We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mess

Corner of Napier and Sciebe Street | Shop 110 the Rockwell Hotel, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 418 3910
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good23%
  • Average15%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“tuna ceviche” (9 reviews)
“pork belly” (8 reviews)
“flatbread” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Spanish, Middle Eastern, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
Corner of Napier and Sciebe Street | Shop 110 the Rockwell Hotel, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

The food was really good. However, the owner was incredibly rude to me and my guests. I emailed her after expressing my concern at her treatment of me and my guests and she didn't even pay me the courtesy of responding to the email and...More

Thank Blossom91
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited for a lunch meeting, Food very well prepared and fresh, well explained and greatly put together, lovely flavours fused together...Will definitely go again....The Rib Eye was of excellent quality ....We chose a set menu and glad we did, dishes came in tapas style well...More

Thank Benito L
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the great feedback! Our set menus are very popular so we are thrilled you enjoyed it! Hope to see you again soon and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It’s a bit out of the path, I mean it’s not in Long Street or in V&A Waterfront, but still right in town, 5 minutes from V&A. This place is a must ! You might see it empty inside when you walk by, but DO...More

Thank silmada
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for this amazing review! it is hard work, as you know :) to create awareness when not located in one of the main streets. Very happy to hear you enjoyed our menu. Hope to see you back again soon! Thank you for taking...More

Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

The best food after our first two weeks in South Africa. Been to Franschhoek, Knysna, Hermanus and the last two days in Cape Town. Hard to understand that the crowds miss this place. The small dishes “to share” are so tasteful and on the spot....More

Thank Magnus K
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for this great feedback, it is very nice to receive such a great review. We are thrilled you enjoyed the menu and I will for sure share this good feedback with Bobby and the rest of the team. Hope to see you again...More

Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

We were taken by friends to this gem of a place in Green Point. We had really wonderful meze style food and there were lots of options for vegetarians. We will be back!!

Thank Les055
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Tuna Ceviche as many mentioned was a delicious starter to share, Hake was cooked to perfection easily ruined in lesser hands credit to the chef. Crumble so light and tasty though for my taste the mint was an un-necessary addition. Our waiters were attentive without...More

Thank Gary K
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

This is amazing feedback, thank you!! Both the Apple Crumble and the Hake Beccafico is new to our menu, happy you enjoyed it. I will for sure share this great feedback with the team in the kitchen and the waiters. Hope to welcome you back...More

Reviewed 8 December 2017

Always a treat visiting The Mess! Love the sharing-style tapas and varied dishes that are a treat for the taste buds. Consistently good food and professional service. Truly unlike anything else in Cape Town - a definite must!

Thank Lean_Terblanche
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Thank you for the great feedback and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your ongoing support!! Hope to see you soon again.... we have some new tasty dishes on our blackboard for you to try :)

Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

Just had the first meal in Cape Town, after a long haul flight. Saw the reviews, the tapas was excellent, tuna ceviche particularly and then I had a great creme brûlée. Service was great, they had two large parties in and it made no difference...More

Thank Peter W
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

We are delighted to hear this great feedback! Tuna Ceviche also my favourite :) Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Enjoy the rest of your holiday and come visit us again when in Cape Town!

Reviewed 5 October 2017

Amazing place with amazing food. Highly recommend this place if you are in Cape Town. We ate there and couldn't wait to go back. On two visits we sampled a few of their dishes and not one disappointed. Staff greet you with enthusiasm and this...More

Thank DRWLeeds_UK
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Very excited to receive this positive feedback!! We are very happy you enjoyed every visit with us. I will be sure to convey this message to the staff as well. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Reviewed 3 October 2017

The food never disappoints and the friendly service is always a pleasure. My latest visit was with my family for a nice get together. We were a mixed aged group and The Mess was enjoyed by all. They have nice dietary specific menus, which really...More

Thank Alet L
carlene361, Owner at The Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for the great review and for the ongoing support!! We always work hard to create a nice experience. Very happy you enjoyed the new dietary menus. See you again soon!

PreviousNext
1234567
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 112 hotels in Cape Town Central
Rockwell All Suite Hotel
603 reviews
.04 km away
African Elite de Waterkant
14 reviews
.16 km away
The Village Lodge
105 reviews
.17 km away
De Waterkant Village
213 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Il Leone Mastrantonio
663 reviews
.07 km away
Anatoli Turkish Restaurant
264 reviews
.01 km away
Don Armando
119 reviews
.05 km away
Vasco da Gama Taverna
92 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Shimansky Jewellers Rockwell
7 reviews
.08 km away
Nobel Square
304 reviews
.31 km away
Cape Quarter Mall
66 reviews
.21 km away
Baraka Gifts and Decor
277 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Mess staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$25 - US$38
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Takeout
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
16:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
16:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
16:00 - 23:00
Thursday
16:00 - 23:00
Friday
16:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 15:00
Saturday
16:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Corner of Napier and Sciebe Street | Shop 110 the Rockwell Hotel, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 418 3910
  • E-mail
Description
"In the 15th century, a group of people who ate together was known as a mess". The Mess is a restaurant and Bar located in Cape Town's trendy De Waterkant Village in Green Point. Our menu emphasizes sharing plates of enjoyable food, representing a diverse variety of cuisines. We love food, lots of different food, just like you!!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing