We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
201 The Promenade, Victoria Road | Marly Hotel, Camps Bay, South Africa (Formerly Umi at the Marly Hotel)
+27 21 437 1802
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 287: English reviews
Epsom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had dinner in Umi. Overlooking the beach front great position for your experience. Food really good, a very worthwhile try. Will visit again on our next visit to Camps bay

Helpful?
Thank AlbertEpsom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stopped here after watching the sunset on Camps Bay Beach. Camps Bay doesn't fail for sunsets and Umi is a nice setting to sit, chat, have a few drinks and some sushi. The restaurant is a bit confusing in layout, I think by day they have a different set up compared to the night. The waiter was very friendly. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank acekicker77
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice find on Camps Bay. Great food and good service. We had the potstickers to start and Teriyaki beef and chicken for mains. The beef was extremely tender and the chicken tasty, both served with sticky rice. Glad we chose here from the other places. Very reasonable to.

Helpful?
Thank james595832
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I decided to take my Wife and Daughter for Sushi @ Umi, as my visiting Cousins from Johannesburg had introduced my wife and I to Umi on there last visit to Cape Town, Food was Great that Day, as it was on this Beautiful Evening. Our opinion was that it was the Best Sushi that we have ever Tasted, because... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steen-69
Joburg
Level Contributor
308 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed a early dinner at UMI , and reserved a table overlooking the bay. What a wonderful spot to enjoy the sunset , its world class. A relaxed atmosphere , with quality sushi options made the evening most enjoyable. As one would expect in CT the service is friendly and a little delayed in urgency. Great sundown and pre... More 

Helpful?
Thank EONJoburg
Therwil, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

wonderful food - specially the sushi and the fish is very good. very good price for a great service and best quality.

Helpful?
Thank tschneider2017
Seattle
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fabulous meal of small tasting plates. Everything was delicious, hot and beautifully served. Restaurant is on the beach and had an elegant comfortable vibe. We can't say enough wonderful things about this great restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Cherylswroth
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Service poor. Our order was forgotten. After a hour we chased our food up which had quite clearly been forgotten. We finally got our food which had been clearly rushed as was tasteless. Waiting on staff completely ignored our table. Had to wait half hour for a drink. Too top it off, they had a cheek to put a service... More 

Helpful?
Thank NicoCheshireUK
Kove_Mngt, Public Relations Manager at Umi, responded to this review

Hi NicoCheshireUK, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent visit to Umi. We would appreciate it if you would email the details of your visit to michellene@kovecollection.co.za as we would like to address the issues you have raised in your review. Kind regards, Michellene Leo More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On a hot sunny Sunday afternoon we dined at this amazing restaurant out on the terrace overlooking Camps Bay beach. We were very pleased with our meal. I had the Pork Belly which was exactly the way I dreamed it would be. My cutlery melted through the pork belly which was succulent on the inside and crisp on the outside.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Remondy K
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Cape Town as most know is full of really great restaurants probably more so than any other city I have visited. Every February we rent a house but not usually in Camps Bay but this year has been a little different. With only a 5 minute walk to the restaurants of Camps Bay we ended up visiting Uni on 4... More 

Helpful?
Thank Flyer1960

Travellers who viewed Umi also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Umi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3,5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3,5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
View, Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 201 The Promenade, Victoria Road | Marly Hotel, Camps Bay, South Africa (Formerly Umi at the Marly Hotel)
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Camps Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 21 437 1802

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Umi staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?