We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

al Fiume Riverside Restaurant

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 20/09/23 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from al Fiume Riverside Restaurant
Updated 20/09/23 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$25 - US$80
CUISINES
Italian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
32
35
23
9
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
32
35
23
9
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mash calamari hennops river country estate restaurant week friendly manager ken outing
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 30 May 2021 via mobile

Nice setting.. Food very average ,looks nothing like the pictures... Menu not what is advertised. A little disappointed...a pleasant day out but don't need to go back.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 30 April 2021

For our final undertaking with this season of Restaurant Week, we returned to Al Fiume restaurant situated in the picturesque River Place next to the Hennops River. Again, we were warmly greeted and assisted by the friendly Managers and staff on duty. For this round...of Restaurant Week, the restaurant opted to give their patrons a lovely selection of refreshing and tasty Tapas to enjoy (an option of a Lunch including any 6 Tapas or a Dinner which included 10 Tapas). Fortunately for us, we are more than willing to share with each other, so we ended up selecting 12 of their Tapas (4 Tapas for each course). For starters we had a Quinoa, Chickpea and Lentil salad, their Arancini and 2 types of Gnocchi. The Salad was fresh and crisp, while the Arancini (Deep fried Risotto ball with mushrooms, Parmesan & Buffalo Mozzarella, with a Truffle infused sauce) is a great selection for anyone’s taste (being decadently rich and tasty). The one plate of Gnocchi was served with a fragrant Tomato & Basil Pesto while the other plate of Gnocchi with a heavenly Gorgonzola sauce, both were equally well prepared and very tasty. For mains we chose a Calamari, Grilled Hake and 2 types of Chicken. The Calamari, which was prepared in a sweet and spicy oriental dressing was soft and tasty. The grilled Hake Goujons was grilled to perfection and served in a lovely complementary lemon cream. The one Chicken was a Sticky Smoked BBQ Chicken served with Pineapple and the other a Hot Thai Green Chicken Curry. The BBQ Chicken, was succulent and sweet, with the BBQ and Pineapple complementing each other perfectly. The Thai Curry, was deliciously spicy and fragrant (definitely one of my favourites). For the desert we opted to only get 2 Sweet Tapas and added 2 additional Savoury Tapas (instead of getting 4 Sweet Tapas in total). We ended up getting the Beef Fillet & Herbed Meatball. The Beef Fillet, topped with Rocket, Parmesan shavings and Balsamic reduction was perfectly prepared and very tasty (all the ingredients being a great combination, balancing salty and creamy richness). The Meatball was well seasoned and great with the Linguini (tasting home made) and very tasty Tomato sauce. For desert we selected the Chocolate Mousse & Crème Brule. Both deserts were rich and smooth, and the perfect ending to a great taste feast.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Ken D, General Manager at al Fiume Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

Thank you Ockert. As always, I am delighted when you and all the other Restaurant patrons enjoy your precious time with special friends and family at River Place. It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to seeing you again, sooner rather than...More

Reviewed 18 April 2021

We had booked for a Tapas lunch and expected a laid back afternoon. The setting was idyllic, under the trees with the river flowing by and the sound of the birds nearby. The service was relaxed but efficient and non intrusive. The menu looked inviting...with a good variety of starters, main courses and deserts. This experience was going to be a good one. Each person could select any six dishes on the menus in any order. We all made our selection and had a drink. The first course arrived, and then the second etc, each course well presented and very tasty. Despite good conversation and the relaxed atmosphere, it all came to a rather abrupt end. Why? Because each course was but a mouthful, leaving us wanting more not only because it was so good but more importantly because we left our table hungry. Tapas? Definitely. A sit down lunch? Definitely not. We asked whether there was a full menu and this was indeed available but the portions on the dishes that passed our table were certainly not encouraging and did not seem worth the expense. If the price of the Tapas menu was more reasonable, this place would be a great destination for a drinks and snacks afternoon.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 October 2020

Situated at the River Place Country Estate in the Hennops River Valley, this restaurant forms part of a wonderful venue offering accommodation and caters for weddings and business gatherings. We visited them for our fourth outing on Restaurant Week and were seated on the deck...overlooking the tranquil river passing by and were served complimentary bubbly which was very refreshing in the heat of the day. For starters we settled on the Calamari and Arancini. The tender calamari was lightly grilled and served in a spicy sambal dressing, lovely and refreshing. Arancini, which are Risotto balls with mushroom, Parmesan and Buffalo Mozzarella which were deep fried and served in a truffle infused sauce were unfortunately bland and had no real taste. For mains we enjoyed a Green Thai Chicken Curry and their Pork Belly. The Thai Curry was wonderfully flavoured with chili and coriander which beautifully infused with the coconut milk sauce. This was served with a combination of wild, basmati and brown rice (also cooked with coconut milk) and a serving of carrot & cucumber pickle. The pork belly was a melt in your mouth feast, served with an apple, honey and chili chutney which added to the sticky delight of the pork. The sides of mash and vegetables were fresh and fitted well with the rest of the meal. From the warm greeting of the security guard at the gate to the very friendly Manager Ken as well as the wonderful service we received from our very professional and friendly waiter Andrew, we greatly enjoyed our visit and hope to see them again soon.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 23 January 2019 via mobile

Tried to phone the restaurant to make a reservation. Neither phone numbers worked. I probably should have realised then that this was not going to be good. So I made a reservation by email. I received a phone call and email confirmation of my reservation...a week in advance. On the night, we drive the half an hour to get to the restaurant, to find that something exploded in the microwave, it looked pretty bad, and that neither the kitchen nor the restaurant were expecting us. There was a buffet for a team building thing... :/ So my dad I livid, because it's his birthday and we have to find somewhere else to eat, and I'm pretty unhappy by the whole thing. I'd avoid this place.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
KenD1949, General Manager at al Fiume Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2019

Hi Deesha Firstly, as in the mailed response. I would like to apologise for the reservation communication debacle. It was unacceptable and definitely not the norm. Correctional counselling with the relevant Staff member has occurred and we do not expect any further problems with reservations....More

Reviewed 19 December 2018

We went to Al Fiume for a 50th birthday celebration and despite the changes due to the unfortunate fire, the place is still lovely;y - lunch by the river is a great setting and the food on offer was delicious! The pool was great for...the kids! It was a scorcher the day we went! The beduin tent was like a hothouse, but the lunch tables were a great location. Lovely day, thank you!More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
KenD1949, General Manager at al Fiume Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2018

Hi Natass. You and your guests were a an absolute pleasure to serve. Thank you for being such special guests and making the art of hosting in the hospitality trade the joy that it is. We look forward to seeing you again soon, sooner than...More

Reviewed 30 October 2018

My wife and I chose to celebrate our first anniversary here with a three course dinner including champagne and chocolates. The food is definitely approaching a fine dining experience but lacks that something extra that would make it exceptional. It took the staff a while...to track down our booking but eventually made up for it with great service. The setting is really beautiful even though we had to sit inside as a result of a pending thunderstorm. Parking can also be an issue for ladies in heels as the restaurant is down a steep gravel slope.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?1  
KenD1949, General Manager at al Fiume Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Hi CJ Thanks for your very constructive comments and compliments. We are always striving to improve and I fully intend adding that something extra to make it exceptional. On behalf of me and the River Place team I would like to extend a belated "HAPPY...More

Reviewed 21 August 2018

We just missed the live music, which concluded prior to our arrival - nonetheless, a beautiful setting with entertainment for young children. The food is spectacular, and we were spoiled for choice. The menu is well-thought out, and indicates allergens as well as special dietary...information, which is something that other local restaurants don't offer. I see this as a gourmet menu, and thus the prices of between R80 and R200 per main course (2018 values) are quite reasonable. We did wait for the food for quite some time, but this is also to be expected in the context of freshly prepared gourmet courses - it was worth the wait. Our server was excellent, and his recommendations were insightful. My husband had the steak, and it was melt-in-the-mouth steak full of flavor, and I'll highly recommend it. The burgers were a hit with the children. My prawn pasta did not live up to the promises on the menu, but was pleasant nonetheless. This was our second time there, and we'll go again. It is a very laid back experience, and to experience the full benefit, it is recommended that you go only when you have time to relax, I think guests who are in a hurry will be disappointed.More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?1  
Ken D, General Manager at al Fiume Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to voice your valued opinion about your experiences at al Fiume. We strive to excel and your positive feedback is highly appreciated. I will be adding a bit more of a zing to the Prawn Linguini dish to make...More

Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

I have no complaints about this place, it’s one of the best restaurants I’ve eaten at lately, the lamb I ordered was cooked to perfection medium rare like I requested, you could taste the quality in this place, the atmosphere is even better than I...thought it would be! I will most definitely be going back there!!!More

Date of visit: February 2018
Helpful?
Ken D, General Manager at al Fiume Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

I am delighted as always when you, our valued guest, have had your expectations exceeded. Thank you Nereeka! Your comments are what drive many of us with a passion in this industry to keep striving for excellence!

Reviewed 23 October 2017

I was pleased with our experience at Al Fiume. I never gave any place a 5 star as I feel there should also be left room for improvement. But I can also not complain about anything here. We were there before by ourselves nd I...was a bit concerned taking 3 more couples, but it was just a pleasure. Table seated on the deck outside as requested. Changing number of people from 11 to 12 then to 13. No problem. During restaurant week and they were quite busy, but food all come at the some time, still hot and fresh and correct. The waiter - Truman - was great. Taking orders from 9 adults and 4 children can drive anyone up the wall, but he stayed friendly, helpful with not one mistake. Thank you to Ken, Truman, Marie-Louise and Jane who were all involved in making this a great day outdoors with friends.More

Date of visit: October 2017
Helpful?
Ken D, General Manager at al Fiume Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Hi Zelda It was a pleasure hosting you and your special guests. On behalf of the al Fiume Restaurant team I would like to say "Thank You".

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hoogland Health Hydro
163 reviews
2.30 km away
Idle Winds Lodge and Conference Centre
14 reviews
4.76 km away
The Orient
121 reviews
8.56 km away
Alpha Conference Centre
6 reviews
9.79 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Gem Of The Bushveld
9 reviews
11.02 km away
The Windmill Restaurant
323 reviews
11.97 km away
The Fat Olive Restaurant
153 reviews
12.20 km away
vida e caffe
18 reviews
6.85 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Lesedi Cultural Village
429 reviews
10.32 km away
Lion and Safari Park
2 195 reviews
10.59 km away
Lion Walk Safari
20 reviews
8.83 km away
Lesidi Cultural Village
9 reviews
10.40 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
SibiP1
29 November 2018|
Answer
Response from SibiP1 |
SibiP1
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about al Fiume Riverside Restaurant

Yes, al Fiume Riverside Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

al Fiume Riverside Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3
  • Atmosphere: 4.5