We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

About
Sevruga is located in the V&A Waterfront, in the Cape Town harbour. The restaurant’s sunlit and leafy patio looks out at the water and the docked catamarans. The interior has delightful leafy patterns and a variety of green textures. A fine-dining establishment which sources ethical and delightfully fresh seafood, it is also known for its sushi and cocktails. Sevruga and its dedicated team can organize any function or private events in this beautifully laid out space.
PRICE RANGE
US$10 - US$18
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Seafood, Sushi, Healthy
FEATURES
Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (2 135)
Filter reviews
1 741 results
Traveller rating
812
478
237
113
101
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
812
478
237
113
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sushi kingklip prawns creme brulee salmon steak our waiter waterfront platter
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago

The standard of their sushi is exceptional and there has not been a time where it was not fresh. The attention to detail and the great special which they have make it a place frequented.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Mostly seafood restaurant on the waterfront. We ordered the signature sushi platter to share to start - it was very nice but a little too filling and heavy on sauces. For mains we had the Seafood Pasta and Special Yellow Fin Niçoise salad . The...yellow fin was ideal post filling sushi starter and was very tasty. The Seafood Pasta came with a creamy sauce and was a bit too much and a struggle to finish. Service was good and friendly.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 December 2021

You paying for the window seats with view IF YOU GET IT! Inside it’s dull and lackluster. Look and feel dated and NOT CRISP WHITE CLEAN.. Service extremely slow and when your food arrives the hope of a 4⭐️ Is killed by the miniature California...rolls and basic feel. Just very disappointing what offering gets shown in pictures but IT IS NOT WHAT YOU GET AT ALL. Very deceiving. I thought they be on a Grand Pavillion level[which I highly recommend] but they actually like a basic Protea hotel uuugh. HOW DID YOU EARN A 4 is what I’d like to know ….oh and my sons chicken strips were dry and hard … what chef doesn’t know how to fry chicken strips properly🤷🏽‍♀️More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Nicole W, Marketing at Sevruga Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2021

Dear Tania , Thank you for taking the time to rate us. We sincerely apologise for your unpleasant experience and will take the above feedback and relay it to the team. We hope to welcome you back in the future for a 5-star experience. Warm...More

Reviewed 26 November 2021

We were there for dinner because of the location (view to the harbor). The Cocktails were half price due to happy hour, but tasted more like a sorbet than a cocktail. The waiter offered catch of the day as a special and then he returned...explaining that they do not have this dish at all. We decided to go for starters only. The plates were really small and the taste was average. Overall, we were disappointed and we think, you pay more for the view than for the food and drinks.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
Nicole W, Marketing at Sevruga Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2021

Dear Dee, Thank you for rating us. We are really sorry to hear about this experience. If you could email us gm@sevruga.co.za  - we'd like to investigate this further. Kind regards, Team Sevruga

Reviewed 19 November 2021 via mobile

Good quality good. Nice setting. Not sure why but trip advisor won’t let me post until I write more. Pointless from tripadvisor

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Nicole W, Marketing at Sevruga Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2021

Dear Customer, The team here at Sevruga is thrilled to receive such a great rating. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Sevruga.

Reviewed 19 October 2021

Lovely food and stellar service from Nancy! This was our last stop before the airport and we loved it!

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Nicole W, Marketing at Sevruga Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2021

Dear Phumelele, The team here at Sevruga is thrilled to receive such a great rating. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Sevruga Team

Reviewed 18 October 2021

We took a recommendation from our guide, who made us a reservation, and had dinner. It was an upbeat atmosphere with good service. The food was outstanding and we had a view of the harbor from our table. The seared ahi was cooked perfectly. It's...very centrally located on the waterfront and worth stopping for.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Nicole W, Marketing at Sevruga Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2021

Dear Valued Customer , The team here at Sevruga is thrilled to receive such a great rating. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Sevruga Team

Reviewed 27 September 2021

Food is great and you have amazing sushi ! But every time I come there the service is terrible. I’m in the hospitality industry so I understand how a restaurant runs and what is required of waiters. But each visit is disappointing. Waiters ignore you....Don’t understand what you require. Don’t check on you. They take orders, bring the food and drop the bill. If you need your waiter you look around for about 15min trying to get their attention and constantly get ignored. Zero atmosphere and zero experience. Cocktail quality is going down too. I know many people who come here and used to speak highly of Sevruga and say the same thing. I feel like you have been around of awhile but the standards are dropping by the day and will not end well. To me personally going to a restaurant isn’t only about the food. It is about having an amazing experience which you should also experience from your waiter.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Nicole W, Marketing at Sevruga Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2021

Dear  Kirsty, Thank you for rating us. We are really sorry to hear about this experience. If you could email us gm@sevruga.co.za  - we'd like to investigate this further. Kind regards, Team Sevruga

Reviewed 23 August 2021 via mobile

We celebrated my brother in laws Birthday at your restaurant this evening. The food was spectacular and the service was excellent. Our waiter McClaren was so amazing!!! He was attentive and kind. He managed a very tough crowd. Thank you for hosting us this evening!...Such a beautiful restaurant with such an amazing atmosphere.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Nicole W, Marketing at Sevruga Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

Dear Nafees, The team here at Sevruga is thrilled to receive such a great rating. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Sevruga.

Reviewed 13 June 2021

….It’s been almost 4 years since we last visited here so when we saw that Hyperli was offering an Exclusive 3 course dining experience we jumped at the offer because it was at a good price the voucher was under R400 and the voucher value...was just on R600. This superb-lii located restaurant is a gem offering seating on the Terrace which is right on the walk-way of Quay-5, where all the boat-rides are on offer and you have an awesome view of all the yachts moored right here and all the harbour activities can be observed while you are enjoying the quality delicious foods that they serve here. Inside seating in a massive beautiful-lii laid-out area is also available. We started off by ordering a glass of Durbanville Hills “Merlot” @ R 66.00 per glass. The Exclusive 3 course menu has 5 Starters to choose from such as Shushi, Baby-Calamari, Black-Mussels, Beef Carpaccio & a Parmesan-Avo Salad: - We went for the 1. 6 piece Shushi & 2. The Beef-Carpaccio, both was indeed killer choices as it was fresh-lii made and delicious. The 2nd course Main-menu has 6 choices such as: - Flame-grilled Sirloin/Rump, Sea-food Linguini, Fresh Line-Fish, Full-Portion of Baby-Calamari-Tubes, Main-Shushi Platter x 12 pieces, Parmesan Gnocchi: - We ordered 1. Flamed-Grilled Sirloin (Truffle béarnaise & Hand-cut Chips) 2. Sea-food Linguini (Black-mussels, Prawns, Grilled-Calamari & Line-fish served in a cream-ii parmesan, garlic & thyme-sauce)…The steak was tender, juicy and delicious-lii done as ordered. The Linguini was soft but not mosh-ii, the sea-food meats was sufficient for the size of dish and the cream-ii garlic-sauce had an intriguing lemon-ii after-taste. The 3rd course Dessert menu has 3 offers: - Cream-Brulee, Dark-Choc Tart & Trio of Ice Cream: - Our choice was: - 1. Chocolate Tart & Ice Cream, 2. Trio of Ice Cream. The Choc-tart was insidious-lii “lekka” and the three balls of ice cream had prominent taste-ii flavours, vanilla, dark-chocolate & good strawberry. We thoroughly enjoyed it here the terrace was full but there was enough space for social-distancing. Their Covid-19 protocols are in place, hand-sprayer inside on the wall as you enter. A very big long sit-down counter bar area. Our waiter “Mobaso” was okay’ ish a bit slow and came across as frazzled (maybe he was new on the job?) as his area of responsibility was quite full. They also have guest Wi-Fi available you just have to ask for the “Key/Password” We recommend this venue 100%.......More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
Nicole W, Marketing at Sevruga Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2021

Dear Vernon, The team here at Sevruga is thrilled to receive such a great rating. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another great experience! Warm regards, Sevruga Team

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
1 954 reviews
.20 km away
Dock House Boutique Hotel
268 reviews
.21 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
932 reviews
.24 km away
The Table Bay
3 115 reviews
.25 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Mozambik V & A Waterfront
351 reviews
.05 km away
Karibu Restaurant
3 512 reviews
.07 km away
Baia Seafood Restaurant
3 263 reviews
.11 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
14 207 reviews
.21 km away
The Cape Wheel
1 082 reviews
.14 km away
Victoria Wharf Shopping Centre
82 reviews
.26 km away
Eyewitness - A Private Collection
13 reviews
.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Dan M
7 December 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from DiningDena | Reviewed this property |
Casual, most restaurants are in Cape Town. Enjoy!
0
Votes
Ann-louise V
16 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from PeterBaker300 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry but I only visited.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sevruga Restaurant

Yes, Sevruga Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Sevruga Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4