We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harbour House V&A Waterfront

Quay 4 Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 418 4744
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (276 reviews)
“prawns” (157 reviews)
“yellowtail” (35 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 22:00 Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Sushi, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Quay 4 Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (3 197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 2 334 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

good food and setting really need to book as gets very busy at peak times staff very friendly good choice on menu

Thank geeparker
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your lovely feedback geeparker, we look forward to having you back.

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

If you want somewhere with a fantastic menu and excellent service - I’d highly recommend this restaurant. We arrived with 15 people in tow and they rearranged tables for us and accommodated some pretty tricky dietary requirements amongst the group without even a raised eyebrow....More

Thank Michelle W
Reviewed 2 days ago

We stopped at the Harbour House restaurant the end of August...sat at a lovely table overlooking the harbor filled with a large variety of boats coming and going. Our waiter was very professional, the service perfect. Our meal was the most delicious line fish ceviche....More

Thank meganneb2015
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Megan, thank you for your wonderful feedback, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our delicious linefish Ceviche. Hopefully we get to serve you again soon. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We would definitely not go here again. We heard from our local tour guide that the restaurant had changed and that must be true since there used to be such good reviews. The service was very slow (even by Cape Town standards) and the food/drinks...More

Thank Bbbsam
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Bbbsam, thank you for taking the time to bring your experience to our attention. It saddens us to hear that you were so disappointed and we wish to apologize for the seemingly multiple lapses on our side. In order for this to not remain...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Had an evening meal choosing catch of the day. Great choice of really succulent Swordfish. Just melt in the mouth. Not disappointed at all.

Thank HTTcyclist
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

That is lovely to hear, thank you for sharing your feedback with us and the Tripdadvisor community. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

After a long day of sightseeing we arrived at about 7.30pm on Saturday night hoping to get a table, we didn’t have a reservation . The lady who greeted us was very gracious and said she would have a table in a few minutes. We...More

Thank Marianne M
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Marianne, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our prawns and that we were able to accommodate you without major complications. We wish you a lot more exciting sightseeing in our beautiful city and hopefully we can welcome you back again at Harbour...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

This was my first day in Cape Town and just stopped in to have lunch with a friend. The service was impeccable and the servers were super friendly. The food was delicious and the Malava pudding was divine. It was an enjoyable afternoon finished off...More

Thank Mydear976
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Mydear976, lovely to hear that you had such a great time at our restaurant. We are delighted to have contributed to your first day in our Mother City. Hopefully we get to have you back again some time... Benjamin and the Harbour House Team

Reviewed 6 days ago

.great food great staff menu has something for everybody on it and i a picky eater. the drinks came fast

Thank Chantel C
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your lovely feedback Chantel, we hope to have you back again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came here for out first dinner in Town. We really appreciated the good and the service. Good sushi. Good fish. The atmosphere is very nice and quite romantic if you get a table on the patio.

Thank ilbelloelabestiasa
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear ilbelloelabestiasa, thank you for sharing your great feedback with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wonderful Service by Alex, my daughters were charmed by this handsome,knowledgeable, waiter. Delicious food! Outside porch a delight

Thank dunenuthin2018
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear dunenuthin2018, that is wonderful to hear, we will let Alex know that he contributed to your Harbour House experience. We hope to welcome you and your daughters back again soon. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 114 hotels in Cape Town Central
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
1 717 reviews
.17 km away
Dock House Boutique Hotel
221 reviews
.18 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
803 reviews
.21 km away
The PortsWood
848 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Karibu
2 183 reviews
.10 km away
Vovo Telo
683 reviews
.08 km away
Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar
3 161 reviews
.06 km away
Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs
950 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
11 043 reviews
.24 km away
The Springbok Experience
496 reviews
.17 km away
The Cape Wheel
860 reviews
.10 km away
Chavonnes Battery Museum
94 reviews
.26 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
NuttyNoraCoDurham
26 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Lesley C | Reviewed this property |
It would be best to email the restaurant directly with your questions. The Waterfront is a popular New Years Eve Venue so booking is essential. As a fresh seafood venue, the menu may change due to availability. The location... More
1
Vote
Noel G
26 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from HarbourHouseG | Property representative |
Dear Noel G, We are indeed open on Christmas Day. We open our doors at 12:00. Please note bookings are essential.
0
Votes
FordK22
29 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Martin B | Reviewed this property |
You can google the menu (harbourhouse full stop co full stop za slash menus!) It is one of the more expensive places in the V&A Waterfront, but the food is very good. Plus, there are daily specials which are usually worth... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, View, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Quay 4 Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 418 4744
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing