We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mess

Corner of Napier and Sciebe Street | Shop 110 the Rockwell Hotel, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 418 3910
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good18%
  • Average15%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“tuna ceviche” (11 reviews)
“pork belly” (8 reviews)
“bao” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
Corner of Napier and Sciebe Street | Shop 110 the Rockwell Hotel, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I walked to Mess from my hotel on a Friday evening expecting it to be packed based on the reviews and recommendations. While the food exceeded expectations, the atmosphere did not. In fact, I was one of three patrons to eat there between 6 and...More

Thank Scott B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really enjoyed everything about The Mess, the food was delicious and the cocktails well made too. The service was great, our waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable of the menu. Only complaint, I think the restaurant might have been a bit too dark.

Thank Halima G
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the great feedback. The comment regarding the lighting is well noted. Hope to see you soon again.

Reviewed 28 May 2018

Having read some exciting reviews of the great fusion offerings, I must admit to being sadly disappointed. Food is well below average for the price. Ambience lacking. The restaurant, in it's previous iteration as Dijon, was certainly far more worthwhile. Quite the pity considering the...More

Thank deonredman
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thank you for the feedback, comments are noted. It is unfortunate you did not enjoy the menu.

Reviewed 20 May 2018

We decided to try The Mess as we were in the area and were amused by the name. With no great expectations and hoping for just average at best we were completely surprised by the whole experience. Firstly one of my big gripes is poor...More

Thank Caryn W
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thank you for the Amazing feedback and for taking the time to write a review! I will for sure share this message with the team, and give a special thanks to Everencia. Very delighted you enjoyed the whole experience from the service to the menu....More

Reviewed 14 May 2018

I have had the privilege of dining here twice in the last 2 months and absolutely loved it! Good value for money, nice meal portions, and a beautiful setting makes this a firm favourite for me. Whether sitting inside and listening to the live music...More

Thank Lara V
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled receiving your great feedback. Thank you for the support and see you soon again!

Reviewed 6 April 2018

My boyfriend and I went for dinner and the food was out of this world. The decor was really stunning. We sat outside, it was so pretty with the fairy lights. For starters we had the tuna ceviche and the pulled pork bao slider. I...More

Thank Mich_Page
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for this amazing review!! The courtyard with the fairly lights is a magical spot and the tuna ceviche also my favourite :) We appreciated you taking the time to write a review, see you soon!

Reviewed 27 March 2018

yet another coffee down the drain, yet again asked for coffee latte and I got something what resembled flat white. Coffee on its lone is ok, but person who makes it does not know how to make coffee, difference between 62 and 70 degrees milk,...More

Thank Christopher K
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Mezzos and flatbreads. Great ribs. Menu is uncomplicated and simplified. Lovely options to pair with wine.

Thank TheDiamondWorks
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Very happy you enjoyed our menu! We appreciate the good feedback.

Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

We had dinner here at The Mess. The ambience was great. The decor is interesting. And the food was lovely. The bao sliders were delicious and the steak was great. The waitress explained the menu to us and took our starter order but was not...More

Thank Burbabes
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you for the great feedback regarding the good food. The comments regarding service is well noted. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Four of us went for dinner; the starters were Tuna Cerviche, Pork Belly Taco , Salt and Pepper Squid (Special ) all excellent. Mains were Belly Pork and Pork loin ribs. The mains were not as good as the starting plates to share.In hindsight, we...More

Thank Philip R
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for the feedback, nice to hear you enjoyed our sharing plates. Comments on the mains are noted. Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 114 hotels in Cape Town Central
Rockwell All Suite Hotel
666 reviews
.04 km away
African Elite de Waterkant
17 reviews
.16 km away
The Village Lodge
105 reviews
.17 km away
De Waterkant Village
226 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Izakaya Matsuri
125 reviews
.04 km away
Yumcious
86 reviews
.09 km away
Sushi Box De Waterkant
10 reviews
.14 km away
Lou Lou's
29 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Shimansky Jewellers Rockwell
13 reviews
.08 km away
Martin Osner Fine Art Photography Gallery
11 reviews
.14 km away
Nobel Square
373 reviews
.31 km away
Cape Quarter Mall
77 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Mess staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$23 - US$36
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
16:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
16:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
16:00 - 23:00
Thursday
16:00 - 23:00
Friday
16:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 15:00
Saturday
16:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Corner of Napier and Sciebe Street | Shop 110 the Rockwell Hotel, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 418 3910
  • E-mail
Description
"In the 15th century, a group of people who ate together was known as a mess". The Mess is a restaurant and Bar located in Cape Town's trendy De Waterkant Village in Green Point. Our menu emphasizes sharing plates of enjoyable food, representing a diverse variety of cuisines. We love food, lots of different food, just like you!!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing