We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hussar Grill Mouille Point Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
RR - RRR
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
163 Beach Road | New Cumberland Building, Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
+27 21 433 2081
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

828 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 634: English reviews
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

You know you are eating at a Restuarant who are confident about their food offering when they do not charge corkage, irrespective how many bottles of wine you wish to bring!! The food didn't disappoint in the slightest, from the fillets (including fillet on the bone - you gotta try that one), to the rumps, to the sirloins. And then... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Brent M
Sihnoukville
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

excellent food after along walk and this restaurant did not let us down...wonderful views and lovely atmosphere as the sun set..

Helpful?
1 Thank David G
Management response:

Dear David g, I am so glad you managed to pop in after a nice walk on the promenade, to enjoy our food. Thank you for taking the time to review us and I am so happy you made it in time for our glorious sunsets. We look forward to seeing you again when next in our hood. Kind regards,... More 

Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I made a reservation through email to celebrate my husbands birthday there. I specifically said it was for a birthday thinking they would offer him a dessert with a candle at the end or something like this (even if I had to pay for it). This did not happen. They did not even have my reservation when we arrived in... More 

Helpful?
Thank L R
Management response:

Dear L R, Thank you for choosing us for your husband's birthday. Unfortunately we never received your email requesting a booking, therefore did not know it was your husband's birthday. Had we known, I am sure we would have made a bigger fuss. I can only apologize for the miscommunication. With regards to the waitress, I am so sorry that... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This place is amazing, the grill is super super good. My wife and I started going there pretty often. I advise anyone to get the sirloin with the creamy mushroom sauce hummm :)

Helpful?
Thank Khaled A
Management response:

Dear Khaled A, Thank you for your review and kind words of our grill room, we are so happy you enjoy visiting us. The mushroom sauce is my favorite sauce! Thank you for the recommendation, we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kind regards, Tracy Huxley More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

A great view was just the start. Looking over into the ocean was a great way to start a meal. Our waiter was attentive and the steak was so great! It lived up to everything we imagined. Succulent and done just right. And no reservation was needed.

Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
Management response:

Dear Stephen A, I am so glad we managed to get you a table, and it was one with a view! Thank you for your favorable review, and feedback. We so enjoyed serving you and look forward till the next time. Kind regards, Tracy Huxley More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
117 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

What a great experience. We had a tsble next to the sliding window. The service was excellent, the view to die for and the food tasty. I would recomment Hussar Grill for a good food experience, especially the rump steak. Will be back again.

Helpful?
Thank Illona0077
Management response:

Dear Ilona0077, Thank you for choosing us and for the recommendation. We cannot take credit for the view, but we will! Thank you for coming to enjoy our food and my crew loved serving you. I am so glad that you had a good experience, I shall feed that back to the staff that worked so hard to make it... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

As a family we have frequented Theo’s, and now Hussar Grill Mouille Point over many years (more than 30 years). It has always been a memorable experience and we shared many special moments with family, friends and loved ones. What a disappointment on Thursday evening! We also frequent the Hussar Grill in Willowbridge on a regular basis – I am... More 

Helpful?
Thank Berte L
Management response:

Dear Berte L, I would like to apologize that we let you down, please know, it is never our intention. Thank you for your feedback, I am surprised you had such a terrible experience and did not bring it to the managers attention. I am sure, had we known you were not enjoying your night we would have gone out... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Setup is lovely, friendly staff. Toilets have mini towels - classy. Food was good. Vegetarian platter was pretty standard but tasted good. Friends mentioned their stakes were one of the best they have tasted in Cape town. Overall impressed, would repeat. Not many vegetarian options but that's expected. Place was very busy for a Tuesday night which speaks for their... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeffster89
Management response:

Dear jeffster89, Thank you for reviewing our restaurant, I am glad you noticed the hand towels. So sorry about the vegetarian platter, we are in the process of a menu change and hopefully we can give you a better offering. We do hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Tracy Huxley More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

In our recent visit to Cape Town we were staying near this restaurant and have been using its name a lot as landmark. Every time we mention about it to any Capetonian they don't fail to mention that we should definitely visit the restaurant. So we did on the last day of our stay and we realized what everyone meant.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judhajit26
Management response:

Dear Judhjit26, Thank you for such lovely, kind words. I am so pleased you got around to us on your last night. I am also glad that you enjoyed the steaks, we are fellow meat lovers! I shall pass on your favourable feedback to Victor, I am sure he will relish the notoriety. Thank you for coming and we hope... More 

Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

I expected much more from this restaurant!!!The food was very good...tomato soup was delicious and grilled beef steak and entrecote was excellent.The owner should pay more attention for quality of service....specially the boy Bono!!!

Helpful?
Thank baffone2013
Management response:

Dear Baffone2013, Thank you for your review, I am so sorry that you thought Bongo's service was not up to scratch.. I am so glad you enjoyed the food, and thought it was good. I am deeply disturbed by the fact that you got bad service, there is no excuse for this and I for this I apologize. please know... More 

Travellers who viewed The Hussar Grill Mouille Point also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Hussar Grill Mouille Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4,5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4,5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4,5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4,5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$20 - US$50
Cuisine
Steakhouse, Grill, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 163 Beach Road | New Cumberland Building, Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 433 2081
Description
The original Hussar Grill in Rondebosch first opened its legendary brass doors in 1964 and today, after 50 years of excellence, it is regarded as one of South Africa's premier grillrooms. We go to endless lengths every day to maintain our multiple award-winning reputation by ensuring that we only purchase the finest and best quality produce available.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Hussar Grill Mouille Point staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?