We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Umi

201 The Promenade, Victoria Road | Marly Hotel, Camps Bay, South Africa
+27 21 437 1802
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good33%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“black cod” (13 reviews)
“sushi” (87 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
201 The Promenade, Victoria Road | Marly Hotel, Camps Bay, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 290 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2014

We came to UMI for lunch & we were given the best service.. Our food & cocktails came so quickly & we were always asked if we were okay.. & lets not forget this restaurant has the best view if you reserve the front tables.....More

Thank KezMcGuirk
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Thank you for your positive review, positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Reviewed 8 October 2014

FANTASTIC food. All very fresh combined with beautiful perfect location..Service was top notch. Great for romance, night out as well as a spot to people watch...Not intimidating !

Thank wielietjies
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Thank you for your positive review. We strive to create an inviting, relaxed atmosphere in our restaurant. Positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving.

Reviewed 8 October 2014

The service here was really great!helpful and friendly staff. I found the food pricey and not so great,well its a Japanese restaurant so if you into that kind of food guess you will enjoy it...

Thank Mpho N
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Thank you for you review. Our Umi Restaurant has Japanese flavour which we understand that it does not appeal to all. We also have an extensive wine list and sushi menu which you may hopefully try out in the future.

Reviewed 30 September 2014

We read about this restaurant and put it on our must do list when we visit Cape Town. Pretty restaurant and comfortable seating. Our waiter Gladwell was informative, and made excellent suggestions to our meal. Wines were pricey as well as the food but I...More

Thank Jacquie W
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Thank you for your review, we continuously strive to provide the very best in top class hospitality and it is through feedback from guests like yourself that we are able to do so.

Reviewed 28 September 2014

After visiting tabletop mountain, we fancied a top notch meal to finish off the day. We chose Umi as the location was beautiful, right on the beach. Our waiter was spot on, made a lunchtime suggestion, also our wines and beer selection. Everything was perfect....More

Thank Jeanette M
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Thank you for your positive review, positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving. We hope that you will enjoy our hospitality again before leaving for Australia.

Reviewed 23 September 2014

Friends took us to Umi Restaurant in Camps Bay, Cape Town. It is a beautiful spot overlooking the beach Food - very good. No complaints at all. Between us we had the pork belly; salmon and beer marinated steak. Service - poor. Nobody seemed to...More

Thank martinwarburg
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we would appreciate it if you would email the details of your visit to ops@kovecollection.co.za as we would like to address the issues you have raised in your review.

Reviewed 21 September 2014 via mobile

What a stunning little find! Sushi was phenomenal. Service was fair. Views were exceptional (we were there over lunch). Cocktails were good but inconsistently produced (and a true barman should be able to recreate a cocktail consistently!) Prices weren't too bad either.

Thank PurdyFamily
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Thank you for your positive review with regards to the standard of our Sushi. We acknowledge your comments about the service and inconsistency in the cocktails. We will address this training need with the management. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 19 September 2014

We chanced on this place after a day of touring and then walking on the beach in Camps Bay. They make fantastic cocktails and the view from the restaurant is unbeatable. Definitely a must if you want to experience a beautiful sunset with a few...More

Thank Nick A
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We hope that you will return to experience our menu offerings which complements our Cocktail and wine list.

Reviewed 18 September 2014

One of the best locations in South Africa for that sun downer with friends or loved ones. Our cocktails were acceptable.

Thank Rooihoogte
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to hopefully enjoy our menu with your sun downers.

Reviewed 31 August 2014

This was our second visit to Umi and on both occasions we found the staff friendly and well informed and the food absolutely delicious...what a find in this part of the city. Great sunset views with inspired cocktails and wine list. Prices are a little...More

Thank DineFrequently
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for your positive review, positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving.

PreviousNext
1272829303134
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 hotels in Camps Bay
The Marly Hotel
237 reviews
.01 km away
The Bay Hotel
1 180 reviews
.07 km away
Primi Royal
446 reviews
.26 km away
The Place on the Bay
333 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Codfather Seafood & Sushi
3 330 reviews
.17 km away
Ocean Blue
833 reviews
.09 km away
Paranga
1 281 reviews
.00 km away
ZENZERO
1 297 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Camp's Bay Beach
2 261 reviews
.06 km away
Cosy Bay Beach
6 reviews
.45 km away
Skaris Touring
129 reviews
.23 km away
Theatre on the Bay
67 reviews
.25 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Umi staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 201 The Promenade, Victoria Road | Marly Hotel, Camps Bay, South Africa (Formerly Umi at the Marly Hotel)
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Camps Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 21 437 1802
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing