We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Reuben's

Dock Road | One&Only Cape Town, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 431 5800
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good23%
  • Average15%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“reuben” (27 reviews)
“pork belly” (16 reviews)
“oysters” (11 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RRRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Dock Road | One&Only Cape Town, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We have eaten here a number of times before, but our latest visit will be our last. My partner ordered a simple pizza, which could not have been any less appetising when it arrived. I had a steak, no mention of garlic being used to...More

Thank Paul_H_Ldn
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We ate here on recommendation from a friend and it did not disappoint. Very extensive menu with lots of choice. Reasonably priced. Beautiful surroundings and great wine menu also. The waitress who took care of us was excellent also. Would def recommend.

Thank Loh4
Patrick_Fisher01, Director of Food & Beverage at Reuben's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Loh4, Thank you for your fantastic review of Reuben's at One&Only Cape Town. We are absolutely thrilled about your experience with us! Looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Patrick Fisher- Director of Food & Beverage.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We are big fans of O and O, having visited their hotels in a number of places so were delighted when local friends in Cape Town suggested we have dinner there. We had an excellent evening talking and drinking with them, despite everything Reubens did...More

Thank CGALondon_England
Patrick_Fisher01, Director of Food & Beverage at Reuben's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear CGALondon_England, Thank you for your feedback. I am extremely disappointed to read that we failed to deliver an exceptional experience and I assure you that this is not the usual standard we strive to deliver at Reuben's. We have addressed this internally and would...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I recently had the pleasure of hosting 16 guests at Ruebens restaurant at the Cape Town Waterfront. The spacious restaurant has a stunning setting and is beautifully appointed. I love their “wall of wine” as you enter the restaurant. Attentive service and an excellent set...More

Thank Tessa E
Patrick_Fisher01, Director of Food & Beverage at Reuben's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Tessa E, Thank you for your lovely review of Reuben's at One&Only Cape Town, we are thrilled you enjoyed our menu and the service. Looking forward to another visit from you! Kind regards, Patrick Fisher -Director of Food & Beverage

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were just blown away by the service and attention to detail at Reubens. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and went the extra mile in ensuring that we had a wonderful evening. From the scented hot towels to wipe hands when we got there to...More

Thank 661JanetG
Patrick_Fisher01, Director of Food & Beverage at Reuben's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear 661JanetG, Thank you for your gracious comments shared on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful time in Reuben’s and all our offerings. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Patrick Fisher – Director Food & Beverage

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place for a buffet breakfast or a la carte in great surroundings - especially if you can sit outside with very friendly staff.More

Thank davidehkg
Patrick_Fisher01, Director of Food & Beverage at Reuben's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Davidehkg, Thank you for joining us for breakfast, we are delighted to receive your wonderful comments about the breakfast buffet. I will be sure to thank my colleagues for their impeccable service. We look forward to having you back soon. Kind regards, Patrick Fisher...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This place is fantastic. My wife and I came here during our honeymoon stop in Capetown and were blown away by the service and the food. The manager Emmanuel, went above and beyond in his service even having the bartender learn how to make the...More

1  Thank Gerard A
PFisher_01, Manager at Reuben's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Gerard A, Congratulations and thank you for celebrating your honeymoon at Reuben's. I will be sure to thank my team for looking after you, in particular Emmanuel for his part in making it such a memorable occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed 14 January 2018

We went for a birthday celebration. I think most of the staff must have had the night off. My starter was served which was filled pasta - it was cold and the pasta wasn’t cooked. It was returned to the kitchen. The main course -...More

Thank maklakey
PFisher_01, Manager at Reuben's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear maklakey, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent visit to Reuben's. I am very sorry that we let ourselves down with service. We have addressed this our culinary team and we hope you will see some positive changes...More

Reviewed 9 January 2018

Treated my wife for her 50th birthday and every aspect exceeded our expectations. The attention to detail, waiters being attentive yet in the background, chef afterwards congratulating my wife and needless to say the quality of the food all made for a memorable evening. The...More

Thank archi007
Patrick_Fisher01, Manager at Reuben's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Archi007, Thank you for taking a moment to leave us such a wonderful review. It is heartwarming to know that our team went above and beyond to ensure that the occasion with us was an impeccable one. On behalf of my team, it would...More

Reviewed 9 January 2018

My lunch at Reuben's this past week was magical. I love how this spot has remained relevant when so many "celebrity" chefs have lost their ways. The cooking was simple, modern, relevant and consistent throughout the courses. Having not tried this menu before, I was...More

Thank DinnerWithAubs
Patrick_Fisher01, Manager at Reuben's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear DinnerwithAubs, Thank you for visiting Reuben's Cape Town. I am delighted that we managed to exceed all your expectations and I will personally thank Aubrey, Luvo and Musa for making your stay even more magical. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon....More

PreviousNext
12345642
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 112 hotels in Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town
1 734 reviews
.02 km away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
1 087 reviews
.17 km away
The Commodore
1 380 reviews
.30 km away
Sugar Hotel & Spa
376 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Market on the Wharf
552 reviews
.37 km away
Dash Restaurant & Bar
573 reviews
.35 km away
Nobu
758 reviews
.04 km away
Signal Restaurant Waterfront
499 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
Two Oceans Aquarium
4 236 reviews
.13 km away
The Springbok Experience
463 reviews
.42 km away
The Cape Wheel
779 reviews
.45 km away
Nobel Square
304 reviews
.51 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Leandri G
5 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Arvind_Meera | Reviewed this property |
Hi you need to contact the hotel directly.
0
Votes
Debra K
8 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Richard_Lyon_01 | Property representative |
Good day Debra K, Thank you for your question! The dress code for Reuben's at One&Only Cape Town is smart casual. Do let us know if we can assist you to make a reservation. You are welcome to contact us to make your... More
0
Votes
Debra K
8 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Richard_Lyon_01 | Property representative |
Dear Debra K, The dress code in Reuben's is smart casual. Do let us know if we can asisst with making a reservation! Warm regards, Madeleen van Lill Training and Quality Assurance Manager
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Valet Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dock Road | One&Only Cape Town, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 431 5800
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing