We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pepenero Restaurant

RR - RRR
Seafood, Sushi, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
No 1 Two Oceans Beach, Bay Road | Mouille Point, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27 21 439 9027
Today
12:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 265: English reviews
Schattdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

They have seafood and meat so something for everyone. It's a good spot for a quiet afternoon of cocktails and snacks.

Helpful?
Thank Just M
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friends booked a table outside. We arrived a few minutes before them and were shown to a table inside! We confirmed that it was the table booked under their name. Our friends arrived and were seated outside. After sitting for half an hour our friend called my phone to ask how much longer we would be. We discovered that we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gloria R
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I thought this would be a great romantic meal. The waitress could not tell me how many prawns in a portion or how big they were. I ordered from the special menu. When the food arrived ( only minutes after ordering,) I realised that the specials were actually the cheap and nasty. Stay away from the seafood platter. My wife... More 

Helpful?
Thank Djoss
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Don't bother, there's many restaurant around the same place much better. We waited 2 hours for our food, came cold and we couldn't even distinguish if we had fish or chicken and fast was even worth

Helpful?
Thank thomaspP3226KJ
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had anyone else experienced symptoms of food poisoning after eating the prawn special here on 21 December?

Helpful?
Thank Theodora18
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Pepenero, responded to this review

Dear Theodora, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We would appreciate it if you would email the details of your visit to ops@kovecollection.co.za as we would like to address the issues you have raised in your review. Kind regards, Pepenero Management More 

Garden Route, South Africa
Level Contributor
363 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2016

My first time to Pepenero, and I must say I went with great trepidation as I had read so many bad reviews on Tripadvisor. I was pleasantly surprised though. My prawn and asparagus risotto was arguably the best I have ever eaten. Bur there were only 3 very skinny asparagus spears on the plate. Our waiter Johann, was good, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank m0zchick
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Pepenero, responded to this review

Dear m0zchick, Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our Pepenero offering! We strive to create a welcoming environment with well-trained friendly staff who understand the hospitable atmosphere we strive for. We look forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards, Pepenero Management More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016

We visited Pepeneros with friends and it was an enjoyable evening with good food and good company. The staff (Tendai) is friendly and knowledgeable. Wines a bit pricey but the specials are excellent and economical.

Helpful?
Thank Nina V
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Pepenero, responded to this review

Dear Nina V, Thank you for your feedback of your recent visit to Pepenero Restaurant. We strive to create a welcoming environment with well-trained friendly staff who understand the hospitable atmosphere we strive for. We will share your review with Tendai. Hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Pepenero Management More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

We have visited this restaurant many times, and it never disappoints! The food is consistently of good standard. Great food made with tasty and fresh ingredients. The view of the sea is very beautiful and the ambience is good. Perfect position in Mouille Point. The service is also what is expected from a restaurant of this calibre. The menu consists... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kara-Klop
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Pepenero, responded to this review

Hi Kara-Klop, Thank you for your positive review, positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving. We hope to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards, Pepenero Management More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2016

It may have helped that we had great company and the weather was playing along. Everyone's food (except the guy with the steak. The steak was apparently really bad. Not aged properly or similar according to the experts at the table. But Pepenero's ended up not charging him for it) hit the spot. I enjoyed the artwork and have been... More 

Helpful?
Thank madison6011
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Pepenero, responded to this review

Hi Madison6011, Thank you for your positive review, positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving. We hope to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards, Pepenero Management More 

Morrow, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Our tour guide suggested this place for lunch. It was a party of 18. My service was terrible. In my humble opinion, the restaurant was overwhelmed with our group or just didn't care. 1. the orders were wrong 2. With all the problems we had, the manager NEVER approached our table. 3. ***The waiters/waitresses really did try to help, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank bernardt871
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Pepenero, responded to this review

Hi bernardt871 Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We would appreciate it if you would email the details of your visit to ops@kovecollection.co.za as we would like to address the issues you have raised in your review. Kind regards, Pepenero Management More 

Travellers who viewed Pepenero also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Pepenero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3,5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3,5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Seafood, Sushi, Contemporary
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 00:00
Monday
12:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: No 1 Two Oceans Beach, Bay Road | Mouille Point, Cape Town Central, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 439 9027

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pepenero staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?