We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, Sushi
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, Drinks
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Table Service, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Full Bar
View all details
features, about
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
21
22
27
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
21
22
27
9
5
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 18 January 2024

I was amazed at the selection of the Lunch Items. You can mix and match a lot of tastes. I could not help mysef and had a great Sushi and Grilled fish and Prawn meal all for under R200.00 including a cool drink. The Waiters...and manager were attentive and I was served with a smile. I felt so welcome in this restaurant. Thank you. I will be back for sure.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ocean Basket, Owner at Ocean Basket Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2024

Hello David, Could it have been any better? We don’t think so. 5-stars! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and that our team provided you with attentive service and delicious seafood. We hope to "sea" you again soon. Many thanks,...More

Reviewed 19 May 2023

Our experience in this restaurant has been extremely negative and unpleasant, so it is worth to share it here in Tripadvisor. The restaurant, which is quite nice and serves good food, cannot assure the safety of its guests. We have been attacked by 2 armed...persons while we were leaving the restaurant and approaching our car, parked 4 meters in front of the entrance. When we arrived, the security was present and controlling the parking and the main entrance; when we left, the security was incredibly not there despite it was the moment when the clients were leaving, so the criminals could easily attack us. Moreover, we have been said that the restaurant has a video surveillance system, which however doesn’t cover (incredibly again) the entrance area. The service in the restaurant appeared to be very fast for all the clients, expect for us. They took more than 1 hour to serve us, despite we ordered very basic dishes. In this way, even though we arrived very early, at 6.15pm, we have been among the last clients to leave; in this way the parking was empty. The absence of the security did the rest. It has been a case….who knows! The doubt will remain, but in the meantime we will certainly not come back and we will discourage anyone we know to go there. So be extremely careful!More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ocean Basket, Owner at Ocean Basket Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2023

Good day Marco Q, We are dismayed to see this review about the safety at Ocean Basket Nelspruit. We are extremely sorry that this was your experience. We would like the opportunity to investigate this fully. Please follow the link to leave us with your...More

Reviewed 17 September 2022

We liked the overall environment, the nice terrace isolated from the busy Ferreira St. by a wall of trees and plants, the nice decoration, the excellent service, the rich menu... I was however disappointed by the salmon in my sushi, which was not sufficiently fresh...to my opinion. Since I only ordered salmon sushi and sashimi, my whole meal was disappointing!More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ocean B, Owner at Ocean Basket Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2022

Hi there Marylene S, Thanks for the review. Although we are glad to read about the excellent service, we are disappointed that you did not get to enjoy our sushi. We want to rectify this, please follow the link so we can get in touch...More

Reviewed 15 June 2022

Me and my son visited Ocean Basket Nelspruit on Sunday 5 June 22. He always ordered the Bite of the day - we are regulars. The fish was so small that it could fit in the palm of my hand. When asked about the small...fish, I was told that it should be a 100 gram fish. Never knew that the fish should be a specific weight to be in the Bite of the day, Needless to say, we will go elsewhere for a real bite of the day!More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ocean B, Owner at Ocean Basket Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2022

Hi there Budgetgroup123, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're so sorry to hear that you didn't get to enjoy our seafood. We want to get to the bottom of this. Please send us your details using this link....More

Reviewed 22 May 2021 via mobile

We enjoyed seafood that is fresh and well prepared. The waiter is friendly and helpful. The food is prepared quickly and the restaurant have a nice atmosphere.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ocean B, Agency / Consultant at Ocean Basket Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2021

Hi there Johan P, We are thrilled to read your review. Our team at Ocean Basket Nelspruit is always looking to serve up great food, service and atmosphere experience. We look forward to having you back again, soon. Many thanks, The OB Team

Reviewed 30 March 2021

We had a lovely meal at this Ocean Bassket. We loved the out side settings on the stoep. The food was good and the service friendly and quick.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ocean B, Agency / Consultant at Ocean Basket Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2021

Hi there Charlotte P, We are beaming from fin to fin. Thank you for the kind words. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed our food and service. Come and visit again, soon. Many thanks, The OB Team

Reviewed 21 October 2020

Food as expected was good and as per standards. Plenty parking space and well-guarded. Social distancing was maintained.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2020

Hi there Minaz K, Thank you for such a great review. Our team is always looking to serve up a great OB experience. We look forward to having you back again at Ocean Basket Nelspruit, soon. Many thanks, The OB Team

Reviewed 6 January 2020

I do not like competing with flies for my food. It was a battle to see if I could get the food into my mouth before the flies settled on it first. In addition, the oil for the fries was old, the chips overcooked and...the fish was "tired".More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ocean B, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2020

Hi there 195Robd, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. If you could please send us your contact details and feedback to customercare@oceanbasket.com so that we can contact you directly to resolve this matter. We look forward to hearing from...More

Reviewed 4 January 2020 via mobile

We enjoyed a very nice sea good platter at a reasonable price. Fresh fish and well cooked dinner.?Decor of restaurant was recently redone. It is well appointed and the atmosphere is nice. Friendly waiters and ample parking.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ocean B, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2020

Hi Johan P, Thank you for this fin-tastic review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to having you back again, soon. Ocean Basket

Reviewed 3 January 2020

We visited Ocean Basket in Nelspruit recently and were honestly very impressed with the fish dishes we were served. Everything was delicious and the restaurant is lovely too. Excellent service too.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ocean B, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2020

Hey there Orna O, Thank you for reviewing Ocean Basket Nelspruit. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your meal, and that the service was a hit. We look forward to having you back again, soon. Many Thanks, The OB Team

Reviewed 11 December 2019 via mobile

Restaurant looks beautiful after the revamp but oh my... The staff was so loud you could barely hear your people talking. Staff lying against the Barista furniture. Food was tasteless and poorly cooked.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ocean B, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2019

Hi Melvdwalt01, We are concerned that you did not fully enjoy your time with us. We are all about getting things right so we can give our customers an exceptional Ocean Basket experience. Please, could you kindly send us your contact details & a copy...More

Reviewed 30 August 2019

Ocean Basket is a chain of restaurants and we had been in one before in St. Lucia. The same menu. Service is faster here. Why are almost all platters and combination dishes with Calamari??? I had the King Klip Fish and shrimps. Must say, it...is not bad at all. The restaurant chain needs a style make-over by an interior design specialist I have to add. It will contribute to people's experiences and their margin, I think.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2019

Hi Laura Bonazzi, Thank you for taking the time to review Ocean Basket St Lucia. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us! However, we're all about getting things right so we can give our customers an exceptional Ocean Basket experience. If...More

Reviewed 23 December 2018 via mobile

Not a seafood lover but decided to be open minded a give this place a try! Ordered a cosmopolitan, didn’t look/taste like a Cosmo,had Nigiri salmon which was basic & also ordered the veg med bowl, the halloumi cheese had a weird texture & the...roasted veg weren’t tasty WiFi wasn’t working as an international diner, this is a massive let down Overall, underwhelmed by my 1st visit to this chainMore

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2019

Hi there Kaymore_T, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We all about getting things right so we can give our customers an exceptional Ocean Basket experience. Please follow the link to leave us with your details so we can...More

Reviewed 11 December 2018

Food was ok and the service above average ...we ate at Ocean Basket a couple of times whilst in SA ,,,the same quality and quantity you would expect from chain restaurants...price was right!!More

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2018

Hi there Quigie1, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We all about getting things right so we can give our customers an exceptional Ocean Basket experience. Please follow the link to leave us with your details so we can...More

Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

The menu seems rich but there are not much options for vegetarians, even if they are not in the menu the waiter had no idea what you can put in the sushi, Almost every question we had the waiter left us to ask and eventually...there were very limited options for building your own sushi. We know sushi but seems like the waiters and chef have no knowledge about it. After ordering sushi without fish we were still charged for the fish. Also, they have no idea what teriyaki and spicy mayonnaise are. Disappointing.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
199 reviews
1.06 km away
Town Lodge Mbombela
112 reviews
1.32 km away
Road Lodge Mbombela
1 review
1.39 km away
Nelspruit Lodge
757 reviews
1.67 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Orange Restaurant
654 reviews
.89 km away
Jock & Java
143 reviews
.11 km away
The Pub
49 reviews
.17 km away
Sophie's Bistro Mataffin
53 reviews
.95 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Lowveld National Botanical Garden
378 reviews
3.79 km away
i'langa Mall
74 reviews
2.63 km away
Mbombela Stadium
20 reviews
5.13 km away
Pumbaa Wildpark And Accommodation
10 reviews
1.19 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ocean Basket Nelspruit staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

Ocean Basket Nelspruit, Mbombela - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ocean Basket Nelspruit

Yes, Ocean Basket Nelspruit offers takeaway services.

Ocean Basket Nelspruit is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3