We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Greek Fisherman

Shop 261 Upper Level Victoria Warf V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 418 5411
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good37%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“moussaka” (24 reviews)
“bread board” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, Greek, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Shop 261 Upper Level Victoria Warf V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Just had a fabulous dinner! Both of our fish dishes were outstanding and very fresh. Our server Sherif was terrific, and very attentive. Pricing very reasonable, and everything was service on time and cooked perfectly. Just we had time during our time in Cape Town...More

Thank Rocky20852
Reviewed 2 days ago

We ate late afternoon, off peak time, but restaurant still had a nice feel. Lovely location, overlooking the waterfront and Table Mountain. We had kingklip, a local fish, really nice. Good service, good value.

Thank BickerdykeSolihull
Reviewed 5 days ago

Sunday lunch at the venue was an absolute delight. Food was great and the service was very good. The first waiter to serve us needs to be a little more client friendly, but the second one was very good.

Thank Aubreydes
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Me and my family went to The Geek it was lovely. We where table number 53.Godfrey was our amazing waiter. Arthur 7 years old.

Thank pointscottage
barryn348, Guest Relations Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Reviewer Thank you for the review. Amazing to see such fantastic comments about our food. Godfrey is a legend in our shop. You were most definitely with one of the best waiters in the V&A. Thank you once again. Regards Management

Reviewed 6 days ago

spent a lot of time in greece . here taram was not tasty, the moussaka was completely tasteless. nice decor, excellent service , but for good greek food i will go elsewhere . very disappointedMore

Thank nicolas s
barryn348, Guest Relations Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Nicolas Thank you for sharing your comments. We have been trading for 25 years in the V&A Waterfront with an incredible track record, as you can see. We must be doing something right. We prefer not to comment on your comparisons, as I believe...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a casual inexpensive place and the food was fine and good value however the service from the floor manager was really poor so I do not recommend it. We sat on the terrace and quickly realised we were too cold as it was...More

Thank Sue D
barryn348, Guest Relations Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are extremely disappointed to hear and would appreciate if you can give us some more information by mailing us to info@greekfisherman.co.za We are not 100%, but we think we know...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had inner here as part of a sunset cruise package. Dry limited choice for us. I had a Greek salad followed by chicken souvlaki. Others had mussels, feta parcels, beef souvlaki, line caught fish. All food was good, but therefore average. Dessert was an...More

Thank HalDavies
barryn348, Guest Relations Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Reviewer Thank you for the review. We appreciate your comments, however the Cruise and Dine package is on a set menu, which will have limited choices. Our a la carte menu is very extensive and would have given you a huge amount of choices....More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We simply loved it here, from the welcome, to the service, the food, the wine and great value! Fish is fresh, calamari is spot on! As there's a no booking policy, it seem's very busy at 6-7pm ish, so we just waited until a table...More

Thank Emyr T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Of all the restaurants we tried in this location - the V & A Waterfront - this was the most disappointing. Lovely place and people - but for a fish restaurant, the fish has to taste fresh. Our meals were fine - edible - but...More

Thank philipwoolley
barryn348, Guest Relations Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to share your views. Let me just set the record straight on a couple of your points. Firstly, the photo you posted were of Calamari, which we clearly indicate comes from the Falkland Islands, as this is...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for Dinner with friends. Friendly & welcoming staff; efficient service; good wine list & excellent menu with choices to suit all appetites & budgets. I thoroughly enjoyed the Grilled Norwegian Salmon Main which was well priced for quite a generous portion; was perfectly...More

Thank Marguerite W
barryn348, Guest Relations Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer Thank you for the review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience. Regards Management

PreviousNext
12345637
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 112 hotels in Cape Town Central
The Table Bay Hotel
2 444 reviews
.23 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
1 617 reviews
.23 km away
Dock House Boutique Hotel
212 reviews
.23 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
754 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Baia
2 497 reviews
.09 km away
Vovo Telo
637 reviews
.13 km away
Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs
865 reviews
.03 km away
Karibu
1 731 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
9 675 reviews
.19 km away
The Springbok Experience
465 reviews
.21 km away
The Cape Wheel
781 reviews
.16 km away
Chavonnes Battery Museum
89 reviews
.31 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Greek Fisherman staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, View, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shop 261 Upper Level Victoria Warf V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 418 5411
  • E-mail
Description
Here at the greek fisherman, we are proud of our roots, so expect traditional greek and mediterranean dishes. But, we also believe in moving with the times, so we've added a modern twist to our otherwise classic menu. Our cuisine includes greek & seafood specialities and we are famous for our greek meze, our souvla (spit roast) and our stunning lamb in the oven. Choose from over 20 meze, starters and tapas! Established in 1992, the greek fisherman is one of the original restaurants in the v&a waterfront and is still owned by the same owners as when the victoria wharf, waterfront opened in 1992. Take a seat and get a glorious view of table mountain while you enjoy delicious seafood and meats grilled over open charcoals.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing