We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Haiku

58 Burg Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 424 7000
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good27%
  • Average10%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“peking duck” (34 reviews)
“dim sum” (74 reviews)
“sizzling beef” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Thai, Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
58 Burg Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 413 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

Great service and AMAZING food - Asian tapas , sushi, Korean,Japanese absolutely kicks Nobus butt and for a quarter or less of The price- if in cape town a must

Thank Chris C
Reviewed 4 days ago

The most amazing waitress served our table. We had an international VIP guest at our table, and she went out of her way to provide the best service. She made her own selection from the menu and served various different courses for the table to...More

1  Thank Rinette187870
Reviewed 1 week ago

I used to love coming here every time I am in CT, however I was shocked by what I experienced . The food was ok, the service was questionable( not even sure if the waitron was high) very incoherent, place was 15% full, and the...More

Thank OzM32
Reviewed 1 week ago

Thought I was going to the old Haiku I remembered. Dirty, very average service. Food was just okay... Not bad. I really hope that the V and A store is what the Burg Street branch use to be in the good old days. 20 percent...More

Thank Shane C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was really looking forward to going to Haiku to try the calamari after reading the reviews but sadly it had run out by the evening sitting, which was very disappointing. The waiter was helpful in make suggestions as an alternative but I thought some...More

Thank Rebecca M
Management response:Responded 6 days ago

Hi Rebecca M, Thank you for your wonderful review. We do apologise that some items were out of stock but, are delighted to know that you enjoyed both the food and service! We do hope to serve you again, soon. Kind regards, Haiku

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the place for dim sum. Deliciously tasty; we were sorry that we did not stick to dim sum only. The Peking Duck was a let down - dry and insufficient sauce. Chicken dish and beef fillet not worth leaving home for. Annoying matre...More

Thank Selena G
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Hi Selena, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry to see that you didn't fully enjoy your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Kindly send us an email with a copy of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food is great, the design great, service fantastic but PLEASE spent time and develop a hand-select playlist or chillout lounge for background music that compliment the setting. Apart form this we could not fault the experience.

Thank CapeTownTravelafrica
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Hi there CapeTownTravelafrica, Thank you for taking the time to send your constructive feedback. We do appreciate it. If you would like to discuss this further. Kindly send us an email to feedback@Bukhara.com with a copy of your review. Kind regards, Haiku

Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

The food was good but overpriced. Maybe worth a second visit if food was the only criteria and budget not an issue. However the place is dirty and the service poor. The squashed cockroach on the first menu opened set the tone. The second menu...More

Thank Docd869
Management response:Responded 29 June 2018

Hi there Docd869, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are terribly sorry to read about your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Kindly send us an email to feedback@Bukhara.com. We hope to hear...More

Reviewed 13 June 2018

Central Cape Town charming restaurant next to atmospheric art galleries, street markets, boutiques and antique shops. Parking tricky but you can be lucky outside front door Calamari sensational

Thank davidtE8977PY
Management response:Responded 19 June 2018

Hi there davidtE8977PY, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed it. We hope to have you visit us again, soon. Kind regards, Haiku

Reviewed 12 May 2018

We have been many times to this restaurant always been very happy with the food, service and ambiance. However tonight not quite sure what happened, waited for a long time for menus and service. Eventually a waiter came rushed and trying chasing the bill up...More

Thank sylviane v
Management response:Responded 17 May 2018

Hello Sylviane, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not up to standard. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Kindly send us an email to feedback@Bukhara.com. We hope to...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 114 hotels in Cape Town Central
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
1 129 reviews
.04 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
909 reviews
.10 km away
Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel
360 reviews
.13 km away
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
130 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Addis in Cape Ethiopian Restaurant
722 reviews
.10 km away
Bombay Brasserie
464 reviews
.14 km away
The Food Lover's Market
100 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stobers Tours - Day Tours
11 reviews
.10 km away
St. George's Cathedral
242 reviews
.08 km away
Iziko Slave Lodge
334 reviews
.16 km away
Greenmarket Square
1 164 reviews
.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Haiku staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$30
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 58 Burg Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 424 7000
  • E-mail
Description
The Haiku concept is exotic Asian cuisine. Chinese dim sum, wok and barbeque; Japanese robata grills and sushi, served tapas-style, are some of the dishes to be shared and enjoyed in a stylish setting.DescriptionThe Haiku concept is exotic Asian cuisine. Chinese dim sum, wok and barbeque; Japanese robata grill and sushi, served tapas-style, are some of the dishes to be shared and enjoyed in a stylish setting.The restaurant interior features a state-of-the-art open kitchen where diners can watch food being artfully prepared by a group of talented, professional chefs. The restaurant exudes trendy sophistication, with walls and floors of beautifully polished granite.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing