We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Umi Restaurant

201 The Promenade, Victoria Road | Marly Hotel, Camps Bay, South Africa
+27 21 437 1802
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good32%
  • Average13%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“black cod” (12 reviews)
“sushi” (78 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
DETAILS
201 The Promenade, Victoria Road | Marly Hotel, Camps Bay, South Africa
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2017

My wife ate mainly Japanese food while mine was more European in style but with oriental spicing. Food everywhere in Camps Bay was good but Umi provided something different and very palatable. As we had not booked we decided to have an early dinner (7pm)...More

Thank manupete
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Most expensive meal we had in cape town. Service was pleasant but main courses let it down alongside the resident rat running around our feet and up the palm tree which the staff brushed off. We know they are around I just don't expect them...More

1  Thank Ann E
Kove_Mngt, Public Relations Manager at Umi, responded to this review

Hi Ann E, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent visit to Umi. We would appreciate it if you would email the details of your visit to michellene@kovecollection.co.za as we would like to address the issues you have...More

Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Spacious restaurant on the first floor facing the setting sun. Competent service, and despite some of the reviews all 5 of us enjoyed our food and wine. Given how much we consumed the bill came to R600 per head which I thought v reasonable.

Thank steadyslack
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Most of the bad reviews on here seem to be around the service, staff attitude, being moved or refused a table or a certain degree of disorganisation. This wasn't our experience and I base mine on the quality of the Chef - food was possibly...More

1  Thank Andrew H
Kove_Mngt, Public Relations Manager at Umi, responded to this review

Hi Andrew H, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent visit to Umi. We sincerely apologise for your disappointing experience. We would appreciate it if you would email the details of your visit to michellene@kovecollection.co.za as we would...More

Reviewed 6 February 2017

Japanese? Meh. My thoughts too. But, this place isn't really Japanese, it's fusion and its also very good. Out waiter, Justin was great, just the right side of attentive and leaving you alone to enjoy your romantic evening. We popped in at lunch (as the...More

Thank Hardlypodd
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this review

Hi Hardlypodd, Thank you for choosing Umi Restaurant as your choice. We appreciate your positive review. We strive to create a welcoming environment with well-trained friendly staff who understand the hospitable atmosphere we strive for. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience. Kind regards,...More

Reviewed 2 February 2017

One of the only restaurants in Camps Bay with open sea view balcony. Excellent food and fabulous wine, all with lovely service.

Thank Nannekederu
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

We were a party of 4, + 2 on the way. The staff sat us at a table for 6, and after ordering our initial drinks, our server came over to apologise and asked us to move tables (towards the inside of the restaurant). We...More

1  Thank siuling
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this review

We are committed to you, our valued customers, and are taking immediate corrective steps to regain your confidence in us. We have begun putting a comprehensive plan in place to provide a better service to you. Our sincere apologies for the disappointment We hope that...More

Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

We loved this place both for sun downers and dinner. Food and cocktails delicious and staff very friendly. Love toilets too! I love a nice toilet....

Thank JRey1974
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Umi Restaurant as your choice. We appreciate your review. We strive to create a welcoming environment with well-trained friendly staff who understand the hospitable atmosphere we strive for. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience. Kind regards, UMI Management

Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Landed here after a recommendation from a friend. To be honest we did not have high expectation, sea front, tourist heaven, steep prices etc etc. However we were pleasantly surprised. Food was fantastic, we had the black cod and calamari. Edamame beans are a must...More

Thank James G
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Umi Restaurant as your choice. We appreciate your positive review. We strive to create a welcoming environment with well-trained friendly staff who understand the hospitable atmosphere we strive for. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience. Kind regards, UMI Management

Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

We had made a reservation. Good view and beautiful place front line in camps bay. Staff not very interested in our order. When we asked how many rolls/nigri etc were included in price waiter seemed tired of US. 1 waiter for all tables, poor guy....More

1  Thank antedental
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this review

Hi antedental, We are committed to you, our valued customers, and are taking immediate corrective steps to regain your confidence in us. We have begun putting a comprehensive plan in place to provide a better service to you. Our sincere apologies for the disappointment We...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Codfather Seafood & Sushi
2 912 reviews
.17 km away
Mezepoli Meze & Wine Bar
416 reviews
.02 km away
Ocean Blue
685 reviews
.09 km away
Blues
1 027 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Camp's Bay Beach
1 977 reviews
.11 km away
Cosy Bay Beach
5 reviews
.45 km away
Skaris Touring
94 reviews
.23 km away
Theatre on the Bay
58 reviews
.25 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Umi staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 201 The Promenade, Victoria Road | Marly Hotel, Camps Bay, South Africa (Formerly Umi at the Marly Hotel)
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Camps Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 21 437 1802