We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Umi

201 The Promenade, Victoria Road | Marly Hotel, Camps Bay, South Africa
+27 21 437 1802
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good33%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“black cod” (13 reviews)
“sushi” (87 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
201 The Promenade, Victoria Road | Marly Hotel, Camps Bay, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 50 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2017

wonderful food - specially the sushi and the fish is very good. very good price for a great service and best quality.

Thank tschneider2017
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

We had a fabulous meal of small tasting plates. Everything was delicious, hot and beautifully served. Restaurant is on the beach and had an elegant comfortable vibe. We can't say enough wonderful things about this great restaurant.

Thank Cherylswroth
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Service poor. Our order was forgotten. After a hour we chased our food up which had quite clearly been forgotten. We finally got our food which had been clearly rushed as was tasteless. Waiting on staff completely ignored our table. Had to wait half hour...More

Thank NicoCheshireUK
Kove_Mngt, Public Relations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Hi NicoCheshireUK, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent visit to Umi. We would appreciate it if you would email the details of your visit to michellene@kovecollection.co.za as we would like to address the issues you have raised...More

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

On a hot sunny Sunday afternoon we dined at this amazing restaurant out on the terrace overlooking Camps Bay beach. We were very pleased with our meal. I had the Pork Belly which was exactly the way I dreamed it would be. My cutlery melted...More

Thank Remondy K
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Cape Town as most know is full of really great restaurants probably more so than any other city I have visited. Every February we rent a house but not usually in Camps Bay but this year has been a little different. With only a 5...More

Thank Flyer1960
Reviewed 23 February 2017

My wife ate mainly Japanese food while mine was more European in style but with oriental spicing. Food everywhere in Camps Bay was good but Umi provided something different and very palatable. As we had not booked we decided to have an early dinner (7pm)...More

Thank manupete
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Most expensive meal we had in cape town. Service was pleasant but main courses let it down alongside the resident rat running around our feet and up the palm tree which the staff brushed off. We know they are around I just don't expect them...More

1  Thank sloggit
Kove_Mngt, Public Relations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Hi Ann E, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent visit to Umi. We would appreciate it if you would email the details of your visit to michellene@kovecollection.co.za as we would like to address the issues you have...More

Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Spacious restaurant on the first floor facing the setting sun. Competent service, and despite some of the reviews all 5 of us enjoyed our food and wine. Given how much we consumed the bill came to R600 per head which I thought v reasonable.

Thank steadyslack
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Most of the bad reviews on here seem to be around the service, staff attitude, being moved or refused a table or a certain degree of disorganisation. This wasn't our experience and I base mine on the quality of the Chef - food was possibly...More

1  Thank Andrew H
Kove_Mngt, Public Relations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Hi Andrew H, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent visit to Umi. We sincerely apologise for your disappointing experience. We would appreciate it if you would email the details of your visit to michellene@kovecollection.co.za as we would...More

Reviewed 6 February 2017

Japanese? Meh. My thoughts too. But, this place isn't really Japanese, it's fusion and its also very good. Out waiter, Justin was great, just the right side of attentive and leaving you alone to enjoy your romantic evening. We popped in at lunch (as the...More

Thank Hardlypodd
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Hi Hardlypodd, Thank you for choosing Umi Restaurant as your choice. We appreciate your positive review. We strive to create a welcoming environment with well-trained friendly staff who understand the hospitable atmosphere we strive for. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience. Kind regards,...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Codfather Seafood & Sushi
3 197 reviews
.16 km away
Ocean Blue
780 reviews
.08 km away
Paranga
1 225 reviews
.02 km away
ZENZERO
1 205 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Camp's Bay Beach
2 163 reviews
.07 km away
Cosy Bay Beach
5 reviews
.46 km away
Skaris Touring
123 reviews
.24 km away
Theatre on the Bay
63 reviews
.24 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Umi staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 201 The Promenade, Victoria Road | Marly Hotel, Camps Bay, South Africa (Formerly Umi at the Marly Hotel)
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Camps Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 21 437 1802
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing