We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

al Fiume Riverside Restaurant

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 20/09/23 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from al Fiume Riverside Restaurant
Updated 20/09/23 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$25 - US$80
CUISINES
Italian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
31
35
22
8
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
31
35
22
8
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mash calamari hennops river country estate restaurant week friendly manager ken outing
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 27 October 2020

Situated at the River Place Country Estate in the Hennops River Valley, this restaurant forms part of a wonderful venue offering accommodation and caters for weddings and business gatherings. We visited them for our fourth outing on Restaurant Week and were seated on the deck...overlooking the tranquil river passing by and were served complimentary bubbly which was very refreshing in the heat of the day. For starters we settled on the Calamari and Arancini. The tender calamari was lightly grilled and served in a spicy sambal dressing, lovely and refreshing. Arancini, which are Risotto balls with mushroom, Parmesan and Buffalo Mozzarella which were deep fried and served in a truffle infused sauce were unfortunately bland and had no real taste. For mains we enjoyed a Green Thai Chicken Curry and their Pork Belly. The Thai Curry was wonderfully flavoured with chili and coriander which beautifully infused with the coconut milk sauce. This was served with a combination of wild, basmati and brown rice (also cooked with coconut milk) and a serving of carrot & cucumber pickle. The pork belly was a melt in your mouth feast, served with an apple, honey and chili chutney which added to the sticky delight of the pork. The sides of mash and vegetables were fresh and fitted well with the rest of the meal. From the warm greeting of the security guard at the gate to the very friendly Manager Ken as well as the wonderful service we received from our very professional and friendly waiter Andrew, we greatly enjoyed our visit and hope to see them again soon.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 23 January 2019 via mobile

Tried to phone the restaurant to make a reservation. Neither phone numbers worked. I probably should have realised then that this was not going to be good. So I made a reservation by email. I received a phone call and email confirmation of my reservation...a week in advance. On the night, we drive the half an hour to get to the restaurant, to find that something exploded in the microwave, it looked pretty bad, and that neither the kitchen nor the restaurant were expecting us. There was a buffet for a team building thing... :/ So my dad I livid, because it's his birthday and we have to find somewhere else to eat, and I'm pretty unhappy by the whole thing. I'd avoid this place.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
KenD1949, General Manager at al Fiume Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2019

Hi Deesha Firstly, as in the mailed response. I would like to apologise for the reservation communication debacle. It was unacceptable and definitely not the norm. Correctional counselling with the relevant Staff member has occurred and we do not expect any further problems with reservations....More

Reviewed 19 December 2018

We went to Al Fiume for a 50th birthday celebration and despite the changes due to the unfortunate fire, the place is still lovely;y - lunch by the river is a great setting and the food on offer was delicious! The pool was great for...the kids! It was a scorcher the day we went! The beduin tent was like a hothouse, but the lunch tables were a great location. Lovely day, thank you!More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
KenD1949, General Manager at al Fiume Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2018

Hi Natass. You and your guests were a an absolute pleasure to serve. Thank you for being such special guests and making the art of hosting in the hospitality trade the joy that it is. We look forward to seeing you again soon, sooner than...More

Reviewed 30 October 2018

My wife and I chose to celebrate our first anniversary here with a three course dinner including champagne and chocolates. The food is definitely approaching a fine dining experience but lacks that something extra that would make it exceptional. It took the staff a while...to track down our booking but eventually made up for it with great service. The setting is really beautiful even though we had to sit inside as a result of a pending thunderstorm. Parking can also be an issue for ladies in heels as the restaurant is down a steep gravel slope.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?1  
KenD1949, General Manager at al Fiume Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Hi CJ Thanks for your very constructive comments and compliments. We are always striving to improve and I fully intend adding that something extra to make it exceptional. On behalf of me and the River Place team I would like to extend a belated "HAPPY...More

Reviewed 21 August 2018

We just missed the live music, which concluded prior to our arrival - nonetheless, a beautiful setting with entertainment for young children. The food is spectacular, and we were spoiled for choice. The menu is well-thought out, and indicates allergens as well as special dietary...information, which is something that other local restaurants don't offer. I see this as a gourmet menu, and thus the prices of between R80 and R200 per main course (2018 values) are quite reasonable. We did wait for the food for quite some time, but this is also to be expected in the context of freshly prepared gourmet courses - it was worth the wait. Our server was excellent, and his recommendations were insightful. My husband had the steak, and it was melt-in-the-mouth steak full of flavor, and I'll highly recommend it. The burgers were a hit with the children. My prawn pasta did not live up to the promises on the menu, but was pleasant nonetheless. This was our second time there, and we'll go again. It is a very laid back experience, and to experience the full benefit, it is recommended that you go only when you have time to relax, I think guests who are in a hurry will be disappointed.More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?1  
Ken D, General Manager at al Fiume Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to voice your valued opinion about your experiences at al Fiume. We strive to excel and your positive feedback is highly appreciated. I will be adding a bit more of a zing to the Prawn Linguini dish to make...More

Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

I have no complaints about this place, it’s one of the best restaurants I’ve eaten at lately, the lamb I ordered was cooked to perfection medium rare like I requested, you could taste the quality in this place, the atmosphere is even better than I...thought it would be! I will most definitely be going back there!!!More

Date of visit: February 2018
Helpful?
Ken D, General Manager at al Fiume Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

I am delighted as always when you, our valued guest, have had your expectations exceeded. Thank you Nereeka! Your comments are what drive many of us with a passion in this industry to keep striving for excellence!

Reviewed 23 October 2017

I was pleased with our experience at Al Fiume. I never gave any place a 5 star as I feel there should also be left room for improvement. But I can also not complain about anything here. We were there before by ourselves nd I...was a bit concerned taking 3 more couples, but it was just a pleasure. Table seated on the deck outside as requested. Changing number of people from 11 to 12 then to 13. No problem. During restaurant week and they were quite busy, but food all come at the some time, still hot and fresh and correct. The waiter - Truman - was great. Taking orders from 9 adults and 4 children can drive anyone up the wall, but he stayed friendly, helpful with not one mistake. Thank you to Ken, Truman, Marie-Louise and Jane who were all involved in making this a great day outdoors with friends.More

Date of visit: October 2017
Helpful?
Ken D, General Manager at al Fiume Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Hi Zelda It was a pleasure hosting you and your special guests. On behalf of the al Fiume Restaurant team I would like to say "Thank You".

Reviewed 16 October 2017

As with so many restaurants that have beautiful settings, for some reason they lack service and quality of food. The food is very average and the service is worse. badly trained staff. Not a cheap restaurant and therefore not worth the drive.

Date of visit: September 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Restaurant set right next to the hennops river food and service absolutely amazing Love this place it’s kid friendly it with a jumping castle and a swimming pool that the older kids can entertain themselves while u enjoy your meal

Date of visit: October 2017
Helpful?
Ken D, Manager at al Fiume Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

We are always delighted when our diligence and great service plus the natural beauty of the Lodge is appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share your views. We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Reviewed 12 September 2017

We stayed at River Place Lodge for the weekend where al Fiume is based, and had dinner and breakfast there. al Fiume is Italian for 'to the river', which it literally is. The setting is truly lovely, if you like the outdoors and rivers, and...if you opt to sit on the deck or beneath one of the romantic little gazebos then you'll be treated to seeing an array of birds and wild life as well. The food is well prepared, but average, and quite pricey for what it is. Drinks were very expensive (a 250ml bottle of still water is R18). We booked bed and breakfast, and a continental/full English breakfast was offered. This was quite substantial, but nothing spectacular. The staff are friendly and attentive, but be aware that if you sit under one of the gazebos or on the deck area near the pool, that they have to walk miles to the kitchen, and that you may finish your chips before they get back to you with the tomato sauce ;) Also, please tip in cash if you can...More

Date of visit: September 2017
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hoogland Health Hydro
161 reviews
2.30 km away
Idle Winds Lodge and Conference Centre
14 reviews
4.76 km away
The Orient
121 reviews
8.56 km away
Alpha Conference Centre
6 reviews
9.79 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Gem Of The Bushveld
9 reviews
11.02 km away
The Windmill Restaurant
318 reviews
11.97 km away
The Fat Olive Restaurant
150 reviews
12.20 km away
vida e caffe
18 reviews
6.85 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Lesedi Cultural Village
429 reviews
10.32 km away
Lion and Safari Park
2 192 reviews
10.59 km away
Lion Walk Safari
20 reviews
8.83 km away
Lesidi Cultural Village
9 reviews
10.40 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
SibiP1
29 November 2018|
Answer
Response from SibiP1 |
SibiP1
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing