We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
The story of Cape Town Fish Market is the story of creating a restaurant that strives to create a great experience for our customers. It is a restaurant built on fresh ingredients, a relaxing atmosphere, and, most of all, great-tasting seafood and sushi. But we didn't create a world-class restaurant overnight. The Cape Town Fish Market you know and love today is the result of almost two decades of passion and hard work by CTFM's founder, Douw Krugmann and his family, in partnership with the best franchise owners in South Africa. His wife, sons and daughter have all joined the family business and have played an integral role in making CTFM what it is today.It all began in 1997, when Douw bought
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
After-hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Sushi
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (855)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveller rating
236
235
100
55
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
236
235
100
55
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood hake fish cakes salad fries steak clock tower swing bridge robben island great fish our waiter waterfront platter cape vibe
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We had a very nice sushi lunch here. We chose the signature platter which was more than enough for us both. The service was efficient and our table was nice and clean. Note: It was a little noisy outside as there was some street entertainment...going on …but that might not be an issue for everyone.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed yesterday

We were at this restaurant several years ago and remembered how much we enjoyed it. We had the best server Stha (66). She was most helpful with the wine selection and also the beer choices. Wonderful personality as well. We devoured calamari, Greek salad, and...green salad. All very tasty. Made all the better because of Stha.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 days ago

We had a very nice meal here. It's a beautiful setting on the waterfront and is magical at night. We had the seafood platter which was excellent and very good value

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I were in Cape Town for the weekend and thought of trying an old favorite. The whole experience was spoilt by bad service and an arrogant waitress who refused to serve us. When I lifted my hand to ask for service, she...swept past me and said " She was bust outside" and left us to our devices. I complained to the manager but she failed to apologize. That spoilt our meal. Sushi was good Platter for two was nothing to write home about. Never again.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zandrie Van Wyk, General Manager at Cape Town Fish Market (V & A Waterfront), responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Day, we're sorry to hear you had a bad experience at our store. Please send us your contact details to complaints@ctfm.co.za . We'd like to reach out to you

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by a tour guide so we decided to give it a try. It was very busy when we arrived but we were lucky to get an outside table which we were very grateful for as it was a very warm evening....We both really enjoyed our meals…tempura prawns then sole for my husband, and mussels followed by kingklip for me. We had two waiters, Ephrahim who served our gins but was finishing at nine, the Augustus who served our food. Both were very friendly and the service was good. Definitely worth a visit.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zandrie Van Wyk, General Manager at Cape Town Fish Market (V & A Waterfront), responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Day, thank you for your review. Please come again soon!

Reviewed 26 January 2024 via mobile

On arrival, the restaurant was very busy . The only seating available for 2 people was at the back in a room with no atmosphere. We took it as I really wanted to eat there. I had the local fish grilled in lemon butter. My...husband had fish and chips . We also had a starter. It was all ok nothing special . I actually thought the seafood was better at our hotel. That said we had good service and a really nice waiter. If we had sat outside I’m sure the average food would have tasted better.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zandrie Van Wyk, General Manager at Cape Town Fish Market (V & A Waterfront), responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Day, thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and have made note of this. We hope you come again soon!

Reviewed 20 January 2024 via mobile

We went there for the oysters after discussing it with them the day before, but they waited till we were seated and had a drink to tell us there were no oysters that day! Fish has bones in it too so watch for that, had...a platter, incredibly good, in fact the fish was probably the best we have ever had, mussels also and calamari plus prawns, very good value, drinks reasonably.priced and good serviceMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2024

Today my birthday and i came to V/A waterfront in Capetown and as advertised a free R100 vouchers on you Bday were not honoured and very disappointing for a brand adverising falsly on the internet and we did everything as per the ad and it...was not granted. So disappointing NicoMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 December 2023

Absolutely shocking experience. Ordered calamari for my son who shared it with me and it was in fact a mixture of chicken and calamari. I have allergies to meat luckily I realised in time and spat the food out. The management apologised but seemed to...take the whole thing far to lightheartedly as this could have actually caused me to be very ill. The food overall was just shocking like cheap pub food and not what we have come to expect from this franchise. Really appalled and will never go back.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 December 2023 via mobile

There was a piece of ICE in the ice bucket and it landet in my daughter's cold drink. We were shocked and the Manager just apologised and left it at that

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2023

The other half just wanted to eat out and we didn’t want to have something too heavy so we opted for seafood and saw CTFM was recommended. Made our way down at 8pm and got seated almost immediately. Server was Siya, and we proceeded with...our order as soon we were ready. Remember me saying that we didn’t want to have anything heavy so we opted for 4 pcs of fresh oyster and mussels for the starters. We also opted for Executive Surf and Turf since my missus wouldn’t mind some meat. And I thought a bit of prawns and squids should compliment the whole experience. When the starters were finished, and came the main, we were shocked. A big platter was staring at us. “I” contemplated a while and I thought I should ask Siya if I had ordered surf and turf or platter. He told me platter. It occurred to me that he did mention that the main doesn’t come with crayfish like the illustration in the menu which I acknowledged, however I did not expect my surf to have evolved to a platter. He did ask if we wanted fries, onion rings or salad beside the rice. We said onion rings. And I did not see any onion rings. And why would I have ordered mussels for starters when the platter has a portion of it. If you were to ask me, CTFM is overpriced compared to Ocean Basket and OB tasted so much better. And of course when it came to the billing part, I just opted to round up the bill instead of a customary 10-15% tips I supposed. I got a cold shoulder from my server. LOL. Any probable diners, do double check the orders with your server before he heading back to the kitchen. Lousy dinning experience and the take aways are sitting in the fridge now as I’m typing this. Ocean basket anytime for me.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2023

This was a strange one,this is a very big restaurant with large outdoor and large indoor rooms and also a couple of places with about 4 or 5 tables where we were placed.It was around 9-00pm when we arrived and the waiter took us past...lots of empty tables to a room with no one in it,for what reason I don’t know.We found everything seemed to be rushed and we’re back out of there in just over three quarters of an hour I had a T-bone steak and my wife had a half Sole,we had a bottle of nice wine but hardly time to enjoy.We thought it might be because they finished at 10-pm but on our way out there were lots of people still being served.Food was ok and came very quickly like everything else.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2023

From the USA to Cape Town!! Ate here twice and stopped in for apps. twice while on Cape Town! The calamari app was the BEST I've had anywhere I've traveled. Big pieces with a mayo sauce and a LARGE portion!! Had the fish and chips...twice. Large portions and very good taste! I had the sushi one night, and also some of the best sushi I've had!! Again very good portions at a VERY reasonable price. The staff is VERY friendly and make sure you have a good time!!More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2023 via mobile

Lovely executive platter - prawns cooked beautifully, squid rings very tasty, and baby squid delicious!! México Mule very good, but Pina Colada a little watery - need to use milk/cream!

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2023

We found this to be the best place to have fish in Cape Town We had starters x2 and the mussels which were delicious Then we had beef ribs and fish platter and prawns twice which were all delicious highly recommended and good service also

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Table Bay
3 276 reviews
.08 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
2 075 reviews
.13 km away
Dock House Boutique Hotel And Spa By Newmark
291 reviews
.42 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
1 000 reviews
.46 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs
1 569 reviews
.18 km away
Mozambik V & A Waterfront
1 129 reviews
.17 km away
Karibu Restaurant
4 446 reviews
.15 km away
Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar
4 186 reviews
.21 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
14 465 reviews
.01 km away
Victoria Wharf Shopping Centre
97 reviews
.22 km away
Eyewitness - A Private Collection
23 reviews
.30 km away
Ripley's Believe It Or Not! Cape Town
15 reviews
.34 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Siphosethu K
26 October 2022|
Answer
Response from JJBuirski | Reviewed this property |
A baby shower at the CT Fish Market? You will have to ask them yourself but that is not the right venue at all.
0
Votes
Tourist63783830793
21 October 2020|
Answer
Response from CTFMSA | Property representative |
R40 per bottle
2
Votes
aneebahessa
2 December 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from CTFMSA | Property representative |
Hi there. We are not halaal-certified but we are halaal-friendly. There is no pork on our menu, our meat is purchased from halaal-certified suppliers, and we do not cook with alcohol, but we do serve alcohol on the premises.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

Cape Town Fish Market (V & A Waterfront), Cape Town Central - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cape Town Fish Market (V & A Waterfront)

Yes, Cape Town Fish Market (V & A Waterfront) offers takeaway services.

Cape Town Fish Market (V & A Waterfront) is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3.5