We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kirstenbosch Tea Room Restaurant

Kirstenbosch Drive | Rhodes Drive, Newlands, Cape Town Central 7700, South Africa
+27 21 797 4883
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good40%
  • Average12%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (29 reviews)
“salad” (37 reviews)
“shakshuka” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
International, Healthy, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Kirstenbosch Drive | Rhodes Drive, Newlands, Cape Town Central 7700, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

We had lunch here while visiting the Gardens and were so pleasantly surprised! The service was excellent and the staff were so friendly and attentive. The food was delicious and reasonably priced - the cakes need a special mention as they were HUGE (we managed...More

Thank John_monkey007
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As ex-Capetonians when we return for a visit we always come back to the most beautiful Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens for a meal and to walk through the gardens. The Tea Room serves delicious food, good coffee with excellence service in lovely surroundings looking up at...More

Thank sandywrig
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely little retreat to enjoy some tasty morsels and a nice refreshing cold drink! Definitely will be back!

Thank Ian H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not much to say other than give this a try. We stopped for a quick snack and had excellent portions. Service was amazing and price reasonable for a top attraction.

Thank Adam K
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place NEVER disappoints. They get so busy, and yet the staff are always friendly and helpful. Everything on the menu is good. Picnics are also awesome. The biggest question is "walk before or after meal"?

Thank utahiggs
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Tea Room is our favourite sunday lunch destination for the family. Just inside the top entrance of Kirstenbosch, this is a solidly great place. From the egg horse radish sandwichies to the fish and chips to the bobotie, the food is all good. An...More

Thank NATO2012
JacquesPB, General Manager at Kirstenbosch Tea Room Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Your opening sentence is really heart warming, a great compliment that shows our passion and hard work is paying off. Thank you so much.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This very busy place is well set up to deliver some refreshments of any scale. We had a quick bite of some toast and coffees whilst in the garden.

Thank SimplyFred
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Before we visited the beautiful gardens we first sit down here for a late breakfast. We had the healthy breakfast and the panomelette, they were both delicious and a lot, and together with the mango juice it was a very nice meal to start the...More

Thank Jonneke B
JacquesPB, General Manager at Kirstenbosch Tea Room Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are very passionate about our restaurant and great reviews makes it all worth it, thank you so much.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I highly recommend: HOME-MADE ICED ROOIBOS TEA sweetened with apple juice and the Middle Eastern Vegetarian Platter (falafel and hummus were especially good and the 2 warm pitas were delicious). It was plenty of food & drink and service was also top notch. I ended...More

Thank Elizabeth B
JacquesPB, General Manager at Kirstenbosch Tea Room Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We really appreciate your review, thank you so much

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the Kirstenbosch craft market and decided to walk across to the gardens - stopped for coffee and a delicious hot apple cake and coffee - service good - quality and quantity excellent and good value for money - whilst busy did not have...More

Thank Abigail S
Nearby HotelsSee all 113 hotels in Cape Town Central
The Cellars-Hohenort
472 reviews
1.73 km away
The Andros Boutique Hotel
267 reviews
2.62 km away
Vineyard Hotel
1 432 reviews
2.66 km away
Highlands Country House
100 reviews
3.13 km away
Nearby Restaurants
844 reviews
2.63 km away
652 reviews
1.69 km away
The Gardeners Cottage Restaurant & Coffee Shop
165 reviews
3.00 km away
400 reviews
2.82 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden
8 801 reviews
.30 km away
63 reviews
3.33 km away
Platteklip Gorge
122 reviews
3.58 km away
Wynberg Park
17 reviews
2.66 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
21 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from JacquesPB | Property representative |
We are not a Halaal restaurant but we are Halaal friendly. We even have pans marked with a key ring that is only used for our Muslim customers
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$5 - US$15
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
View, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
08:30 - 17:00
08:30 - 17:00
08:30 - 17:00
08:30 - 17:00
08:30 - 17:00
08:30 - 17:00
08:30 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Kirstenbosch Drive | Rhodes Drive, Newlands, Cape Town Central 7700, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 797 4883
  • E-mail
Serving breakfasts, lunch and teas, inspired by the beautiful gardens and her passion for delicious food, Pamela Shippel-Granoth has created a rare culinary experience to complement the magnificent surroundings. Using only the best,freshest ingredients. All the food is prepared and breads and cakes baked on the premises under Pamela's carewful supervision.The comprehensive menu includes food for all tastes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Looking for a great restaurant?
Our global travel community is ready to help.
Join TripAdvisor