We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bilboa

Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8002, South Africa
+27 21 286 5155
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good23%
  • Average12%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“crispy prawns” (8 reviews)
“lemon tart” (4 reviews)
“kingklip” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8002, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

We arrived as a family of 4 without a reservation at 8pm midweek, we were greeted at the front entrance by a very charming Scottish man Greg, who managed to find us a table on the balcony overlooking the beach, a perfect spot for sunset....More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank MikeyJamesWright
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Bilboa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for complementary review of your visit to Bilboa. We're delighted that we have exceeded all your expectations and certainly appreciate the 5 stars! Your positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving. Glad that...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to Bilboa with friends and didn’t stay for a full dinner due to the poor service and average starters. Our waiter didn’t pay us much attention, we had to call him for everything from drinks to menus to the bill.. After a few drinks...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank RobynP1059
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The view was superb but sadly the service and the food were lacking. There were not enough staff. The wine list was pretty poor, no details on the vineyard or the flavour of the wine. The food was ok but average.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank AnnieLouDean
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Bilboa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent visit to Bilboa. We sincerely apologise that we have not met your expectation. Please note that your concerns has been addressed with the senior management and the executive chef. Once again,...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dear Travelers, I really do not recommend this disgusting restaurant! This the true, miserable service, poor food and mediocre manager. Do not go! So expensive and such a bad experience. The waiters do not pain attention to your table, even though you order an expensive...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank caroliwancow
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Bilboa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent visit to Bilboa. We sincerely apologise that we have not met your expectation. Please note that your concerns has been addressed with the senior management and the executive chef. Please can...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in camps bay for a weeks holiday and enjoyed many meals on the sea front with high standards of food and service throughout. Bilbao, however, was a huge disappointment. The service was ok but the food was awful. We both had the lamb...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank T3300KUdavej
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Bilboa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent visit to Bilboa. We sincerely apologise that we have not met your expectation. Please note that your concerns has been addressed with the senior management and the executive chef. Please can...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This restaurant has amazing views over Camps Bay and looked very smart when we booked the day before our visit. Was disappointed with the choice of food and ambience of the place on the night.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank George C
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Bilboa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent visit to Bilboa. We apologise that we have not met your expectation. We hope that we are allowed another opportunity to change your perception of our restaurant. Please can you email...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A disappointing evening. Pretentious yet fails to deliver on good service. Waiting staff doing their best but run off their feet. Too little staff and a full restaurant is an inevitable bad combination. The food however was good, but food ‘doth not make a restaurant’....More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Vbarrell
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Bilboa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent visit to Bilboa. We sincerely apologise that we have not met your expectation. We hope that we are allowed another opportunity to change your perception of our restaurant. Please can you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were a table of four,friendly and warm welcome from the manager.The steaks were grilled to perfection.The sword fisch with coriander carrots was out of this world.Lovely,well trained serving staff.Will definitely be back.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank LoveTravel825548
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Bilboa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for complementary review of your visit to Bilboa. We're delighted that we have exceeded all your expectations and certainly appreciate the 5 stars! Your positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving. Glad that...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went there for dinner on a surprisingly cold November evening. So we ordered 2x lamb and 2 x short rib with a great bottle of red wine. First of all we were told the red may be out of stock but our waitress would...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Dominic_Traveller
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Bilboa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent visit to Bilboa. We sincerely apologise that we have not met your expectation. Please note that your concerns has been addressed with the senior management and the executive chef. We hope...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Sat on the terrace overlooking the sea for the final lunch of our holiday. Our waiter, Elvis, was friendly and really attentive. He asked how long we wanted between courses which ensured a relaxed long lunch. The food was excellent. Would definitely recommendMore

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Donhumphrioni
Kove_Mngt, Manager at Bilboa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for complementary review of your visit to Bilboa. We're delighted that we have exceeded all your expectations and certainly appreciate the 5 stars! Your positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving. Glad that...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 hotels in Camps Bay
The Marly Hotel
268 reviews
.03 km away
The Bay Hotel
1 301 reviews
.09 km away
Primi Royal
464 reviews
.25 km away
South Beach Camps Bay
475 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Codfather Seafood & Sushi
3 679 reviews
.16 km away
Ocean Blue
941 reviews
.07 km away
PRIMI
353 reviews
.17 km away
The Butcher Restaurant
472 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Skaris Touring
159 reviews
.25 km away
Cosy Bay Beach
7 reviews
.47 km away
Camp's Bay Beach
2 499 reviews
.08 km away
Theatre on the Bay
75 reviews
.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jane A
16 October 2018|
Answer
Response from Wonita P | Reviewed this property |
hi there. im not sure.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$5 - US$19
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8002, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Camps Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 21 286 5155
  • E-mail
Description
Breezing onto the Camps Bay strip, Bilboa brings with it its own brand of contemporary chic, exclu-sive location and enviable views across the Atlantic Ocean. Diners are offered a contemporary space, unlike any other along the beachfront. Coupled with an uninterrupted view, this lends Bilboa an elevated level of sophistication.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing