We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Steakhouse, Barbecue, Grill
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
11
12
8
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
11
12
8
3
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 16 January 2021

We were 3 adults and a 9 year girl. We drove all day from Mozambique, tired and hungry. All the restaurants were either closing or closed. We decided to call ahead as we knew we still had 50km to go and would not get there...before 7pm. Graceous answered the call and the way she dealt with me was astounding. Professional. friendly Understanding. She said she would help and do a take-away order but I must hurry- they needed to be out by 8pm. I ordered fast: Grilled chicken, 2 burgers and chicken strips. We Drove! She was waiting at 19h15- order ready. With a smile. We begged if we could sit in whilst they cleaned up etc. Ok- no problem. We could order drinks and enjoy a peaceful meal. What service. What Grace. We love you Grceous and staff. Well done for walking the extra mile.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Spur_Steak_Ranches, General Manager at Red Falcon Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2021

Hi S3163Ebantoniod, Thank you for this awesome feedback! We never tire of wonderful reviews about our service and staff - it is much appreciated! Our staff will definitely be happy to see this review. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more Spurrrific...More

Reviewed 10 October 2020 via mobile

The service was ohk.. I had a strawberry milkshake and the Goodie burger.. The burger was awesome the milkshake was ok.. also ordered the Malva pudding and it was burnt and dry. Luckily the manager changed it into another desert which was ohk.. My friend...ordered the Oreo cheese cake and it could've been better. In a nutshell: great service, nice burger, bad deserts.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 14 January 2020

After a long drive from Mozambique we arrived to have a pleasant and relaxed meal before heading back to Gauteng. The food and service was really good, however we had the ambience shattered by the shrill screams and running around in the restaurant of 5...ill disciplined children who's parents were nowhere in sight. Despite the fact that all these children are all well below the age of 10 frequently walked in and out of the smoking/bar area which strictly prohibits children under 18. As we arrived at 20:30 and stayed until 21:45 during which time we were subjected to the continued screaming and running of this group of children without any sign of a parent , we made enquiries from the staff as to the parents whereabouts. Although the staff did their best to control the children they are seemingly not used to any form of discipline. We were surprised to learn that the parents during all that time were socializing with the owner of the establishment at the bar that is located in the smoking area which will explain the children's frequent entering into the restricted area. We are appalled at the parents irresponsible parenting of their children or rather at the lack thereof, but also by the owner frequently permitting flagrant breaches of the law by permitting these children to enter and remain present in a restricted smoking area. I seriously trust Head Office will look into this complaint as it is apparently not an isolated incident but a scene that it plays itself out 3 to 4 times every week with the same group of children while their parents socialize with the owner at the bar. This is unacceptable 😡 Your location Red Falcon Spur Steak Ranch 1 Buffel St,, Malelane, 1320 Restaurant Cheryl Verster 533 points   4 days ago After a long drive from Mozambique we arrived to have a pleasant and relaxed meal before heading back to Gauteng. The food and service was really good, however we had the ambience shattered by the shrill screams and running around in the restaurant of 5 ill disciplined children who's parents were nowhere in sight. Despite the fact that all these children are all well below the age of 10 frequently walked in and out of the smoking/bar area which strictly prohibits children under 18. As we arrived at 20:30 and stayed until 21:45 during which time we were subjected to the continued screaming and running of this group of children without any sign of a parent , we made enquiries from the staff as to the parents whereabouts. Although the staff did their best to control the children they are seemingly not used to any form of discipline. We were surprised to learn that the parents during all that time were socializing with the owner of the establishment at the bar that is located in the smoking area which will explain the children's frequent entering into the restricted area. We are appalled at the parents irresponsible parenting of their children or rather at the lack thereof, but also by the owner frequently permitting flagrant breaches of the law by permitting these children to enter and remain present in a restricted smoking area. I seriously trust Head Office will look into this complaint as it is apparently not an isolated incident but a scene that it plays itself out 3 to 4 times every week with the same group of children while their parents socialize with the owner at the bar. Unacceptable 😥More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Red Falcon Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2020

Hi 875Cherylv, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. Our customers are very important to us. If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on, together with your contact details to customer-care@spur.co.za. We'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further with...More

Reviewed 18 December 2019

This bustling restaurant seems to be the place to be in this town. Good hamburgers, sandwiches, etc and the least expensive western style breakfast you can find. Simple, good food and friendly nice staff who go out of their way to make your experience great!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?2  
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Red Falcon Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2019

Dear Travelmop_10, Thanks so much for taking the time to send us your feedback. Delivering excellent food and service is what we live for - glad you experienced just that! We hope to offer you many more good experiences with us in the future. Kind...More

Reviewed 16 October 2019 via mobile

We got served by Linda and she was great. Very friendly and helpful. The food though.... on the spare ribs there wasn’t a lot of meat and the meat which was on there, was dry cooked. Also the prawns were to long cooked, so they...were tough. If you want to have the best fillet in town, I can recommend The Deck.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Red Falcon Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2019

Hi Mahlegrand, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. Our customers are very important to us. If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on, together with your contact details to customer-care@spur.co.za. We'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further with...More

Reviewed 4 September 2019

I have frequented the Red Falcon Spur in Malalane during the past number of years and have, without fail, found the service and quality of food to be beyond reproach. I will no doubt visit this Spur for a quality serving in future.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Red Falcon Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2019

Dear Go01298371632, Thanks so much for taking the time to send us your feedback. Delivering excellent food and service is what we live for - glad you experienced just that! We hope to offer you many more good experiences with us in the future. Kind...More

Reviewed 27 May 2019

Visited this place for dinner. Being vegiterians we found good options which we enjoyed. Loved their Nachos, Pizza and Waffle. With nice play area for children its a good, lively family resturant.

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Red Falcon Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2019

Hi there Madhurapras, Thank you for your Spurrrific review of Red Falcon Spur. We're thrilled to know that the nachos, pizza and waffles were delicious. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Warm regards, Spur Family

Reviewed 20 May 2019

I LUV Spur, it is always on mark with great quality food and great service, and all well priced.I personally love the deep fried mushrooms, well worth a visit.

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Red Falcon Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2019

Hi Wayne H, Thank you for the awesome 5 ⭐ review! Our selection of mouth-watering meals is perfect for people with a taste for life - glad you enjoyed it! We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Warm regards, Spur Family

Reviewed 28 April 2019 via mobile

Worst experience ever. Waited a hour for food. Not even busy. Food cold. Will not recommend this Spur or any other Spur ever.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Manager at Red Falcon Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2019

Hi Ronaldh1985 We are sorry to see your Spur experience wasn't a good one. We would appreciate the opportunity to get in touch with you directly to discuss your review so that we can work to rectify this. If you could kindly provide us with...More

Reviewed 23 April 2019

We were on our way back from Mozambique and decided to stop at the Spur in Malelane to have lunch. We have received good service but the food was a total let down!! We have ordered ribs. The ribs had a blue/grey colour with so...much fat. The meat tasted like processed meat and it was as if it has been warmed up in a microwave, painted with a bit of their basting sauce and whala! In your plate! We were so sick that evening. Yuk, the quality of their food was so disappointing!!More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Owner at Red Falcon Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2019

Dear Wilmamarais, Thank you for taking the time to review our Red Falcon Spur restaurant. We are sorry to read that this was your experience, your feedback is much appreciated. If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on, together with your contact details to customer-care@spur.co.za....More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Elegant Guest House Malelane
1 review
.59 km away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
626 reviews
4.44 km away
Doringpoort Lodge
11 reviews
29.66 km away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
415 reviews
32.14 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Hamilton’s Restaurant
259 reviews
4.94 km away
The Deck
250 reviews
1.61 km away
Duck 'n Dive Saloon
85 reviews
.67 km away
Wimpy
24 reviews
.49 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
CD Tours - Day Trips
45 reviews
.57 km away
Humulani Tours & Safaris
8 reviews
26.73 km away
Matsamo Cultural Village
82 reviews
28.62 km away
Malelane Gate, Kruger National Park
71 reviews
4.26 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Red Falcon Spur Steak Ranch staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing