We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mess

Corner of Napier and Sciebe Street | Shop 110 the Rockwell Hotel, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 418 3910
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good21%
  • Average16%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“tuna ceviche” (7 reviews)
“pork belly” (8 reviews)
“flatbread” (6 reviews)
Open Now
4:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Spanish, Middle Eastern, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
Corner of Napier and Sciebe Street | Shop 110 the Rockwell Hotel, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Tuna Ceviche as many mentioned was a delicious starter to share, Hake was cooked to perfection easily ruined in lesser hands credit to the chef. Crumble so light and tasty though for my taste the mint was an un-necessary addition. Our waiters were attentive without...More

Thank Gary K
Reviewed 6 days ago

Always a treat visiting The Mess! Love the sharing-style tapas and varied dishes that are a treat for the taste buds. Consistently good food and professional service. Truly unlike anything else in Cape Town - a definite must!

Thank Lean_Terblanche
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for the great feedback and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your ongoing support!! Hope to see you soon again.... we have some new tasty dishes on our blackboard for you to try :)

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just had the first meal in Cape Town, after a long haul flight. Saw the reviews, the tapas was excellent, tuna ceviche particularly and then I had a great creme brûlée. Service was great, they had two large parties in and it made no difference...More

Thank Peter W
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are delighted to hear this great feedback! Tuna Ceviche also my favourite :) Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Enjoy the rest of your holiday and come visit us again when in Cape Town!

Reviewed 5 October 2017

Amazing place with amazing food. Highly recommend this place if you are in Cape Town. We ate there and couldn't wait to go back. On two visits we sampled a few of their dishes and not one disappointed. Staff greet you with enthusiasm and this...More

Thank DRWLeeds_UK
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Very excited to receive this positive feedback!! We are very happy you enjoyed every visit with us. I will be sure to convey this message to the staff as well. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Reviewed 3 October 2017

The food never disappoints and the friendly service is always a pleasure. My latest visit was with my family for a nice get together. We were a mixed aged group and The Mess was enjoyed by all. They have nice dietary specific menus, which really...More

Thank Alet L
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for the great review and for the ongoing support!! We always work hard to create a nice experience. Very happy you enjoyed the new dietary menus. See you again soon!

Reviewed 2 October 2017

This is the perfect restaurant for any occasion - whether its date night, family function, or business dinner. The quality of the food is superb and you are sure to find consistent quality. My favourite is the pork belly and truffle mayo with fries and...More

Thank sanjak26
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review!! Great feeling to receive such good feedback. Truffle mayo and fries also one of my favourites :) Hope to see you back again soon.

Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Tried some items off the new menu and was not disappointed. The super salad is great as a side for two to share or as a starter for one. Never disappointed when visiting The Mess which we do at least once a week.

Thank Edward M
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for the ongoing support and for taking the time to write a review!!! We always enjoy having you guys round. So happy you enjoy our new dishes. See you soon again.

Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

My fiancé booked this for my birthday dinner. It was a delicious meal in a gorgeous and arty restaurant. The style of mainly tapas which we loved because we love to share food! There was a nice cocktail menu. Food came quickly and was so...More

Thank candiceh124
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your birthday with us. Thank you for the great feedback and for taking the time to write a review. Hope to welcome you back again soon!

Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Our first visit here and a great surprise. The place was quiet but still had a great vibe. Service was excellent and the food even better. Had a great time highly recommended.More

Thank howieg2016
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Thank you for the great feedback. We work hard to keep our service up to standard and to give the restaurant a nice and cosy atmosphere, even during quiet colder months. Hope to see you back again soon and thank you for taking the time...More

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

The mess has a tapas style menu which I really like. All dishes we selected were delicious! Especially the bread with the honey infused goat cheese, the tuna sashimi and the soft shell crab. The service was very attentive and nice. The atmosphere could be...More

Thank KSoho
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you for the great review! We are thrilled to receive this good feedback. Your comments regarding the big space is well noted, we are working on some ideas to make it more cosy. Hope to see you soon again!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Il Leone Mastrantonio
636 reviews
.07 km away
Anatoli Turkish Restaurant
259 reviews
.01 km away
Izakaya Matsuri
109 reviews
.03 km away
Don Armando
110 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Shimansky Jewellers Rockwell
7 reviews
.08 km away
Cape Quarter Mall
64 reviews
.07 km away
Baraka Gifts and Decor
263 reviews
.16 km away
Uwe Koetter
249 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Mess staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$24 - US$38
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Validated Parking, Television
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Saturday
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Corner of Napier and Sciebe Street | Shop 110 the Rockwell Hotel, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 418 3910
  • E-mail
Description
"In the 15th century, a group of people who ate together was known as a mess". The Mess is a restaurant and Bar located in Cape Town's trendy De Waterkant Village in Green Point. Our menu emphasizes sharing plates of enjoyable food, representing a diverse variety of cuisines. We love food, lots of different food, just like you!!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing