We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Afternoon Tea

76 Orange Street | Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 483 1000
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good22%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (142 reviews)
“cake” (34 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RRRR
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
76 Orange Street | Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful setting, delicious sandwiches, pastries, scones, wide selection of teas and decent coffee. Quality of food was excellent and great value. Booked day before, Gardens and decor superb. Relaxed and friendly service, not over the top.

Thank Mark B
Reviewed 1 week ago

The great part about tea at the Nellie is you can have it anytime. The selection of teas is huge and you can try several varieties during your tea. We had high tea in the afternoon and with all the sandwiches, scones, pastries and desserts,...More

Thank kkkkathy
Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and friend attended the evening tea at the Mount Nelson and we had a fantastic time. Our self-proclaimed tea aficionado Daryl was superb - very knowledgable and rendered lovely recommendations pertaining to which tea to drink with savoury items and which to drink with...More

Thank 380neo
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We celebrated my birthday with a gift here at this amazing restaurant and had such a splendid afternoon. The eats and treats beautifully presented with an excellent variety of teas and coffees to choose from. I loved the ROOIBOS tea - true South African.

Thank Jane L
FandBManagerJB, Manager at Afternoon Tea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jane, Happy Birthday again from all of us! Thank you for the beautiful review, we hope to celebrate many birthdays to come... Johann Food and Beverage Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having tea at the Mount Nelson Hotel is a superb way of spending your afternoon. The decor is very elegant and stylish, the views in the sun room of the garden are lovely and the decor of the main hall is very old world. The...More

1  Thank Stalex24
FandBManagerJB, Manager at Afternoon Tea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Stalex24, Thank you for sharing your experience at afternoon tea with us. We are delighted to see you had such an enjoyable tea and enjoyed the beautiful setting. We will share your comments with Craig, he will appreciate it immensely. Hope to welcome you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my cousin really looked forward to this special treat. It was highly recommended . Unfortunately It did not meet our expectations. First a plate and jug had chips in them which I felt was not good. We were not asked if we wanted...More

Thank annmaria11
FandBManagerJB, Manager at Afternoon Tea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ann Maria, We wish to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during your visit. We only wished that our management team would have been able to address on...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After posting a balanced review, Tripadvisor (or the hotel?) has repeatedly refused to publish that review for some bizarre reason. In summary, therefore, the Afternoon Tea at Mount Nelson will disappoint you. Service is bad, quality of food is mediocre at best. In all aspects...More

Thank G T
FandBManagerJB, Manager at Afternoon Tea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest, We wish to thank you for your review and we do apologize for any disappointment. Regrettably we have not received the original review as mentioned and we would like to further assist. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel should...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A very nice experience and a great way to unwind after running around Cape Town. Had the Evening Tea and decided to sit on the terrace and enjoy the view of the lawn and garden. Excellent service and a very wide choice of teas, and...More

Thank akmar112
Reviewed 12 October 2018

My wife and I love the afternoon tea. The food was amazing and there were so many types of teas. It was a very delicious and relaxing meal.

Thank Daniel G
Reviewed 24 September 2018

we had afternoon tea here which had some unusual touches but was ok, however after moving to the lawn we were chased by a member of staff with the bill which had increased for no reason, other than a public holiday,it was not what we...More

Thank lutonlagerlout
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 114 hotels in Cape Town Central
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
1 839 reviews
.06 km away
Lady Hamilton Hotel
322 reviews
.15 km away
Fritz Hotel
294 reviews
.24 km away
Cape Cadogan
772 reviews
.33 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Nelson's Eye
1 178 reviews
.13 km away
Planet Restaurant
412 reviews
.03 km away
Arnold's Restaurant
771 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
South African Jewish Museum
600 reviews
.51 km away
Cape Town Holocaust Centre
92 reviews
.29 km away
Iziko South African Museum and Planetarium
342 reviews
.46 km away
The Labia
95 reviews
.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
annmaria11
2 November 2018|
Answer
Response from FandBManagerJB | Property representative |
Dear Ann Maria, Thank you again for your feedback. Your review has been responded to and should be published shortly. Again, we apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your visit. Regards, Johann Food and... More
0
Votes
Emelda V
10 September 2018|
Answer
Response from LouisePheiffer | Property representative |
Hello Emelda, The cost for Afternoon Tea is R365 per adult and R205 for children aged between 4-11 years old. Warm regards Louise
0
Votes
Hiramdm
6 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Dantol13 | Reviewed this property |
Yes definitely it gets busy! They do an early evening sitting which is what I did
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$100
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Valet Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Romantic, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
13:00 - 15:00
15:30 - 17:30
Monday
13:00 - 15:00
15:30 - 17:30
Tuesday
13:00 - 15:00
15:30 - 17:30
Wednesday
13:00 - 15:00
15:30 - 17:30
Thursday
13:00 - 15:00
15:30 - 17:30
Friday
13:00 - 15:00
15:30 - 17:30
Saturday
13:00 - 15:00
15:30 - 17:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 76 Orange Street | Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 483 1000
  • E-mail
Description
Enjoy delicate finger sandwiches filled with rare roast beef and rocket, smoked salmon, egg mayonnaise or cucumber. Follow with a delectable dark chocolate cake, lemon meringue and freshly baked scones with clotted cream and preserves. Adding a special local flavour is a typical South African milk tart, called "melktert" in Afrikaans. During the winter months you can also enjoy a selection of warm treats. Expect mushroom empanadas, tomato tarts and chicken pies. The signature Mount Nelson Tea has been expertly blended from six teas: Darjeeling, Kenya, Assam, Keemun, Yunnan, Ceylon, and rose petals from our garden. In addition, we offer an array of leaf and flowering teas. Morning, Afternoon and Evening Tea is served in the lounge, on the terrace or around the garden fountain.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing