We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Roundhouse Restaurant

Kloof Road, The Glen | Camps Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
+27 21 438 4347
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good23%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“tasting menu” (50 reviews)
“souffle” (16 reviews)
“pizza” (45 reviews)
Closed
18:00 - 21:30All hours
CUISINES
European, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RRRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Kloof Road, The Glen | Camps Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 665 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Food was good(-ish), surroundings were ok, not a nice view from our table. Service was ok but one of the waitresses dropped a cheese next to us and left it there for the whole evening. Food portions were really small - we were at la...More

Thank Malleze
Reviewed 3 days ago

stunning location and view. only for that the restaurant is worth to go. seeing there the sunset outside while having some of their amazing starters and a drink is definitely amazing. i would define this place with highlighs and lowlights. they need to work on...More

Thank EMTC7913
Reviewed 4 days ago

We went for a last lunch here before returning to the UK. At lunchtime the menu is refreshingly simple and we couldn't resist the fish and chips which were delicious. The location is spectacular too. One not to miss.

Thank Rockybb123
Reviewed 4 days ago

This was a wonderful place for an event or dinner with your group, or family. We had cocktails on a terrace and then all sat under a tent as the sun went down and the lights in the bay came on. Mountains all around. Food...More

Thank Susan Alexander P
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overall we left roundhouse a little disappointed. Excellent service and the desserts were amazing. However my husband and I felt the food was above average at best, when we were unfortunately expecting something much better given the price and reviews. Also we felt the atmosphere...More

Thank Kaitlin S
Roundhouse_Team, Front Office Manager at The Roundhouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that it was not a memorable evening for you. At The Roundhouse we pride ourselves as being able to offer an amazing all round experience. I am...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a work function at the roundhouse, which started with champagne on one of their decks with a great view over the ocean. We had dinner inside the restaurant. Being a function, we had a limited choice of starters and main courses. My food...More

Thank Les P
Roundhouse_Team, Front Office Manager at The Roundhouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We pride ourselves on excellence in all departments, so it is lovely to hear that you had a great time here with us at The Roundhouse. We look forward to seeing you again...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For the past years we had great experiences at Roundhouse. But what happened just recently was a total disaster. Maybe because it was a Sunday... But where to start: we arrived and had a table outside. We sat at our table, which was dirty and...More

Thank AlexTysl
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was at the Roundhouse for a work event years ago so was anxious to go back. We were very pleased with the food and the views are stunning. The first three courses were unnecessarily rushed, but the remainder came at a reasonable pace one...More

Thank MaHoDe
Roundhouse_Team, Front Office Manager at The Roundhouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are always pleased to hear that our guests enjoyed their experience with us here at The Roundhouse. I will pass on your comments about the rushed service and music to the GM. We look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My new wife and I booked at the Roundhouse while on our honeymoon in South Africa. We were informed in advance via email that there were two tasting menu options and no a la carte. I had mentioned that it was our honeymoon. On arrival,...More

1  Thank Paul C
Roundhouse_Team, Front Office Manager at The Roundhouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. we always love hearing that our guests have enjoyed their time with us. We look forward to having you back.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We absolutely loved every moment of our experience at The Roundhouse, from the moment that we were warmly greeted in the parking lot until we left many hours later. The staff were friendly and welcoming, and their attentive service ensured that we felt well looked...More

Thank ChantelFJ
Roundhouse_Team, Front Office Manager at The Roundhouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad to hear you had a great time. We Look forward to seeing you again soon.

PreviousNext
12345667
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 112 hotels in Cape Town Central
Camps Bay Retreat
443 reviews
.52 km away
POD Camps Bay
693 reviews
.78 km away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
491 reviews
.78 km away
The Place on the Bay
333 reviews
.91 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Bungalow
1 118 reviews
.96 km away
Mantra Cafe Campsbay
142 reviews
.97 km away
Cafe Caprice
438 reviews
.94 km away
Mynt Cafe
285 reviews
.91 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cosy Bay Beach
6 reviews
.78 km away
Camp's Bay Beach
2 273 reviews
1.15 km away
Skaris Touring
131 reviews
1.01 km away
Theatre on the Bay
67 reviews
1.44 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
txhjgirl
15 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from andersdyhrtoft | Reviewed this property |
No, go ahead
0
Votes
Google Translation
Christelle A
3 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Roundhouse_Team | Property representative |
Hi There and thank you for your request. You may contact us directly via the Roundhouse website with the details of your reservation. Alternately you may call us directly on: +27214384347. Best regards. The Roundhouse Team;
0
Votes
mariev141
13 July 2015|
Answer
Response from Roundhouse_Team | Property representative |
Dear Marie, We are very pleased to hear you are considering the Roundhouse and Rumbullion as a potential venue. Kindly inbox us your email address as well as the possible dates in order for us to send you our packages... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Tuesday
18:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
18:00 - 21:30
Thursday
18:00 - 21:30
Friday
18:00 - 21:30
Saturday
18:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Kloof Road, The Glen | Camps Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 438 4347
  • E-mail
Description
Steeped in over 300 years of history, the former guard house, tea room, hotel and the hunting lodge of Lord Charles Somerset has been elegantly restored with the charm and sophistication of the Grand Old Cape. The style of cuisine at The Roundhouse is uncomplicated, contemporary French, inspired by seasonal ingredients and paired with one of the finest boutique wine collections in South Africa.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing