We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
International, Healthy
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
16
7
10
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
16
7
10
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 16 February 2024 via mobile

My family and I recently enjoyed a picnic at Boschendal, set against the idyllic backdrop of its expansive vineyards. The experience of dining out on the lawn, shaded by trees and seated on a comfortable blanket, truly set the scene for what was a memorable...day. The food was great. And there was lots of it. It was pleasant for the children to be able to play some of the lawn games and in the little treehouse. However, the service aspect did leave much room for improvement. For example, we were just handed a box. “Here's your meal. Enjoy.” No indication of what to do with all the different packets and condiments in the box, most of which were foreign to us not being native to South Africa. A small example is there was little packets of what we eventually discovered was little handcrafted macaroni and cheese which were to be dipped in the house-made ketchup, (which was another packet). But if we hadn't done a little bit of research on the website of this estate, we would have no idea what it was that the children were even eating or the fact that they should dip it in this house-made ketchup. This is just one example. There were many other sauces and humus for the adults’ meals as well and nobody had told us what goes with what or what each thing was for. There were no labels on anything and, again, it took a bit of research on their website to know even what it was we were eating and how to put the different things together. There were these little bits of meat, for example, that the boys had and we found out later that they were a typical dried meat from South Africa (“bulging”). But for all intents and purposes, it looked like dried cranberries (before opening the unlabeled packet.) No idea what to even do with it. The children's meals did not come with even a list or menu of what they were to be eating. (Nor napkins BTW.) Same with the adults’ meals. No idea what to do with the different condiments. Had to research. It would’ve been nice if the server guided us, like… “and this is such a such and it goes with this” etc. with each of the things that we would be enjoying. While a list was provided for the adult meals, it unfortunately did not match the dishes we received, (it was for the vegetarian alternatives) and this lead to further confusion. Our server, Gabby, seemed to lack knowledge about the estate's offerings, unable to answer even basic questions about the vineyard's operations. Finally, the inclusion of a compulsory 10% gratuity in the bill, regardless of service quality, suggested a lack of incentive for staff to exceed expectations in guest care. It’s like “well I’m getting my tip regardless, so….” In conclusion, while Boschendal offers a picturesque setting with exceptional food that celebrates the local fare, the service component detracted from the overall experience. A more personalized, informative approach to service would have greatly enhanced our visit, making us feel truly valued rather than mere participants in a mass produced assembly line of picnics. My rating reflects a mix of admiration for the culinary experience and disappointment in the service – a solid 3 out of 5 stars. P.S after the picnic, we rented the bicycles and this experience was also underwhelming. But that’s another story.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Boschendal Farm, Agency / Consultant at Rose Garden Picnic at Boschendal, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2024

Dear Greg, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Boschendal. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed the picturesque backdrop of our farm and the expansive lawn during your picnic. It's wonderful to know that the...More

Reviewed 16 April 2023

We were very much looking forward to visiting beautiful Boschendal again as we had such a wonderful memory of a picnic lunch from 25 years ago! For Easter Sunday, we booked the horse riding tour of the estate, followed by a Werf Farm picnic lunch....The directions to the horse riding were severely lacking, but we eventually found the right place only to find they had over-booked, and we were unable to ride at the time we had booked. Of course mistakes happen - but it how the problem is dealt with - and Mandesa (a manager) dealt with this superbly - admitting the error, and providing us with an excellent horse ride just an hour later. (Enjoying the complimentary coffee while we enjoyed the sunshine too). The picnic lunch was amazing - and the complimentary bottle of bubbly was much appreciated too. We loved the singing entertainment and I even had time for a snooze in the sunshine! The level of service was excellent, and Mandesa tuned an error into a huge win. Thank you! We will be happy to return - hopefully sooner than 25 years time!More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2023 via mobile

Where do I start. Highly embarrassed after taking my family from Australia today for a picnic at the Werf. R1000 for 2 slices of ham, 1 tiny Camembert, 2 breadrolls, 4 tiny chicken legs, and some random veg, plus a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc at...crazy markup price. So much single use plastic in basket, surely there are better ways of serving. Music was so loud and unpleasant, killed all and any vibe. Waiter was non-existent, we basically collected our own wine all day. And he still demanded a cash tip at the end. His first words to us when we arrived was “where were you, you are late.” After arriving at 2.10pm for pickup arranged for 2pm. NEVER AGAIN. Boschendal, sort it or shut down entirely, at the moment it is an embarrassment to yourselves and our country. Would far rather take family to a restaurant for that price, and leave full!!More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Boschendal, Agency / Consultant at Rose Garden Picnic at Boschendal, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2023

Thank you for your feedback of your recent visit to Boschendal. We are concerned to see that your experience was not a great one. Please could you email your contact details to marcus.isaacs@boschendal.co.za so we could get in touch with you. We look forward to...More

Reviewed 11 September 2022 via mobile

We really enjoyed our vegan picnic at Boschendal this week. The food was so delicious and well thought out. The staff were humble and helpful. There were lovely extra touches like having floor chairs for extra comfort on the picnic blanket, a band playing live...music, and free games for families. I couldn't recommend this experience more.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Boschendal, Marketing at Rose Garden Picnic at Boschendal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2022

Dear Rebecca, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Werf Picnics at Boschendal. We are delighted to see you had a good experience and got to enjoy the food, scenery and our wonderful team. We hope to welcome you...More

Reviewed 8 December 2021 via mobile

Absolutely loved the healthy and fresh variety of food and salad that was given to us at the picnic. Eco-friendly and practice packaging, great chairs to lean your back against and phenomenal views.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Boschendal, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Picnic at Boschendal, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2022

Hi shortcakebear, Thank you for taking the time to review your picnic experience at Boschendal. We are delighted to see you had a good time and enjoyed a farm-fresh picnic basket. We hope to welcome you back for more picnics and phenomenal views. Warm Regards,...More

Reviewed 7 January 2021

Staff on grounds and entrances commendable for their assistance Waiters at tables - Friendly, carried out requests but not attentive Picnic: Full on at table loses idea of PICNIC - Blankets, cushions would have been a nice idea Setting Idyllic amidst the rose garden and...homestead with mountains in background Food : Loved the jars of sauces within lids of each salad Jar. Quantity was sufficient but meats and cheeses were lacking in presentation and .... Coffee super !! Will be back ...More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BoschendalEstate, Community Manager at Rose Garden Picnic at Boschendal, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2021

Dear Engela, Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Rose Garden Picnic at Boschendal. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly take the points you raised seriously and share with our team. Unfortunately, due to COVID, we cannot provide blankets but...More

Reviewed 4 January 2021

We really enjoyed. the service was very good and the food of a high quality. I missed the blankets on lawns and live music would have been good. But it was during Adjusted level 3. Love all the historic buildings and history. Great pity Boschendal...is not planting fynbos vegetation, considering we are the fastest disappearing habitat in the world.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BoschendalEstate, Community Manager at Rose Garden Picnic at Boschendal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2021

Dear U7252VElindac, Thank you so much for providing us with feedback from your Rose Garden Picnic at Boschendal. We are glad you got to enjoy it even under the Level 3 restrictions. We do have a lot of Fynbos vegetation all over the farm, especially...More

Reviewed 3 January 2021

A party of 6 adults and 5 children. The adults picnic baskets were ample and very well put together. All the ingredients was fresh and tasty. The staff were most attentive and the setting lovely.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BoschendalEstate, Community Manager at Rose Garden Picnic at Boschendal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2021

Dear leighcraigr, Thank you for providing us with feedback from your Rose Garden Picnic experience, we appreciate it. We are delighted to see you enjoyed it, and we hope to welcome you back in future. Kind Regards, The Boschendal Team

Reviewed 3 November 2020

We were a group of 12 people for a birthday party. Grandma uses a walker and helping her to get to the toilet was a mission on the gravel path. In came management - moving us to a different table under a big old tree,...closer to the rest rooms. And that level of service was maintained throughout the afternoon. Unobtrusive, yet always there when needed. The quality and amount of food was even better that my last visit (10 years ago). Well done Boschendal!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BoschendalEstate, Community Manager at Rose Garden Picnic at Boschendal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2020

Dear Ewert, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at our Rhone Rose Garden Picnics, we are delighted to hear that you had a lovely birthday party and that our team was able to assist you in making the experience...More

Reviewed 6 March 2020

The picnic is enormous - a whole french stick between 2, butter, pate, dips, green salad, quinoa salad, crudites, several meats, chutney - and a pudding!

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2020

I left Picnic extremely disappointed with food. First of all, they have to have basic knowledge of what is vegatarian and what's vegan as that was given option for the booking. My husband and I got Vegan option even tho I requested Vegetarian. Quality of...the food was so bad. 3 salads and hummus had a cumin in it so I could not eat it. I end up snacking on raw veggies and hard baguette and actually left hungry but more angry than anything. Vegan cheese was horrible. Even dessert (strawberry cheesecake) was disappointing and not Vegan. We waited for bill so long that I started loosing my patience. No one even came to check on how was our experience. Only good thing is wonderful scenery and wine, otherwise spending Valentines day would be such a waste.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2020

This is the second time we have attended a picnic at Boschendal. The last time was 15 years ago. It is good to see that standards have remained high. I preferred when we used to picnic in an informal setting rather than being grouped together....Most of the food we enjoyed but not all. Boschendal wine is always a good accompaniment.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2020 via mobile

Beautiful mountain views, pretty rose gardens, shady trees and expenses of white linen dressed picnic tables greet you at Boschendal picnics. Service is friendly and prompt. Picnic baskets are shared with two people and include a long baguette, butter, hummus, Camembert, onion ham, smoked meats,...coronation chicken salad, crudités and dip, cos lettuce and herb salad with dressing, cous cous salad and cheesecake. With a bottle of wine and a litre of sparkling water between four, our meal for four cost almost 1600 rand. Enjoyable relaxed lunch.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

Innovative and excellent. You pick the table that suits you. Ours was under a shady tree More details on request

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2020 via mobile

Had a wonderful picnic in the Rose Garden...all very civilised. Plenty of food for us to share and enough to take home to supplement barbecue next day. Great recycling initiatives too.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Simondium's Country Lodge
20 reviews
3.85 km away
Angala Boutique Hotel
494 reviews
5.10 km away
Lynx Estate
35 reviews
6.73 km away
The Hydro at Stellenbosch
149 reviews
6.79 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Werf Restaurant at Boschendal
242 reviews
.10 km away
Banhoek Chilli Oil Company
21 reviews
4.02 km away
La Paris Bistro
78 reviews
6.37 km away
Hari Kitchen
237 reviews
7.36 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Boschendal
1 568 reviews
.21 km away
Vrede en Lust Winery
458 reviews
5.44 km away
Anthonij Rupert Wyne Estate & Terra del Capo Tasting Room
203 reviews
5.04 km away
Rupert & Rothschild Vignerons Tasting Centre
125 reviews
5.61 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Rose Garden Picnic at Boschendal staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

Rose Garden Picnic at Boschendal, Groot Drakenstein - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Rose Garden Picnic at Boschendal

Rose Garden Picnic at Boschendal is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5