We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Meloncino

| Shop 259, Upper level, Victoria Wharf Shopping Centre, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 419 5558
Website
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (356)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pasta” (122 reviews)
“tiramisu” (14 reviews)
“osso bucco” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Mediterranean, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
| Shop 259, Upper level, Victoria Wharf Shopping Centre, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: Meloncino
1. Amazing service & food
"The pasta and pannacotta were amazing!"
nettiepretorius
See reviews that mention Top restaurant
2. Best view at Waterfront
"Fantastic Italian fare in the heart of the V&A."
Claudette d
See reviews that mention Excellent Italian Food
3. Authentic Italian food
"In our view, this was the best Italian food we have ever had"
T D
See reviews that mention Itsa so good
Write a ReviewReviews (1 219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 857 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We were at Meloncino for the first time about 2 years ago. My wife ordered the Kingklip with tomato sauce and mash potato out of inattention. Kingklip with tomato sauce and mash potato does not work at all, I thought, until I tried. Since then...More

Thank Mario D
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We found this restaurant on recommendation from a family we are traveling with. Excellent choice if you visit the waterfront in Capetown. Beautiful views of the water and Table Mountain from all seats. Staff were very attentive, made us feel comfortable. The pasta dishes we...More

Thank Lisa H
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Lisa H Thank you for the amazing 5 star review. The Team is thrilled to hear you had a lovely time from the food to the service. All our pastas are made fresh on a daily basis and are authentically Italian. Please thank the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife, son and daughter had a very good meal at this wonerfully sited restaurant overlooking the V&A Waterfront cruise quay. The service was very good; the starters great, and the four different pizzas were all well enjoyed, bith thich- and thin base. We have...More

Thank Irvine M
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Irvine M Thank you for joining us on a number of occasions. We really appreciate the support and all the kind words. We will be sure to look into your feedback regarding the grinder. We take on all forms of feedback as it allows...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had pizza's, all very nice and tasty, however our experience was ruined by the lack of interest from our waiter, 3 orders he had to remember and could not. You could see he did not enjoy his job.More

Thank Paula B
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Paula B Thank you for taking the time and writing a review on Trip Advisor. We are so sorry to hear the waiter was not up to standard. This is clearly not our normal standards as you can see from prior reviews. Please can...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great food, and great service. Their cocktails are amazing too! In a great location as well with a beautiful view.

Thank Sightseer65427687574
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sightseer65427687574 Thank you for joining us for dinner and cocktails. We are pleased to hear you loved the cocktails and the team looked after you. We hope to see you in the near future. Kind regards Paolo Carrara Co-owner

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were craving a nice pasta dinner after having been traveling for a couple of weeks already. We actually came across it on trip advisor. I had ravioli and the lady had spaghettoni. I thought it was very very poor and struggled to finish it....More

Thank Inspiration733381
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Inspiration733381 Thank you for joining us and providing feedback based on your experience. We are pleased to hear the service was good and your guest enjoyed her pasta, however, we are terribly sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your ravioli. We make all...More

Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Our first time at Meloncino and pleasantly surprised at how good the food was. The Sicilian fish and Salmon pasta were great choices. Wayne and his team are good hosts.More

Thank Marilet B
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Marilet B Thank you for taking the time and writing a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience and that Wayne looked after you. We hope you are a converted Meloncino fan and we see you soon. Kind regards Paolo Carrara...More

Reviewed 9 October 2018

Each visit was a very pleasant experience. Great views and delicious food(better than in Italy). Will definitely visit them again and again!More

Thank DVenterCPT
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear danielventer84 Just wow! Thank you for the 5 star review and all the kind words. We strive to be as authentic and modern as possible. It was a pleasure hosting you and we cannot wait to see you on your next visit. Kind regards...More

Reviewed 4 October 2018

My husband is not a Pasta fan, but i am, so i had to trick him into Meloncino for supper before a movie. I naturally ordered the Mince bolognaise on el dente pasta which was just like home-made. My husband ordered a meaty pizza, thin...More

Thank Debbie M
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Debbie M Thank you for the lovely review on Trip Advisor. It is so refreshing to hear such kind words on both the food and service. We will be sure to pass on the kind words to all who made your experience memorable. We...More

Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Very nice atmosphere. Hosted by Wayne and assisted by Josh. Service and food very good. Only complaint was Sea food pizza was very sparse on Sea food. Great value for money.More

Thank Laurence B
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear Laurence B Thank you for review and the lovely feedback. We will be sure to pass on the kind words to Josh and Wayne. Thank you for the feedback on the seafood pizza, we will investigate the matter immediately. Thank you once again and...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 114 hotels in Cape Town Central
The Table Bay Hotel
2 680 reviews
.18 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
1 739 reviews
.27 km away
Dock House Boutique Hotel
228 reviews
.28 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
817 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Baia
2 773 reviews
.05 km away
Karibu
2 322 reviews
.02 km away
Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar
3 239 reviews
.06 km away
Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs
969 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
11 499 reviews
.15 km away
The Springbok Experience Rugby Museum
506 reviews
.25 km away
The Cape Wheel
887 reviews
.21 km away
Chavonnes Battery Museum
98 reviews
.34 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Meloncino staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$21
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: | Shop 259, Upper level, Victoria Wharf Shopping Centre, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 419 5558
  • E-mail
Description
Meloncino – Ristorante, Bar, Pizzeria Italiano. Experience authentic Italian cuisine in Cape Town. Meloncino Restaurant opened at the V&A Waterfront, bringing a genuine Italian flavour to our shores. The modern and stylish decor creates an eclectic European vibe where one can sip cocktails and snack on canapes, nuts and olives. As someone suggested, “Close your eyes and you could be in Rome.” Open your eyes and you face the magnificent Table Mountain, as seen from the comfort of one of Meloncino’s white sofas. Expect home-made pasta with authentic Italian sauces, steaks and seafood from their charcoal grill, traditional wood-fired pizza and an extensive menu to choose from. In order to stay faithful to the original, various ingredients like cheese, coffee and wine are imported from Italy. Buon appetito!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing