We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nobu

Dock Road | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town 8001, South Africa
+27 21 431 4511
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good23%
  • Average15%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“black cod” (34 reviews)
“sashimi” (40 reviews)
“bento box” (12 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RRRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Dock Road | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Visited here on the first night of my honeymoon with the Mrs. To set the context of our visit we had just come off an 18 hour trip from Dublin and sunk a couple of beers in the sun after arriving plus a bottle of...More

Thank randomtraveller22
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just had a fantastic meal at Nobu CT. our server Mtheto was second to none, absolutely fantastic and very helpful. We’ll be back. Enjoyed ourselves very much. Now been to 6 Nobu’s and this is top 2 for me.

Thank samsell
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff and the food. That’s all you really need to know before going to this place! We had a variant on the 7 course menu and left delighted, giddy from the flavours and full. My partner called these guys the “sauce kings”. Really really...More

Thank spannavision
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As first timers to Nobu and on studying the extensive menu, we were unsure of the 'form' but on notifying our waitress Karen, she took us on a culinary journey through the menu. Each dish was a variety of wonderful flavours. Included in our list...More

Thank dgordsmith
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What we eat is unclear. Not fully Japanese but not Japanese for foreigners. Something in the air not really striking but not unpleasant Waiters are very very nice and kind It’s a lot a money for a misty experience However it’s worth to try

Thank Albertcorcos
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well you can not say this is average we had the taster menu and wow the food was outstanding. The staff where world class. Although expensive this restaurant is a must.

Thank Go4goldhappy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food was delicious but after having a 3 course meal we are still hungry!!! the portions are far too small considering the heft price you payMore

Thank vumaas
Carl_HeinzHabel, General Manager at Nobu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear vumaas, Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent experience at Nobu Cape Town. I appreciate your comments about the food and I am sorry that your expectations were not met. I hope to see you again to make sure that you have...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nobu's reputation precedes them so expectations were high and we were not disappointed. Excellent food (hint: leave room for desert...), very friendly service and generally a warm atmosphere made it the perfect spot to celebrate a birthday.More

Thank Heidi F
Carl_HeinzHabel, General Manager at Nobu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Heidi F, Thank you for your review following your visit at Nobu One&Only Cape town. I am thrilled to read that you had such a memorable time with us. We cannot wait to have you back for more memories. Sincerely, Carl Heinz Habel -...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant truly lives up to the Nobu name. Located in the beautiful One and Only hotel, the restaurant has a superb design and ambience. The staff are very very friendly and very knwoledgable. The menu is excellent and the wine list superb. The food...More

Thank Pingvs1285
Carl_HeinzHabel, General Manager at Nobu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Pingvs1285, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Nobu. Your feedback about the service our team provided is graciously received and I will be sure to thank my colleagues for making your visit such a memorable one. We look forward...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We really enjoyed dinner here, we had the same dishes that we get in London, black cod, pork belly, sushi. I was really surprised at the price, its the cheapest meal we have ever had at a Nobu restaurant.

Thank mackay-7
Carl_HeinzHabel, General Manager at Nobu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear mackay-7, Thank you for your review following your visit at Nobu Cape Town. I am delighted that you had a wonderful time with us. I look forward to have you dine with us again. Sincerely, Carl Heinz Habel – Nobu General Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Dash Restaurant & Bar
558 reviews
.38 km away
Signal Restaurant Waterfront
481 reviews
.35 km away
For the Love of Yummyness
86 reviews
.39 km away
Nearby Attractions
Two Oceans Aquarium
4 054 reviews
.17 km away
The Springbok Experience Rugby Museum
449 reviews
.44 km away
The Cape Wheel
720 reviews
.48 km away
Nobel Square
273 reviews
.39 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Peter H
22 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Donyale M | Reviewed this property |
No dress code but definitely a smart casual atmosphere and as the other reviewer said, best to dress appropriately if you'd like to pop into one of the other bars in the One and Only hotel after dinner. Enjoy!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Valet Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dock Road | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town
  • Phone Number: +27 21 431 4511
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing