We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Umi

Is this your business?
201 The Promenade, Victoria Road | Marly Hotel, Camps Bay, South Africa
+27 21 437 1802
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good33%
  • Average15%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (89 reviews)
“tuna tataki” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
201 The Promenade, Victoria Road | Marly Hotel, Camps Bay, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2018

I saw other bad reviews of the Sushi, but I thought I'd give Umi the benefit of the doubt and order it anyway. Unfortunately, they were all true and I can order better Sushi at a chain restaurant in London (a city not renowned for...More

Thank warwick93
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent visit to Umi. We would appreciate it if you would email the details of your visit to michellene@kovecollection.co.za as we would like to address the issues you have raised in your...More

Reviewed 15 February 2018

The menu at Umi looks great, it's got a lovely atmosphere and the service is very good, but the food didn't live up to the promise of the menu, which was a real shame. The chicken wings were very nice though!

Thank Lucy I
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

We have been to Umi a number of times. Our waiter has been Jerry who always looks after us. We have never had to complain about the food or service although occasionally it’s a little slow but when you are on holiday you don’t really...More

Thank Flyer1960
Reviewed 4 February 2018

It was a cold evening, and needed a warmer to enjoy the terrace; however we were told that the restaurant had only 2 warmers which were allocated to other tables. Food was awful, and please do not order the veg teriyaki... horrible oily dish. We...More

Thank Laila44
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent visit to Umi. We would appreciate it if you would email the details of your visit to michellene@kovecollection.co.za as we would like to address the issues you have raised in your...More

Reviewed 4 February 2018

Worst seared tuna I have ever eaten. Good service and views. Very disappointed in the average and over-priced food.More

Thank De Villiers C
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Umi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent visit to Umi. We would appreciate it if you would email the details of your visit to michellene@kovecollection.co.za as we would like to address the issues you have raised in your...More

Reviewed 30 January 2018

We went into Umi for drinks.. We ordered 4 drinks which took ages to arrive & then when they did arrive there were only 3 & we were told there was no mango for the mango daiquiri. We ordered another drink but by the time...More

Thank Petrina K
Reviewed 22 January 2018

We had a birthday dinner here in December. The place looks really nice and has a lovely view. Unfortunately the service was a let down, not very attentive and very very very slow. Eventually, when the food arrived, it was worth waiting for. It is...More

Thank Lauraanjali
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

Situated across the road from the beach, take 20 steps up to a great view of the ocean an beach whilst sipping on your favourite cocktail ... awesome.

Thank optops
Reviewed 16 January 2018

Best sushi in Cape Town with a spectacular view of Camps Bay!! Oscar’s service was superb. Great menu, awesome wines, and relaxing ambiance.

Thank gilest2018
Reviewed 9 January 2018

It is a lovely elegant restaurant in the middle of Camps bay. The food was excellent and it was presented very nicely. Since all the other restaurants supply very large portions these were not but it could have been my choice. Lovely place friendly service...More

Thank 1RichardBrighton
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 hotels in Camps Bay
The Marly Hotel
247 reviews
.01 km away
The Bay Hotel
1 217 reviews
.05 km away
Primi Royal
450 reviews
.25 km away
South Beach Camps Bay
407 reviews
.32 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Codfather Seafood & Sushi
3 438 reviews
.17 km away
The Butcher Restaurant
418 reviews
.06 km away
Ocean Blue
874 reviews
.09 km away
Paranga
1 321 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Skaris Touring
136 reviews
.23 km away
Cosy Bay Beach
6 reviews
.46 km away
Camp's Bay Beach
2 346 reviews
.06 km away
Theatre on the Bay
67 reviews
.25 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Umi staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 201 The Promenade, Victoria Road | Marly Hotel, Camps Bay, South Africa (Formerly Umi at the Marly Hotel)
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Camps Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 21 437 1802
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;