We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marco's African Place

15 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 423 5412
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good37%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“ox tongue” (4 reviews)
“game meat” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
African, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
15 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On Friday evening me and my friend visited Marcos. We had the samp and oxtail both lovely!! The music and atmosphere was marvelous. We sang and danced. But the night was nearly ruined in the beginning by the attitude of ALL the staff to the...More

Thank Zakithi M
Bongeka, Guest Relations Manager at Marco's African Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello Zakithi M, we are sorry to hear about your experience. Customer service is a top priority for us. Our corkage policy is that we only allow 2 bottles of wine from outside the establishment. Hope you will give us another try.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went with friends from Sweden. We actually enjoyed it although it is very touristy. The food was disappointing, but the live music definitely made up for everything. We ended up dancing to the cool african tunes!

Thank liesbettebs
Bongeka, Guest Relations Manager at Marco's African Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello liesbettebs, Thank you for writing to us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the live entertainment and we apologies that you did not enjoy your meal. We hope you will give us another try.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were entertained here for dinner and between us all had the day’s specials: croc, springbok and ostrich carpaccio; springbok, croc tail, kudu and impala steaks. All first time for us and all very enjoyable. This is a big space which requires and has good...More

Thank TonyPKL
Bongeka, Guest Relations Manager at Marco's African Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello TonyPKL, Thank you for this wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our traditional cuisine. In the future we will be more than happy to reserve a more secluded table for you and your party. Hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

The owner, Marco is always hands on. The staff is friendly and helpful. You can go the real African way or stay with the normal dishes. The live marimba music and the vibe is great!

Thank Kerstin K
Bongeka, Guest Relations Manager at Marco's African Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Kerstin K, We are so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable evening. Thank you for writing a great review. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 7 November 2017

This is a busy place popular with groups. The staff are friendly but rushed. I thought my meal was not particularly good. I hadnt chosen anything exotic, but the food was heavy. The service was okay, but the staff are very busy and rushed, so...More

Thank Elaine S
Bongeka, Guest Relations Manager at Marco's African Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hello Elaine S, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate all feedback!

Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

We were in Cape Town looking for Cape Malay food. I specifically wanted Bobotie. Marco’s didn’t have it on the menu but we enjoyed their selection. I had oxtail stew and our friends had various game dishes like ostrich, springbok and crocodile. Even better then...More

Thank Suzanne M
Bongeka, Guest Relations Manager at Marco's African Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hello Suzanne M, We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us! We will pass on your compliments to the band.

Reviewed 1 November 2017

We attended on a Saturday evening and had a ball! The food choices were varied and interesting (Ostrich, Impala, African fare, etc), prices reasonable and service attentive. The band was great, the singers captivating and many joined the dancing (which was encouraged)! While there were...More

Thank Denis D
Bongeka, Guest Relations Manager at Marco's African Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hello Denis D, We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time visiting us. Thank you for sharing your photos! Enjoy your travels through SA.

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

We had a reservation for eight o’clock, but there was no table available for us so we had to sit in the bar. After half an hour we were told there would be no table for us, but we could eat at the bar. We...More

Thank _johanmodig
Bongeka, Guest Relations Manager at Marco's African Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hello Johanmodig, We are glad to hear that your meal was satisfactory. We are so sorry to hear of your bad experience and apologise for the way in which your reservation was managed. We have taken steps to ensure that this does not happen again....More

Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

We wanted to go to Mama Africa, but ended up eating at Marko's because Mama was full. But in no way were we deceived! What a great night we had there! Great food (you can try different meats like kudu, impala, springbok, etc) and very...More

Thank Mathieu R
Bongeka, Guest Relations Manager at Marco's African Place, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Hello Mathieu R, We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our food and live entertainment. We will pass on your compliments to our Marimba band. Come back soon!

Reviewed 22 October 2017

We tried the caterpillars, my husband enjoyed them, me not so much, my husband went around and shared these caterpillars with other table, and there just about everyone tried it and most loved it, he was even ask for second by 2 others.

Thank 282Juliette282
Bongeka, Guest Relations Manager at Marco's African Place, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Hello 282Juliette282, We are so glad to hear that your visit with us was well worth it and that you and your husband enjoyed your food adventure.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Savoy Cabbage
1 047 reviews
.16 km away
Africa Cafe
790 reviews
.21 km away
Villa 47
244 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Gold of Africa Museum
68 reviews
.17 km away
Signal Hill Winery
11 reviews
.21 km away
Museum of Gems and Jewellery
5 reviews
.28 km away
Baraka Gifts and Decor
264 reviews
.30 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
janmm52
25 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jean G | Reviewed this property |
would make a booking for the balcony setting, as you have a better view of the band. music is very enjoyable, but don't expect too much of the food or service. booking before 7.30pm should be good. Enjoy your stay in Cape... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
3:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
3:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
3:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 15 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 423 5412
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing