? Maybe it is the load of work on a busy day but my burger was undercooked and nobody bothered to ask how I wanted it in the first place.

Thank Taner B
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 113 hotels in Cape Town Central
The Cape Royale
1 587 reviews
.04 km away
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
529 reviews
.21 km away
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
156 reviews
.30 km away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle
230 reviews
.33 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Bootlegger Coffee Company (Green Point)
8 reviews
.07 km away
Jasons Bakery
5 reviews
.19 km away
Giovanni's
438 reviews
.30 km away
Nobu
826 reviews
.34 km away
Nearby Attractions
Two Oceans Aquarium
4 368 reviews
.49 km away
Cape Town Stadium (Green Point Stadium)
394 reviews
.57 km away
Nobel Square
335 reviews
.56 km away
Cape Medical Museum
5 reviews
.32 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Khaled A
8 July 2017|
Answer
Response from cbarros25 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, but I don't remember seeing that on the menu!
0
Votes
Khaled A
8 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Scorpion619 | Reviewed this property |
I would say it's not Halal, as some of their dishes contain bacon / pork.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 43 Somerset Road | CNR Portswood and Somerset Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 433 1496
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;