We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mess Restaurant

Corner of Napier and Sciebe Street | Shop 110 the Rockwell Hotel, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 418 3910
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good20%
  • Average17%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“tuna ceviche” (6 reviews)
“pork belly” (8 reviews)
“flat bread” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Spanish, Middle Eastern, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
Corner of Napier and Sciebe Street | Shop 110 the Rockwell Hotel, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing place with amazing food. Highly recommend this place if you are in Cape Town. We ate there and couldn't wait to go back. On two visits we sampled a few of their dishes and not one disappointed. Staff greet you with enthusiasm and this...More

Thank DRWLeeds_UK
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Very excited to receive this positive feedback!! We are very happy you enjoyed every visit with us. I will be sure to convey this message to the staff as well. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food never disappoints and the friendly service is always a pleasure. My latest visit was with my family for a nice get together. We were a mixed aged group and The Mess was enjoyed by all. They have nice dietary specific menus, which really...More

Thank Alet L
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the great review and for the ongoing support!! We always work hard to create a nice experience. Very happy you enjoyed the new dietary menus. See you again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the perfect restaurant for any occasion - whether its date night, family function, or business dinner. The quality of the food is superb and you are sure to find consistent quality. My favourite is the pork belly and truffle mayo with fries and...More

Thank sanjak26
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review!! Great feeling to receive such good feedback. Truffle mayo and fries also one of my favourites :) Hope to see you back again soon.

Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Tried some items off the new menu and was not disappointed. The super salad is great as a side for two to share or as a starter for one. Never disappointed when visiting The Mess which we do at least once a week.

Thank Edward M
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for the ongoing support and for taking the time to write a review!!! We always enjoy having you guys round. So happy you enjoy our new dishes. See you soon again.

Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

My fiancé booked this for my birthday dinner. It was a delicious meal in a gorgeous and arty restaurant. The style of mainly tapas which we loved because we love to share food! There was a nice cocktail menu. Food came quickly and was so...More

Thank candiceh124
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your birthday with us. Thank you for the great feedback and for taking the time to write a review. Hope to welcome you back again soon!

Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Our first visit here and a great surprise. The place was quiet but still had a great vibe. Service was excellent and the food even better. Had a great time highly recommended.More

Thank howieg2016
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Thank you for the great feedback. We work hard to keep our service up to standard and to give the restaurant a nice and cosy atmosphere, even during quiet colder months. Hope to see you back again soon and thank you for taking the time...More

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

The mess has a tapas style menu which I really like. All dishes we selected were delicious! Especially the bread with the honey infused goat cheese, the tuna sashimi and the soft shell crab. The service was very attentive and nice. The atmosphere could be...More

Thank KSoho
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you for the great review! We are thrilled to receive this good feedback. Your comments regarding the big space is well noted, we are working on some ideas to make it more cosy. Hope to see you soon again!

Reviewed 11 April 2017

A very cosy diner with new management but do they need to take away little thing like the bread and butter the old management used to provide? Would be great also if the menu is a complete set instead of charging for every individual item...More

Thank iamjohnny
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Thank you for your comments, they are noted. The restaurant before was a French themed Bistro, the new look and feel is build towards a more causal tapas style dinner. We do offer beautiful flat breads and Mezzes on the new menu, thus we decided...More

Reviewed 5 April 2017

we arrived and it is a big restaurant , it was almost empty . we had outstanding dishes , of quite different type, all excellent. and Evie made our evening with great attention and personality . it is very nice decor and in summer the...More

Thank nicolas s
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Was lovely meeting you! Thank your for the great feedback and for taking the time to write a review. I will share this with Eve, for sure. Thank you again!

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Went to The Mess with friends during the Cape Carnival event and was absolutely amazed by the great food. We ordered most of the dishes on the menu between our group and everything was perfect and very tasty. The atmosphere and the overall feeling of...More

Thank Eugéne V
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thank you for the great feedback and for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled to receive such good response. Was great meeting you! Hope to see you back again soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Il Leone Mastrantonio
623 reviews
.07 km away
Anatoli Turkish Restaurant
255 reviews
.01 km away
Izakaya Matsuri
108 reviews
.03 km away
Don Armando
102 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cape Quarter Mall
63 reviews
.07 km away
Baraka Gifts and Decor
251 reviews
.17 km away
Uwe Koetter
242 reviews
.13 km away
African Story Wine Tours
223 reviews
.37 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Mess staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$24 - US$38
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Validated Parking, Television
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Monday
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Saturday
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Corner of Napier and Sciebe Street | Shop 110 the Rockwell Hotel, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 418 3910
  • E-mail
Description
"In the 15th century, a group of people who ate together was known as a mess". The Mess is a restaurant and Bar located in Cape Town's trendy De Waterkant Village in Green Point. Our menu emphasizes sharing plates of enjoyable food, representing a diverse variety of cuisines. We love food, lots of different food, just like you!!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing