We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$10 - US$40
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Contemporary
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveller rating
278
86
34
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
278
86
34
17
13
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 26 January 2020 via mobile

The food was delicious, however, the service was absolutely terrible. I have never been to a 5 star that is as terrible as this before. First, our server made a mistake with our sparkling wine. We ordered Graham Beck Brut Zero 2012 which is R1,150...( he recommended us as well because it has a bit of pink tone to it and it’s dry ). However, we were served an ordinary Graham Beck Chardonnay sparkling wine( which is white colour ) . If I didn’t mention to him he would have charged R1,150 for non-vintage one and he gave an excuse saying how he doesn’t have Brut Zero and it shouldn’t be on the menu, only served at the bar . Is it because we are Japanese ? He thought he could get away with ripping us off by giving us non vintage sparkling wine ? Perhaps he may have thought that we don’t know anything about sparkling wine . Moreover he didn’t explain what type of bread , butter , canapé is until I asked him what it was . Also, he said his manager will go down to the cellar and fetch it but infact when we made a complaint to the manager , he didn’t know about this at all . Also worst part was that , when he was serving the sparkling wine , the wine slipped from his hand and dropped (knocked our side dish when we were having beef Wellington , the label of the brut zero went into our side dish )onto the table and the Brut zero has spilled everywhere on the table . He said “ the label of the sparkling wine made his hand slippery “.......Why does he not even have a white cloth when he serve the sparkling wine ? I thought this is 5 star and should have a basic manner and education to hold a white cloth when you serve it !!!! He didn’t do anything about our table cloth . Usually in Europe , the server will either change our seat or lay a dry white napkins but he didn’t do anything nor report to the manager . The manager came to our table to ask whether our food is okay or not but it seems like he wasn’t even aware of this so we mentioned it . The manager just said he will deduct the crepe suzette , but thats not the point ! We don’t care about the price it’s about the manner ! The manager also should have quickly brought the napkin or change our seat. It is not about deducting the price . What about the drink that was spilt ? We didn't even drink the sparkling wine fully ???? How about that part ???? The food was delicious but because of this event , we lost our appetite. Although they have deducted our dessert , we put tip of R239 which is more than the crepe suzette. Perhaps because we are Japanese , they may have thought that we won’t notice about the sparkling wine . Moreover , we felt like we have been discriminated ! What a such an awful last meal in Capetown.....More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
Johann B, Manager at Lord Nelson Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2020

Dear Ms. Kanazawa, We wish to thank you for sharing your feedback, again we sincerely apologize for any disappointment that occurred during your dinner experience. I have responded to your email as well and will await further feedback for assistance. Best regards, Johann L. Badenhorst...More

Reviewed 11 January 2020

Felt like you were going back in time with the surroundings and architecture. However, quality, service and food was very current and highly recommended. Live pianist provided a calm and relaxed atmosphere. Enjoyed being spoilt and had a lovely evening.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 December 2019 via mobile

My husband took me here for my birthday treat and what a totally fabulous meal and evening. Set in a perfect old fashioned styled dining room with perfectly polished real silver condiments and serving trays and immaculate cutlery. We each choice three courses which were...delicious- I highly recommend the baked Alaska. The staff were attentive and the service perfect. After working as a silver service trained waitress in HRH forces many years ago I truly appreciate good and proper service and this is the best. Thank you for a fabulous birthday meal.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 December 2019

We had a wonderful evening. Drinks on the terrace following by a delicious dinner in the main restaurant, accompanied by a very talented pianist. The food and service were excellent and the setting is very special. Would highly recommend .

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 October 2019

We had a beautiful three course meal at the Lord Nelson in the most stunning of surroundings. The steak tartare, scallops, sea bass and duck were delicious. Tip: the classic choices are the equivalent of a main as I discovered after my tartare arrived! They...had a most amazing pianist performing that made the whole evening that little more special. A special shout out to Kevin who took great care of us. We enjoyed his stories about his experiences of Ireland!More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Johann B, Manager at Lord Nelson Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your beautiful review of our Lord Nelson Restaurant! It truly is a magical experience, we know that Kevin will be delighted to see your feedback. We hope to see you very soon again! Best regards, Johann L. Badenhorst Food and...More

Reviewed 1 October 2019

our booking buddy from safari source recommended the Nelson and we went for the high tea which was exceptional like the old world flair and so much food! Come with an emtpty stomach

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Johann B, Manager at Lord Nelson Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2019

Thank you for your review and we are delighted to see you had such a great time, with abundance on offer. Hope to see you soon again, best wishes Johann

Reviewed 20 August 2019

Quality setting and ambience, food of high quality at reasonable prices. Staff were very efficient and helpful. Highly recommended

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
FandBManagerJB, Manager at Lord Nelson Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2019

Dear Ian, thank you for sharing your dinner experience with us. We hope to welcome you back soon again, maybe for one of our Classical Music evenings. Best regards, Johann

Reviewed 15 August 2019

The location is elegant and ideal for a special occasion. The food is really good and it goes from light starters to main dishes such as duck or fish. The service is perfect and the wine list is huge. The best point is the price:...a menu of 4 course costs 540Rand! Totally honest. Highly recommended!More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
FandBManagerJB, Manager at Lord Nelson Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2019

Dear Guest, we are delighted to read about your great dinner experience. We hope to welcome you back very soon. All the best, Johann

Reviewed 8 August 2019 via mobile

My wife and I went here for her birthday and chose the chef’s table option (located right in the kitchen!) and I could not recommend it more. We had a table right in the kitchen ( there are 5 tables some further back) and it...was a slow night so we were able to watch all the food being cooked and converse T length with the chefs as well as with head chef Rudi. The seven course meal was excellent and featured local ingredients made in very creative styles. Flavors abounded and the presentation was beautiful. See the pics attached. Try it!More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
FandBManagerJB, Manager at Lord Nelson Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2019

Dear Oztat, thank you for choosing our Chef's Table to celebrate a very special birthday! We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and had the opportunity to meet Chef Rudi! Do visit us again on your next trip to Cape Town! Best wishes, Johann

Reviewed 27 July 2019

Great food, but fairly limited choice. The atmosphere and service was excellent . We would recommend booking a table in advance though we were lucky enough to get one without booking.

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
FandBManagerJB, Manager at Lord Nelson Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2019

Dear Shehan, thank you for sharing your review with us and we do hope to welcome you back in the future on your next trip to Cape Town. Best wishes, Johann

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town
2 183 reviews
.08 km away
Lady Hamilton Hotel
359 reviews
.18 km away
Fritz Hotel
324 reviews
.22 km away
Kloof Street Hotel
52 reviews
.30 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Lekker Vegan Cafe
14 reviews
.22 km away
Nelson's Eye
1 421 reviews
.16 km away
Arnold's Restaurant
847 reviews
.19 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Your own photoshoot in Cape Town
44 reviews
.21 km away
Cape Town Holocaust & Genocide Centre
122 reviews
.30 km away
Iziko South African Museum and Planetarium
385 reviews
.45 km away
The Labia
118 reviews
.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Lord Nelson Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lord Nelson Restaurant

Lord Nelson Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5