We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Umi

201 The Promenade, Victoria Road | Marly Hotel, Camps Bay, South Africa
+27 21 437 1802
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good32%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“black cod” (13 reviews)
“sushi” (87 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
201 The Promenade, Victoria Road | Marly Hotel, Camps Bay, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 290 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Sits on the first floor, next to a great, new cafe called Belle, which is owned by the chap who owns half of Camps Bay's offerings! Great cocktails, sushi and a solid menu, albeit, for Camps Bay, it's quite pricy!

Thank tmpars7
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to contact us! We hope to see you again in the near future to enjoy our hospitality on offer.

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Love this restaurant. In the summer sit on the deck and take in the sunset and all the beautiful sights of Camps Bay. In the winter, enjoy the interior of this lovely restaurant. The food is exceptional and well priced and the service, in my...More

Thank NB2_13
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Umi Restaurant, our newest concept of the Kove Collection. We look forward to seeing you in the near future for more of our winter specials or in the future for an exciting Japanese cocktail.

Reviewed 5 July 2014

This place is divine. It has great views, amazing food and fantastic drinks. Service is great and the waiters know about the dishes and the food, which is refreshing. The cocktails are super, especially the Singapore Sling!! The only thing missing in my view is...More

Thank emmykeyes
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your review, positive feedback is so rewarding to team at Umi. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Nice and trendy place, beautiful views. Slow staff, friendly but have no idea what they are doing, what's on their menu or what's on their wine list. Sushi and rest of the Japanese food dished very very average, more on the poor side than average....More

Thank travellingtheplanet
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we take our customer satisfaction very seriously. Please can you email the details of your experience to ops@kovecollection.co.za so we can address the issues raised in your review. We look forward to hearing from you.

Reviewed 24 May 2014

My wife and I called in simply because it looked as though the view would be great - and we were not disappointed - it doesn't get much better than sitting on the first floor terrace at Umi looking out over the beach in the...More

Thank Nickynoodle1278
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Wonderful Asian/seafood food, we ate here twice - lunch and dinner. Great views for lunchtime and a good vibe in the evening. Our waiter at lunch - I think he was called Lucky... was excellent fun and served us very well. Lovely decor.

Thank Heather L
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed everything that Umi strives to provide in in the guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back . regards, Alison

Reviewed 30 April 2014

The walk in already was a wow,it is realy stunning! Then to top it up impecable service. We were realy stunned, awesome wine list and then the best of it allthe food was devine! Totaly recomend this place for all visitors to Camps Bay.

Thank Swanniezh
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for posting your review. It is a pleasure to have looked after you and our team is standing by looking forward to welcoming you back . regards, Alison Thomas

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Went to Umi on our first night in Cape Town. Food was excellent and location is great.Seating areas very comfortable. Thanks

Thank SimonSultana
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your review and for your wonderful rating . We are looking forward to having you join us again soon. regards, Alison Thomas

Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The view is really superb, I had the steak with a side of the truffle sauce. The steak was perfectly cooked and tender, wasn't crazy about the grilled teriyaki sauce, but that's just personal preference, as I thought the teriyaki took away from the amazing...More

Thank Linky P
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Good day and thank you for visiting us. Please come visit us again soon , our team is looking forward to having you join us again . regards, Alison Thomas

Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great meal and fantastic wine knowledge. Recommend this place to anyone that like seafood, wine and cocktails. Pricey compared to other restaurants in the area but still worth the money

Thank Slates81
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for your review and excellent rating . We are looking forward to your next visit. regards, Alison Thomas

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Codfather Seafood & Sushi
3 193 reviews
.16 km away
Ocean Blue
778 reviews
.08 km away
Paranga
1 223 reviews
.02 km away
ZENZERO
1 203 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Camp's Bay Beach
2 160 reviews
.07 km away
Cosy Bay Beach
5 reviews
.46 km away
Skaris Touring
123 reviews
.24 km away
Theatre on the Bay
63 reviews
.24 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Umi staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 201 The Promenade, Victoria Road | Marly Hotel, Camps Bay, South Africa (Formerly Umi at the Marly Hotel)
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Camps Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 21 437 1802
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing