We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Welcome to Blowfish, where we love to share our love of the good life with you. Admire the views of the Atlantic Ocean and Table Mountain from our spectacular seaside setting where our crisp, contemporary décor and magnificent floor-to-ceiling windows greet you.
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Seafood, Sushi, Healthy
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (732)
Filter reviews
664 results
Traveller rating
271
189
77
54
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
271
189
77
54
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sushi seafood platter steak dolphin beach hotel table mountain our waiter bloubergstrand specials
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The restaurant is in dire need for a make-over, it has had the same decor for many years and the ceilings and floors appear very dirty. The service was confusing with different waiters attending to the table over the course of the evening. My steak,...ordered as medium was overdone, cold and dry. The other guests had prawns which were old, dry and bland and everybody's chips were oily and soggy. We waited a long time for dessert which was ice cream? Garnishing of the dishes was non-existent. The sushi bar which was always a hub of activity only made sushi on order. The restaurant has so much potential with a five-star view and setting but needs a serious wake-up call in regards to a manager(never seen), suitably trained chef, staff etc. It was a big disappointed.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Singer Group, Marketing at Blowfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi @Karinonherway, thanks for bringing this to our attention, please would you get in touch with marc@blowfishrestaurant.co.za. we would love to get a bit more info if possible and provide you with some positive feedback. kindest Team BF

Reviewed 19 April 2024 via mobile

Average service and average food, dinner was a disappointment. She has the fish and chips. Nothing was fresh, and it was quite oily. He had some sushi, the panco prawn was not freshly made, and was dry and hard.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Singer Group, Marketing at Blowfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi @Hepple, thank you for your feedback and apologies for you experience, we will certainly look into the cause for your dissatisfaction, as you can imagine all our meals are prepared freshly and so we will definitely look at what might have been the cause...More

Reviewed 22 March 2024

Extremely disappointing experience, Sushi was great but the pank prawns was tasteless and cold, the mains we ordered 1 x duo platter and single platter...the prawns were cold and very under seasoned, the chips was cold.. the sauces were cold , left us very disappointed,...as we had family from Dubai.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Singer Group, Marketing at Blowfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi There Mobile33585643373 we are sorry to hear of your experience while dining with us and thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. we will absolutely be getting into what the cause might be for the meals being served cold. this is absolutely...More

Reviewed 22 January 2024

We love this restaurant. The outlook is beautiful and it has a good atmosphere. However it really let us down last night. We took our friends there after telling them what a great restaurant it was.. They ordered the panko prawns to start. Dried out...and overcooked. We sent them back, but got equally drued out prawns, second time round. They were inedible. My husband and friend went to the sushi belt....it was empty, despite the advert telling us on Sundays the sushi was 50% off....no sushi on the belt. They waited, then gave up. The mains...the risotto was stodgy, the seared tuna too thick. My fish and chips was good....and my husbands ceviche was excellent. They did not charge for the panko prawns, but that did not help our disappointment in the evening. Come on Blowfish, you are better than that!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Singer Group, Marketing at Blowfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2024

Hi @Shireencorgi, thank you for your feedback. We have addressed your concerns outlined here with the kitchen and i am sure we will not be seeing these issues again, unfortunately the sushi bar was just abnormally busier than usual from the moment it opened and...More

Reviewed 31 December 2023 via mobile

The long awaited release of the Steve and Autumn restaurant is finally here and the wait was worth it . Great decor amazing bar great food service and complex menu . Cocktails were good and the food service was fast . Good choices and all...well prepared Good section of wines from all over and in particular Victorian Pinot Noir from Birchwood lane . Still not quite up to MooMoo yet. It eastly days Great job on fitout tough night due to weather My score 9 out or tenMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2023

What a shame! This restaurant has superb views and delicious food but management don'k know when to close the windows/doors or switch the air conditioning off. In November, it is Spring in Cape Town and once the sun sets the temperature drops sharply. On 2...out of the 3 occasions that we ate there, we were too COLD to enjoy our deserts.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Singer Group, Marketing at Blowfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2024

Hi @PaulJH55 we will always endeavour to keep every guest happy with food, service and ambiance. we will certainly have a look at the heating/ cooling. please if you could get hold of marc@blowfishrestaurant.co.za so we could get a bit more info (where were you...More

Reviewed 3 November 2023 via mobile

Fantastic food. Great view. Horrible service. The waitress was not up to standard and the manager didn't rectify the situation after we complained. Absolutely ruined the dinner.

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Singer Group, Marketing at Blowfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2024

Hi @Lynn0416, please get in touch with marc@blowfishrestaurant.co.za so we can ascertain what you were not happy with and see how we can rectify the situation. Kindest Team BF

Reviewed 1 November 2023 via mobile

The location and view are incredible and won't disappoint! The food is average, and I had the worst steak I've had in my life. Every dish we had was mediocre and nothing you'd crave again. The service is ridiculous. There are so many people serving...you, and it becomes hectic. Like bees buzzing around you all the time. We were having business discussions and kept getting interrupted with stupid questions. The staff don't know how to read the table. How many times do you need to interrupt conversations to ask if you can remove an empty plate or glass??More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Singer Group, Marketing at Blowfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2024

Hi @DesertLeo. I am, so sorry to hear of your experience while dining here at Blowfish. We will most certainly be looking into the steak situation. For a predominantly seafood restaurant we do sell A considerably large volume of steaks and for the most part...More

Reviewed 19 September 2023

There was 3 of us here for a sushi lunch. I opted for the seafood platter . It contained muscles, prawns, hake, calamari, rice, fries and still water. All for R155.00 which is exceptional value. We were sat at a table by the window overlooking...the bay with table mountain in the background. Everything here was wonderful, the food, the ambience the view, and all ably served by Trish, who really made our welcome the perfect lunch. In addition the bathroom was spotless. Cannot speak highly enough about BlowfishMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Singer Group, Marketing at Blowfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2023

Love it, love it, love it. Thanks you so much for your great review @Comfortablynumb133. Dont be a stranger now we hope to see you back whenever you are in the hood. Team BF

Reviewed 19 June 2023

Unfortunately was let down by numerous items that were out of stock, despite knowing they would be fully booked for Fathers Day. Food was not bad, but not all that great either. Cocktails were very good. We had not been to the restaurant for about...5 years due to previous bad experiences, and will maybe consider going back again in about another 5 years time … or not.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2023

Worst experience ever. Was looking forward to the lunch food was way below standard the Manager on duty was unprofessional and very defensive. The only good thing was Sam our waiter. Will never recommend nor return.

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 April 2023

We were a group of 21 taken by a tour guide for evening meal at the end of our trip. We were sat on two tables, whereby our table was basically ignored. Arriving at 6.30pm we were not served mains until 8.30 - mine then...came in 3 parts with me having to chase each bit. It was brought without any apology by a sullen girl who just walked away. (I had the fish selection with sauces). One fellow diner had issues with raw tuna being served. Desert was then not brought until 9.30pm when we were told there was no vanilla ice cream, so ordered full deserts only for them to come with vanilla ice cream on the side!!!! Our group left at 9.45 without having had any coffess as we were all disgusted. The restaurant had not been unduly busy and there seemed to be adequate staff on so what the problem was I don't know but we won't be going back!More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Singer Group, Marketing at Blowfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2023

@Thecatsmum4, I am so sorry to hear of your experience and would love to get in touch for a bit more info if possible and hopefully provide you with some constructive feedback. Please could you contact marc@blowfishrestaurant.co.za we would love to chat to you. kindest...More

Reviewed 17 April 2023

Food, especially sushi was amazing. We were there during loadshedding, The restaurant was extremely dark with only a few candles. Please invest in a few rechargable lightning options. Service was not fantastic.

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Singer Group, Marketing at Blowfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2023

Hi Shweet, thank you for the kind words on our meals and I am happy to let you know we have got a bunch of rechargeable lights that came in. hope to see you soon Team BF

Reviewed 9 April 2023 via mobile

While at Dolphin Beach Hotel, had a couple of meals from the Blowfish Restaurant. The meals were nice. Staff were friendly and receptive. Has a great view and makes you want ro come back.

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2023 via mobile

I booked for my wifes Birthday, biggest mistake. I booked a quiet table next to the window with a view. I gave us a noisy table right in the middle of the restaurant. Thereafter after i provided my wifes name twice they still didnt even...have it on the dessert plate. No ambience or personality in this restaurant. One of my worst experiences ever, especially for a special eventMore

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Singer Group Hotels, Marketing at Blowfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2023

Hi @Rodger N. I was sorry to hear of your experience and would love to get in touch for some more info/context and hopefully provide you with some feedback. hopefully we will be able to get you back inhouse and turn this situation around. please...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Dolphin Beach Hotel
308 reviews
.01 km away
Myoli Accommodation
22 reviews
.30 km away
Aquarius Luxury Suites
446 reviews
.87 km away
Sea Breeze Bloubergstrand
34 reviews
1.02 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Homespun
507 reviews
1.04 km away
The Indian Chapter Restaurant
614 reviews
1.03 km away
News Cafe - Table View
178 reviews
.99 km away
Jerry's Burger Bar
204 reviews
.83 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
SANCCOB Seabird Rehabilitation Centre
58 reviews
1.01 km away
Learn 2 Windsurf - Windsurfing in Cape Town
6 reviews
1.39 km away
Board House Beach Bar
5 reviews
1.14 km away
Cape with Pim
10 reviews
.42 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Zamikhaya M
25 November 2021|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from david o | Reviewed this property |
Definitely YES. Ask for a table by the window. Fantastic place
0
Votes
khusfeld
27 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Kyle D | Property representative |
Hi Khusfeld Thanks for getting in touch. It depends entirely on how much you'd like to eat, as well as whether you prefer more Traditional Sushi or if you wish to indulge in Blowfish's Signature Sushi. Please have a look... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

Blowfish Restaurant, Cape Town Central - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Blowfish Restaurant

Yes, Blowfish Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Blowfish Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4