We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
African
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (1 444)
Filter reviews
1 011 results
Traveller rating
504
325
98
45
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
504
325
98
45
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak skewers mixed grill game meat bobotie carpaccio ribs ice cream chicken salad fries cooked to perfection greek fisherman our waiter wine list table mountain south africa
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

I'm honeslty disappointed at the frozen and reheated food and stale steak my family had. The excuses are appalling to say the least. The meat smelt expired and not matured and the oxtail was frozen and thawed and reheated with the meat not even being...near the bone. I should have just stayed at home, saved my money and cooked a way better meal than this. What a terrible birthday lunch.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 26 May 2021 via mobile

We so happy for the best service we had with city grill Beaty recommendations of wagusteak .hoping to book next time with our friends best steak best extra ordinary service from the beautiful waitress Andy thanks thanks Andy

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Voyage68107222730, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2021

Hello Federico - thank you for your great review! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 10 May 2021

We were a group of 10 that visited City Grill on 8 May 2021. Food was generally good. However when the bill came, I had a quick check but in the dim light and under the impression that everything should be accurate with such an...upmarket restaurant, I added a 10% service fee. I missed the fact that a 10% service fee was already included. Although it is normally common practice to include a service fee for bigger groups, I am of the opinion that this should be pointed out when the bill is delivered. I discovered the "double" service fee which I have paid only the next morning. I felt cheated.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Voyage68107222730, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Dear sir, you are 100% correct. The 10% gratuity should have been brought to your attention the moment the bill was placed in front of you. Please accept our most humble apologies for the error. We will return the extra 10% back to you with...More

Reviewed 17 April 2021

We had a suprise dinner for my partner April 9. What an evening. Thank you Corina and staff for helping me out with the arrangements. The food and the environment was lovely

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Voyage68107222730, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2021

Thank you so much for your positive feedback Sindy! We are glad to have been apart of your special evening and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 10 April 2021 via mobile

The City Grill made our weekend wonderful. Just after a refreshing hike with a beautiful orange sunset, Rob and I felt like a good steak for dinner. The moment I saw The City Grill on the entertainer, I made an announcement to my housemates and...dressed up all excited for a beautiful evening at the Waterfront right next to a reflection of lights and a view of boats on the water. As we got there, Shaun, such a friendly manager welcomed us and Brian, such a great waiter - so quick and kind, served us. I honestly can’t express how happy Rob and I felt with the service, the food, the stunning view and the positive vibe. My review on the wonderful food. 1. The BBQ sauce was a sauce to remember. 2. The steak was most definitely cooked to perfection. 3. The mash was my favourite choice! So tasty with a delicious tomato relish sauce. 4. Rob ordered the wedges for his choice of sides. They were crisp and delish. 5. The service was professional, quick and we were well attended to. I only write a review when an experience really made an impression on me. This is why I need to share. City Grill gives you great value for a good price, in Cape Town of course, and a beautiful environment with wonderful people. Thank you Shaun, Brian, and the chef. Thank you City Grill!More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Voyage68107222730, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2021

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so grateful that you took the time to write this and we are so thankful that you had such a great experience with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 28 March 2021 via mobile

Me and my friends visited this restaurant on Friday night and we had an awesome time. Good food, good wine, and a beautiful view. We were served by Primrose who gave us fantastic service and made our visit an absolute pleasure. We can definitely recommend...the Haloumi cheese starter, the vegetarian platter, and the Wagyu burger (which I had on a previous visit)More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
Voyage68107222730, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2021

Thank you for your lovely feedback! We will be sure to congratulate Primrose on this. We appreciate you taking the time to review us and we hope to host you again soon!

Reviewed 8 March 2021 via mobile

We are regulars to visit CIty Grill and have always been impressed with the food and atmosphere. Tried almost everything on the menu and never dissapointed. But our last visit on Saturday we had a table outside to enjoy the cooler weather, and noticed it...was very dirty. The floor and glass panels. I dont know who needs to attend to this, restaurant or Waterfront?? They must just please check that the seating area are kept clean. It is a very nice upmarket place and would like to keep on visiting.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Voyage68107222730, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2021

Good Morning Yolanda, thank you for your review. We would have so appreciated you having approached us first but we thank you so much for pointing this out, we have already sorted it and assure you that we will keep a keen eye. We look...More

Reviewed 18 January 2021

It was such a lovely experience, both the view and food is was good! The staff is helpful, friendly and goes the extra mile to make sure Covid-19 protocols are met.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Voyage68107222730, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2021

Thank you for the lovely feedback! We hope you feel safe and comfortable dining with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Reviewed 21 December 2020

It’s always a nice experience, both the view and food is good the staff is helpful and friendly and goes the extra mile.

Review collected in partnership with The Entertainer
Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Voyage68107222730, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2021

Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope to host you again soon!

Reviewed 15 December 2020 via mobile

Uninterested staff. Free tiny pieces of corn bread, hard and dry. Strawberry daiquiri was good. We ordered vegetable soup. It was sour and had the impression it was off. Next was the springbok loin for R299. It came in thin slices with a sweet sauce...that doesn’t match. Way overcooked, tough and dry. Is this a steak house? Sh...y grill is the name. Stay away, waste of money. They should be ashamed.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Table Bay
3 106 reviews
.22 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
1 947 reviews
.23 km away
Dock House Boutique Hotel
266 reviews
.24 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
928 reviews
.27 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Mozambik V & A Waterfront
332 reviews
.02 km away
Karibu Restaurant
3 498 reviews
.03 km away
Baia Seafood Restaurant
3 257 reviews
.08 km away
Sevruga Restaurant
2 130 reviews
.03 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
14 191 reviews
.18 km away
The Cape Wheel
1 079 reviews
.17 km away
Victoria Wharf Shopping Centre
82 reviews
.24 km away
Eyewitness - A Private Collection
13 reviews
.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from City Grill staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about City Grill

Yes, City Grill offers takeaway services.

City Grill is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4