We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Haiku

Is this your business?
58 Burg Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 424 7000
Website
Share
Save
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (129)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good28%
  • Average10%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“peking duck” (34 reviews)
“dim sum” (75 reviews)
“sizzling beef” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Thai, Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
58 Burg Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been many times to this restaurant always been very happy with the food, service and ambiance. However tonight not quite sure what happened, waited for a long time for menus and service. Eventually a waiter came rushed and trying chasing the bill up...More

Thank sylviane v
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Hello Sylviane, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not up to standard. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Kindly send us an email to feedback@Bukhara.com. We hope to...More

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Looked for something to eat and found a place of indulgence! Haiku is pan-Asian with fresh Shasimi and Sushi, Dim Sum of highest quality and food as crispy duck from a different universe. Together with a knowledgeable great service (Amanda is great), it is may...More

Thank wallmaker
Management response:Responded 23 January 2018

Hi there wallmaker, Thank you so much for your lovely review and recommendation of our Haiku CPT. We look forward to providing you with the best dining experience, again soon. Kind regards, Haiku

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve been dying to try this restaurant for months, and it did NOT disappoint. The vibe is akin to sexy, ‘down town’ sushi restaurants in London. The dim sum was absolutely phenomenal though! Better than we’ve had in London. Great service! We will definitely be...More

Thank Cara K
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Hi there Cara, Thank you for your lovely review. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed it and hope to have you visit us again, soon. Kind regards, Haiku

Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Overall brilliant. The starters: prawn toast, bau and the salmon belly were all stars in their own right! Leaving us wanting more, and when we had mains it was not a disappointment. Epic food. Authentic flavors. Well done. We will be back.

1  Thank Eli U
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Hi there Eli, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed an authentic Asian experience with us. We hope to have you visit us again, soon. Kind regards, Haiku

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

After not being here for a couple of years it was awesome to see the standards have not dropped. The place needs a little TLC but the food is still divine! Sushi tuna crunch hand roll, salmon sashimi, dim sum, hot sour soup, sizzling beef,...More

Thank ErikaMcC
Management response:Responded 9 April 2018

Hi Erika, Thank you for sending your constructive feedback of our Haiku CPT. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and our service. We do hope to serve you again, soon. Kind regards, Haiku

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We have been going to Haiku since it opened, some 13 years ago or thereabouts. Service and friendliness of staff are excellent. The food is sublime. The decor of the restaurant is a bit tired, a face lift would be welcome, but in the end...More

Thank inner-beauty
Management response:Responded 9 April 2018

Dear Valued Customer,, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and providing us with constructive feedback. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed it. We hope to have you visit us again, soon. Kind regards, Haiku

Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Haiku was one of those places, I’d always drag my friends to or recommend it to people wanting some great Asian food. I’d also occasionally go on dates with my boyfriend and we both agreed that after 2 years of going there consistently that the...More

Thank meganf282
Management response:Responded 28 March 2018

Hi there meganf282, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are terribly sorry to hear that your experience was not up to our usual standard. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Kindly send us an email with...More

Reviewed 15 March 2018

Cape Town has great food. This is probably one of the reasons I was so disappointed with Haiku. We went there after it being recommended but left VERY disappointed. We opted for the tasting menu . The first two courses were Ok but bland and...More

Thank traveller973
Management response:Responded 20 March 2018

Dear traveller973, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are terribly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Kindly send us an email to feedback@Bukhara.com. We...More

Reviewed 10 March 2018

We had a lovely evening at the Haiku. The food was truly delightful and wonderful. The only problem we had was that our group was suffering from a virus the last days, so all of us were not really hungry and the tasting menu is...More

Thank Energyseeker
Management response:Responded 13 March 2018

Hi there Energyseeker, Thank you for taking the time to share yours and your groups experience. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful time with us. We hope to have you visit us again, soon. Kind regards, Haiku

Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

I remembered Haiku as a great restaurant with amazing Asian food and was not disappointed! Returned and had a small Asian food buffet between the 3 of us and was not disappointed with the starter and mains. Lamb dim sum and crispy beef mains were...More

Thank Carinna M
Management response:Responded 13 March 2018

Hello Carinna, Thank you for taking the time to review Haiku Cape Town. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed an authentic Asian experience with us. We hope to have you visit us again, soon. Kind regards, Haiku

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 113 hotels in Cape Town Central
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
1 115 reviews
.04 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
890 reviews
.10 km away
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
100 reviews
.13 km away
Taj Cape Town
1 925 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Addis in Cape Ethiopian Restaurant
703 reviews
.10 km away
Bombay Brasserie
452 reviews
.14 km away
The Food Lover's Market
98 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stobers Tours - Day Tours
9 reviews
.10 km away
St. George's Cathedral
228 reviews
.08 km away
Iziko Slave Lodge
317 reviews
.16 km away
Greenmarket Square
1 147 reviews
.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Haiku staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$30
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 58 Burg Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 424 7000
  • E-mail
Description
The Haiku concept is exotic Asian cuisine. Chinese dim sum, wok and barbeque; Japanese robata grills and sushi, served tapas-style, are some of the dishes to be shared and enjoyed in a stylish setting.DescriptionThe Haiku concept is exotic Asian cuisine. Chinese dim sum, wok and barbeque; Japanese robata grill and sushi, served tapas-style, are some of the dishes to be shared and enjoyed in a stylish setting.The restaurant interior features a state-of-the-art open kitchen where diners can watch food being artfully prepared by a group of talented, professional chefs. The restaurant exudes trendy sophistication, with walls and floors of beautifully polished granite.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;