We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kloof Street House Restaurant

30 Kloof Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 423 4413
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good25%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
30 Kloof Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Cape Town is full of great restaurants and this is definitely one of them! We enjoyed an amazing meal and wonderful service at Kloof Street House - I could easily have eaten here every night! The restaurant has a great vibe and was packed the...More

Thank happycamper422
Reviewed 3 days ago

If you dont have a reservation, go early, this is a very popular restaurant, and it is very busy. The restaurant is beautifullly decorated, in a colorful and quirky way, and with an interesting mix of modern and victorian. Staff is very friendly. And the...More

Thank nathalieyes
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We absolutely loved the setting - Victorian but modern! We sat in one room of several that had perhaps 8 tables and we were next to a lovely fireplace with a stunning chandelier overhead. There was also a beautiful outdoor patio. The food was very...More

Thank Rhonda A
Reviewed 3 days ago

Having read & heard such great things about Kloof Street House, my husband and I made a reservation for dinner one night to give it a try. We had a reservation for an outside seat, but the weather was terrible - windy & rainy -...More

Thank nireks
Reviewed 4 days ago

After seeing pictures online, I made a reservation at Kloof Street House for dinner during our first visit to Cape Town. I was not disappointed! Firstly, it's one of the only restaurants open on Sundays. Secondly, the decor is beautiful, eclectic, trendy, and fun. Thirdly,...More

Thank Rebecca A
Reviewed 5 days ago

Kloof Street has many places to eat dinner but not many are open on a Sunday night, so we made a reservation at Kloof Street House for our first night in Cape Town and we're glad we did. It was very busy, with people waiting...More

Thank bonvoyage415
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

This place is amazing! Went here twice during my week long stay in Cape Town. I recommend you trying the ostrich and the malva pudding for sure. Staff is super nice and the vibe of the place is something else. This restaurant is chill, cool...More

Thank Robin88SWE
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

People on vacation would usually want to explore as many new places as possible within a given time. Occasionally, exceptions are warranted. Kloof Street House was so impressive we went straight back again, merely after 3 days. The first visit was by chance. We found...More

Thank NelsonChua
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very popular restaurant on Kloof street - especially it would appear by the young trendy crowd. A bit disorganised in the booking process - i was told I would have to vacate within1.5 hours but on the night my (very good) waitress told me I...More

2  Thank BurySt_EdmundsTrevor
Reviewed 1 week ago

I sent an email 3 days ago to complain... since having no reply - Tripadvisor it is! I made this reservation for anniversary dinner quite some time back. I chose KSH over One and Only to celebrate this special occasion and oh how I regret...More

Thank Jarina92
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rick's Cafe Americain - Restaurant and Bar
521 reviews
.15 km away
Societi Bistro
798 reviews
.11 km away
Thali
81 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Zee's Cape Tours
58 reviews
.37 km away
Iziko South African Museum and Planetarium
281 reviews
.28 km away
The Labia
77 reviews
.17 km away
Great Synagogue
23 reviews
.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
GrandmaAudrey
22 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 14 answers
Response from LibbyH1 | Reviewed this property |
You will be fine. We wore Country Club attire, but many people wore jeans and t-shirts. We were overdressed compared to most. We were heading out in safari too so we had limited clothes. You will be fine.
1
Vote
Vuyo F
30 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Geoff N | Reviewed this property |
I suggest you call the restaurant!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 02:00
Monday
17:00 - 02:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 02:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 02:00
Thursday
12:00 - 02:00
Friday
12:00 - 02:00
Saturday
12:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 30 Kloof Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 423 4413
  • E-mail
Description
Kloof street house is an eclectic inspired restaurant and bar set in a magnificent Victorian house on the famous Kloof Street, nestled in the Table mountain valley, Cape Town. Join us in our garden for Saturday and Sunday Brunches, daily lunches and Sunday lunch Jazz, candle lit dinners in our dining rooms, drinks in our beautiful garden under the palm trees or just relax on our chesterfield couches in our cozy lounge. With our inviting homely feel and warm welcoming service, Kloof street house makes you feel just right at home.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing