We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
PLAYING WITH FIRE Our beachfront live-fire restaurant with the most coveted terrace in Camps Bay, Zenzero offers family-friendly wood-fired fare from land and sea. Our open-plan wood-fired ovens take centre stage in a cosy, ocean-facing eatery with indoor and terrace dining with a front-row seat to Camps Bay.
PRICE RANGE
R 250 - R 10 000
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Pizza
FEATURES
Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Waterfront, Beach, Non-smoking restaurants, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (1 824)
Filter reviews
1 410 results
Traveller rating
599
461
182
94
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
599
461
182
94
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pasta prawns chilli salmon steak bread cape town our waiter nice restaurant overlooking the beach wine list south africa view sunset promenade strip ocean
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were looking for a place to hang to watch the sunset. This place exceeded our expectations! Just a glass of wine and the sunset would have been enough. We were fortunate to have found this place which also serves great food. Daughter had beef...ragu and loved it. Delicious pizzas! The scallops were nicely seasoned. Amazing cocktails! Great service too!More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kove Collection Marketing, Marketing at Zenzero, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jassmine, we are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We love when "just drinks" extends into dinner. We are glad that you enjoyed your meals and that the views and drinks contributed to your enjoyable experience. We...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were recommended this place from our hotel and weren’t disappointed. Great food and wine at reasonable prices. We booked and it was busy. Lovely views and fab ambience.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kove Collection Marketing, Marketing at Zenzero, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that the views and ambiance were to your liking. Thank you for feeding back to us about your experience. We look forward to hopefully hosting you during your next trip...More

Reviewed 13 April 2024 via mobile

Really lovely little place, great location good food and service and good vibes all round. We had a great quick meal with cocktails and I would recommend.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kove Collection Marketing, Marketing at Zenzero, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Alice, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that your drinks and meal were to your liking. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, the Zenzero team

Reviewed 12 April 2024 via mobile

had dinner last night ...really good food and great service all the food onour table hit the spot ...very enjoyable evening would recommend !

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kove Collection Marketing, Marketing at Zenzero, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest, we are glad to hear that your meal was satisfactory. Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, the Zenzero team

Reviewed 28 March 2024 via mobile

Pros: + a great view over the ocean + good quality food (langoustine, pizza and pasta were good, the burger with chips - average) + Service until the point of serving food & drinks Cons: - Service after the food & drinks were served is...very slow: dirty dishes not being picked up for over 40 min - If you want any coffee or pudding, you have to actively fetch a waiter - WC dirty / in bad condition: no one checks / cleans in between, the screws on the lock in one of the 2 loos are unscrewed so one could hardly lock the door, the paper toilet holder is broken, the water tap is broken - and last but not least, the management is aware of these shortcomings (in particular, WCs), which would have been an easy and quick fix, but appear not to care All in all, it is okay to go there once but not a place to return to, which is a shame as this restaurant has great potential.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kove Collection Marketing, Marketing at Zenzero, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2024

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent visit to our restaurant. We're glad you enjoyed the ocean view and found the quality of the food to be good overall. However, we apologise for the shortcomings you experienced, particularly with the slow...More

Reviewed 22 March 2024

The food wasn't too bad, although not as good as other restaurants we experienced in the Cape Town area. We left feeling hungry due to the portions and decided not to indulge in the limited and pricey choices of deserts. Service was rushed and abrupt,...at no time were we asked if the food was okay. Perhaps a bit picky, but the waiter reached over the table from wrong side a couple of times, which displays poor service. My lager glass came out 90% full. The views out over the beach and sea were a highlight.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kove Collection Marketing, Marketing at Zenzero, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

Dear David, we are disappointed to hear about your experience with us and that our offering was not satisfying. Thank you for bringing your service concerns to our attention, we have relayed your feedback to our management team and are working on bettering this going...More

Reviewed 21 March 2024

This is an exceptional restaurant with fantastic choices of freshly prepared fish, the majority of it caught locally. Management and serving staff are welcoming and go the extra mile. Lucy, serving our table, was excellent and had good knowledge of the menu and the wide...array of wines. We always go out of our way to dine here and we have never been disappointed. The dining concept is a winner and its popularity speaks for itself. Do not miss this experience!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kove Collection Marketing, Marketing at Zenzero, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2024

Dear Elizabeth, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your repeat and ongoing patronage. We love to welcome back regulars. We are glad that our team continues to provide you with memorable experiences each time you...More

Reviewed 10 March 2024 via mobile

Rubbish experience. Ordered scallops with no price on the menu. Ended up with 4 tiny scallops and was charged 695 Rand, the price of 3 steaks. Asked for the manger who was very rude. Asked us if the waiter had advised the price and I...said they hadn’t and basically made out it was my problemMore

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kove Collection Marketing, Marketing at Zenzero, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Dear Lindsey, we are disappointed to hear about your recent experience with us. We have relayed your feedback to management and are working on bettering our service going forward. Kind regards, the Zenzero team

Reviewed 9 March 2024 via mobile

Ordered Margherita pizza and pepperoni pizza and salmon plate Margarita pizzas more like a cheese pizza. Pepperoni pizza was not bad. Salmon plate was horrible - the fish was oily with no taste & the side veggies were deep-fried. I had to send my drink...back and the remake the was not any better. Would not recommend this restaurant even though menu looks great.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kove Collection Marketing, Marketing at Zenzero, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Dear Ravi, we are disappointed to hear that our offering was not to your liking. Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us and for brining your concerns to our attention. We have relayed your sentiments to our kitchen team and are working...More

Reviewed 17 February 2024 via mobile

Had a lovely meal in the recommended spot in camps bay and definitely didn’t disappoint. Really nice T Bone, wine and the mussels to start were 👌 (T Bone steak about £20 really reasonable - enough to share!)More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kove Collection Marketing, Marketing at Zenzero, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Dear Loz, we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that your meal was to your liking. We are glad that we could meet your expectations and did not disappoint! We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon. Kind regards,...More

Reviewed 1 February 2024

Great restaurant, but the third party reservation service they use isn’t great. Dineplan shows they accept AMEX for reservation payments yet apparently they do not and the link is confusing regarding this. The restaurant staff apparently doesn’t know this minor issue with their reservation system...either. Way to difficult to simply make a reservation.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kove Collection Marketing, Marketing at Zenzero, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2024

Dear Mike, thank you for brining your concerns to our attention. We do not accept AMEX cards and we apologise for any inconveniences caused by this. Please could you email social@kovecollection.co.za and let us know where you saw that we accept AMEX cards? We are...More

Reviewed 14 January 2024 via mobile

Why 2 out of 5? … We have eaten in all the best rated restaurants from the VA Waterfront, Camps Bay down the Garden Route to Knynsa & this was by far the worst. The chicken starter was dry, the service was poor, we had...to wait 20 mins for a bottle of wine on a lunch time!! Not a busy time!!! Chased Twice!!! it was by far the most average food we have eaten for the most expensive price. If you are looking for good restaurants in Canps Bay go to Bovine or Codfather 👍More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kove Collection Marketing, Marketing at Zenzero, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

Dear Sam, we are disappointed to hear about your experience with us. This is not the level of service and quality of food we strive to uphold. Thank you for brining your concerns to our attention and for taking the time to feedback to us....More

Reviewed 2 January 2024

Beautifully designed restaurant with wall-to-wall books making you feel like you’re in a library (which also dampens the background noise). Really well cooked steak served with seasonal vegetables with extensive wine list. Recommended for visitors to Camps Bay but booking is essential (we turned up...on a Tuesday for a table for two and were turned away).More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kove Collection Marketing, Marketing at Zenzero, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2024

Dear guest, we are delighted to hear you came back and were able to dine with us. We are thrilled to hear that our steak and wine list were both to your liking and that the atmosphere was welcoming. Thank you for taking the time...More

Reviewed 1 January 2024

The service at Zenzero is nothing short of brilliant. Attentive staff with genuine smiles anticipate your needs and guide you through the menu with infectious enthusiasm. They're knowledgeable about the dishes and passionate about the restaurant's philosophy, making the dining experience even more enjoyable. And...then there's the food. Oh, the food! "Amazing" simply doesn't do it justice.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kove Collection Marketing, Marketing at Zenzero, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2024

Dear guest, we are thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable dining experience with us. We are delighted that our offering was to your liking and that you were well taken care of by our staff. Thank you for taking the time to feedback...More

Reviewed 31 December 2023 via mobile

The restaurant looks good, They lied to us rather than say regulars are getting the best tables. we booked our New Year’s Eve table, we were told it’s not possible to reserve specific tables. Arrive and first come first served and guess what specific tables...reserved, they end up them trying to make us share. My view totally money grabbing. Fill as many covers seats as possible. Waiter 10/10 management 0More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kove Collection Marketing, Marketing at Zenzero, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2024

Dear Mike, we are disappointed to hear about your experience with us. Thank you for brining it to our attention. Please note, if you made a reservation as a table of two you would have been informed, when booking, that you would be seated at...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Marly Boutique Hotel & Spa
480 reviews
.02 km away
The Bay Hotel
1 753 reviews
.10 km away
South Beach Camps Bay Boutique Hotel
1 005 reviews
.30 km away
Casa Grace Villa, Camps Bay
4 reviews
.46 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Bo-Vine Wine & Grill House
526 reviews
.08 km away
The Attic by Bo-Vine
5 reviews
.08 km away
Codfather Seafood & Sushi
4 532 reviews
.13 km away
Paranga
1 698 reviews
.03 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Camp's Bay Beach
2 842 reviews
.26 km away
Theatre on the Bay
94 reviews
.23 km away
Skaris Touring
289 reviews
.25 km away
Mountain View Horse Trails
13 reviews
.30 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
David B
31 July 2020|
Answer
Response from 184sandiem | Reviewed this property |
Uncertain times the place we stay In Stellenbosch is still in lockdown I spoke to our friend yesterday who works there we are supposed to be going next January all on hold ,just keep checking
0
Votes
bazza56hols
11 February 2020|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from PeteH859 | Reviewed this property |
Chicken saltimboca and the risotto
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

Zenzero, Camps Bay - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Zenzero

Zenzero is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4