We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Portuguese, Bar, European, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Table Service
View all details
features, about
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
4
3
0
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
4
3
0
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 17 December 2021

We visited Eugenes for the first time since their shutdown. Surprised to see the shop has new owners and is now called "Cardoso's" and the food is just AMAZING!! I would highly recommend taking the drive just to experience the authenticity of a well cooked...portuguese meal served by great Patrons!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 30 November 2021

The service leaves much to be desired. The waiter did attend to the drink requests every time however, we waited almost 2 hours for the food to arrive. When it did arrive the three people that had ordered mutton chops were informed that this item...was not available. They had to reorder and waited almost another hour. Lunch became dinner. Several requests were made to see the manager who eventually came and then had many excuses.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 16 October 2021 via mobile

The food was really great, awesome service and an attentive manager. It was a table of 15 people but the food was prepared excellently! Prawns had alot of flavour and espetadas and chicken out of this world!

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 18 March 2021

disaffection from the experience i received from the waitron as well as the manager on duty tonight. We had to repeatedly ask for soda water after the bulk of the drinks order was served. to put into perspective I brought guests through from port Elizabeth...to experience the true Eugnene's experience which I was always used to but with great disappointment, i was never embarrassed as much as tonight waiting 1.5 hours for our food to arrive. this is a long story so to cut it to the bone, what a horrible experience. Eugene please ask your manager on duty to explain but I would not put my foot in your establishment again. regards your 7 years loyal customer. RiaanMore

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Eugene's Casa P... R, General Manager at Eugene's Casa Portuguesa & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2021

Unfortunately our video footage shows a very different story to your complaint. You did wait awhile for your food, however, the manager did attend to you. You are welcome to come to the shop and discuss with Louis

Reviewed 12 February 2020

We had our end of year lunch at Eugenes and l ordered some chicken wings. The wings were a big disappointment. They serve winglets and not wings as advertised and the pieces were so small I could not tell which part of the wing it...was. I have eaten winglets before and the sizes were decent compared to what Eugene's served. I complained but was told that's the what they serve at Eugenes :(More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 15 November 2019

Best Portuguese chicken. Thanks to the manager Marco, we always have the best sevice and always taken care of,satisfied with mouth watering meals...return clients with great food and sevice...

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 8 November 2019

We often frequent Eugene's and honestly, we have always received very good service and delicious food. Unfortunately Eugene's tarnished their perfect reputation with their service (mostly) and food today. We arrived at the restaurant 11.15am. The waiter took our drinks and food order at the...same time, and disappeared into the kitchen. A few minutes later we had our drinks, and that was IT with regards to service. Our waiter never brought us Eugene's customary complimentary cocktail rolls, so we didn't have anything to munch on whilst we were waiting for our food. And wait we did. We waited and waited and waited and waited. FOR AN HOUR. We asked our waiter 3 times where the food was, he kept on saying "it is coming just now". Eventually my husband had enough and he called the manager. Who subsequently told him that our waiter should have told us that the kitchen actually only 'opens' at 12. He also said that the waiter was supposed to bring us the rolls - which he didn't. Our food came and hour after we have ordered it, we ate and we went home. The fish was not properly done and the prego was mediocre - not at all what we are used to! Friday afternoon spoiled. Check.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 21 October 2019

We had the most disappointing meal for 2019 at Eugenes. The peri peri chicken was so small we stopped at MacDonalds afterwards. The Portuguese steak was dry and not up to standard. We will definately not be back.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 March 2019 via mobile

Appalling manageress Customer Service! I have heard the new manageress swearing at customers behind their backs & swearing at her colleagues, but now i've seen it all. On Friday evening the manageress & the new bar lady swore at us and caused such a comotion...just for asking her name. In over 5 years of going to Eugenes often, I'm truely sad to say we will not be back and will not recommend Eugenes. NO PAYING CUSTOMER DESERVES SUCH TREATMENT.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?4  
Reviewed 23 February 2019

It seems to always be difficult finding a good pub at the end of a long day. What makes Eugene’s not only special but exceptional is as this restaurant and pub serves all your needs. Various different separated areas within the restaurant / pub cater...for different needs; whether you are a family, a bunch of friends, business associates, retired or just want to make it a couple’s night out you will always be welcomed. Imagine being stuck in the traffic on the N1 between Johannesburg and Pretoria late afternoon; perhaps next time, get off and enjoy an ice cold beer or draught on the tap, including craft beer with a huge number of options when wanting a bite before continuing. Eugene, the owner, is always ready to find out if you are well looked after and after a few visits, he also becomes a friend. The waiters are great and after a couple of visits, you become a local and are welcomed with opened arms. Thanks Shakes, our friendly and loyal waiter!More

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Copperstone House
1 review
5.58 km away
Leopardsong Manor
184 reviews
5.63 km away
Road Lodge Centurion
58 reviews
5.81 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand
258 reviews
5.86 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Fleisherei Bistro
93 reviews
.73 km away
The Suburban
85 reviews
1.53 km away
Vintage Coffee
21 reviews
.26 km away
Ocean Basket Grey Owl Village Midstream
11 reviews
.41 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Irene Farm
449 reviews
5.78 km away
South African Mint Company
23 reviews
.58 km away
StokeCity WakePark
7 reviews
5.50 km away
Flight of the Eagle Safaris & Tours
25 reviews
4.48 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Barry L
26 March 2019|
Answer
Response from Francois d | Reviewed this property |
I don't know, we just had traditional Portuguese Trinchado and chicken
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Eugene's Casa Portuguesa & Pub

Eugene's Casa Portuguesa & Pub is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3.5