We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harbour House V&A Waterfront

Is this your business?
Quay 4 Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 418 4744
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (242 reviews)
“prawns” (157 reviews)
“yellowtail” (37 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Sushi, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Quay 4 Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (3 061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 2 234 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

This restaurant has a lovely ambience with great food. The service is superb and the food out of this world! Of all the restaurants, I recommend the Harbour House anytime! It is close to parking, a great view over the harbour and cosy.

Thank Minx A
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear Minx, we loved reading your wonderful feedback and appreciate you sharing it on Tripadvisor. Please pay us another visit soon. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Top quality food. Setting very modern and romantic. Food variety I enjoyed. Service was 5 star. Prices very competitive

Thank Arthur W
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear Arthur, thank you for your amazing feedback. We are absolutely delighted to hear such wonderful words and hope to welcome you again soon. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We went for my birthday.the waiter treated us so badly didn’t clean our tables and took forever to serve us as he kept complaining about his job. Further we ordered the seafood pasta and both my husband and I got sick from that. The tables...More

1  Thank Ravisha S
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Ravisha, thank you for providing us with your input on these matters. We are terribly sorry that you had everything but a great birthday at Harbour House and we will try our utmost best to make up for it. Please rest assured that the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Indescriptible , horrible, cheating tourists. Tables are closer one to the other than in a MC Donalds. All we had was tasteless and of horrible quality, the stuff is unprofessional. Worst restaurant we visited in town.More

1  Thank Dit I
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Dit I, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and the Tripadvisor community. It saddens us to read that you had such a unsatisfying experience at Harbour House and we wish to rectify this impression. Would you be kind...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Located at the V&A Waterfront , this is a restaurant that takes care of their customers . Perfect service , amazing view , fine dining , fair prices and a perfect spot to sit and relax , enjoy a good meal after a shopping spree...More

Thank Sinnekloas
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Sinnekloas, that is wonderful to hear, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Tripadvisor community. We hope to have you back soon. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect spot for lunch or a sundowner. Great ambiance and beautiful restaurant with even better servers. Everything tasted fresh and well seasoned.

Thank mldfa17
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear mldfa17, we are delighted to hear that you had such a good time, enjoyed the service and your meals. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing seafood, both cooked and sushi. the view is unbeatable and the service was great. Would definitely go back.

Thank Vanessa S
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Vanessa, thank you for these kind words. Please visit us again soon for some more of that amazing seafood. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This restaurant features excellent fish dishes, but also has alternatives on the menu. It has a great setting near the water's edge with al fresco tables. Fish dishes are around 200 Rand an excellent dish of Mozambique Grilled Prawns at 325 Rand. Excellent and highly...More

Thank mikesierra
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mike, thank you for your great review and taking the time to share it with the Tripadvisor community. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the seafood and the location of our restaurant. We hope to welcome you back soon. Benjamin and the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived here at about 7.30pm and had finished our main course by 8pm. We then ordered dessert and it arrived about 1 hour later and it wasn’t worth waiting for. The main course was well cooked and presented. They were extremely busy and it...More

Thank DerekParsons
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Derek, thank you for sharing your experience with us and the Tripadvisor community. We are glad that you enjoyed your main course and we wish to apologize for the wait for your dessert. Regardless of how busy it is we certainly aim to serve...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel. We visited on the first night but were so happy with the oysters served at the rooftop bar that we revisited several times. The dinner in the main restaurant was also very good but the place was full...More

Thank Peripatecian
HarbourHouseG, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Peripatecian, thank you for your feedback. This is amazing to hear, we are nothing but delighted that you enjoyed the oysters at our bar so much that you returned. Please visit us again soon. Benjamin and the Harbour House Team

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 113 hotels in Cape Town Central
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
1 655 reviews
.17 km away
Dock House Boutique Hotel
214 reviews
.18 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
781 reviews
.21 km away
The PortsWood
822 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Karibu
1 910 reviews
.10 km away
Vovo Telo
665 reviews
.08 km away
Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs
903 reviews
.09 km away
Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar
3 065 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
10 298 reviews
.24 km away
The Springbok Experience
476 reviews
.17 km away
The Cape Wheel
809 reviews
.10 km away
Cape Town Magic Club
36 reviews
.11 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
NuttyNoraCoDurham
26 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Lesley C | Reviewed this property |
It would be best to email the restaurant directly with your questions. The Waterfront is a popular New Years Eve Venue so booking is essential. As a fresh seafood venue, the menu may change due to availability. The location... More
1
Vote
Noel G
26 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from HarbourHouseG | Property representative |
Dear Noel G, We are indeed open on Christmas Day. We open our doors at 12:00. Please note bookings are essential.
0
Votes
Ford K
29 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Martin B | Reviewed this property |
You can google the menu (harbourhouse full stop co full stop za slash menus!) It is one of the more expensive places in the V&A Waterfront, but the food is very good. Plus, there are daily specials which are usually worth... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Business meetings, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Quay 4 Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 418 4744
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;