We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Butcher Block

2 Ncondo Place | CNR Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
+27 31 566 3547
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good35%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (64 reviews)
“ribs” (5 reviews)
“t bone” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Ncondo Place | CNR Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A group of friends and myself went to butcher block last night for dinner. Our Waiter Nevelle was great! He informed us about all the delicious specials and gave us recommendations. The food was absolutely divine. We all tried the Chefs specialty’s of the steak....More

Thank SoniaG1063
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear SoniaG, thank you for the excellent review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal. I shall pass on your compliments to Neville your waiter. Now that you know where our store is located we hope you come back and dine with...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Loved the scenery,the staff were friendly and very welcoming. My fiancé was super excited when he saw what was done for him on his birthday. Together with the Romance Specialist they made it extra special.

Thank saibasa
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Tried this restaurant last night - was supposed to be half price ladies night. The bill came to R300 each for a 200g steak, 1 glass of wine and a coffee - for a half price special this seemed expensive

Thank Alison S
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Alison, the half price only applies to the main course but the bill does seem high for one person. Are you able to send me a copy of your bill to robynne@butcherblock.co.za so that I can follow up?

Reviewed 7 August 2018

Good tasty food, service is excellent, great choice of wines. Well worth a visit. Setting is great, with secure parking

Thank VonVintlo
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thank you for the excellent review VonVintlo! Please join us again soon.

Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

The Butcher Block was touted as one of the best places to eat, but we got off to a bad start when we were met at the door by (presumably) the maitre'de, who palmed us off on a waiter while saying "Sorry, there's a bigger...More

Thank John G
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear John, many thanks for your feedback. I must apologise sincerely for the manner in which you were greeted at our Umhlanga Branch as this is totally unacceptable. I will most definitely be taking this up with the General Manager of the store. It would...More

Reviewed 10 July 2018

Our choices were well-priced, average sized portions, served hot, timely (all 3 order together), and were tasty and well executed. Desserts were what they said they were - no great shakes. Good open-plan venue well lit and pleasant. Very convenient if staying at the Holiday...More

Thank leilag56
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Many thanks for your positive feedback Leilag.

Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Bad service and less than average food. Unfriendly waitress with no knowledge of the menu or what is meant to be done. This visit was a waste of time and money. I will not recommend.

Thank sammyn5
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Sammyn, We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us. We aim to provide our customers with quality meals and excellent service. I shall pass your comments on to our store management so that your concerns can be addressed.

Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Had a lunch with five friends on a Saturday afternoon. They have a lunch menu for R75 which includes a glass of wine. There is a choice of six different dishes and we tried them all. They were all excellent and the atmosphere was very...More

Thank Gail N
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Gail, Thank you so much for your excellent review and 5 Star Rating. We are delighted you enjoyed our lunch special and meals on offer. We look forward to you dining with us again soon.

Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Had a quick business dinner ( lamb chops with chips, very nicely cooked, medium as requested ), service was good, though the upselling is a little tiresome. If I've selected what I want already that doesn't mean I might drop it all for something stuffed...More

Thank AndySmal
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Andy, many thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Lamb Chops were a great choice and we are delighted to hear that they were cooked as per your request. Our waiters are all required to inform customers what specials are on...More

Reviewed 2 May 2018

Great service, great venue and so welcoming for very different type of occasions.To a certain degree,I do hope one day it has a very great way of incorporating a more night life vibe by means of having a DJ that shall fill up the atmosphere.More

Thank BrendonD122
Robynne S, Public Relations Manager at Butcher Block, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Brendon, many thanks for the positive feedback on our restaurant. We do hire out the venue for private functions where we are able to provide music however due to the fact that we are located in a Hotel we are limited to what we...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
464 reviews
.02 km away
Coastlands Umhlanga
479 reviews
.17 km away
Road Lodge Umhlanga
88 reviews
.27 km away
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
171 reviews
.44 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Greedy Buddha
259 reviews
.44 km away
Sugarlicious
22 reviews
.44 km away
Fishaways Gateway
6 reviews
.31 km away
Circus Circus Cafe
203 reviews
.56 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mindgame Escape
30 reviews
1.27 km away
Gateway Theatre of Shopping
559 reviews
.54 km away
Africa Art Gallery
18 reviews
1.27 km away
Makiwa Gallery
13 reviews
1.34 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
giomarcondes
17 February 2016|
Answer
Response from Robynne S | Property representative |
Dear Giomarcon, I am not being in least way defensive. If a customer has a complaint and we are made aware of it we are always more than happy to rectify the problem. If there is a problem with a cut of meat then we will... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, View, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Ncondo Place | CNR Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  KwaZulu-Natal  >  Umhlanga Rocks
  • Phone Number: +27 31 566 3547
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing