We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Lord Prawn has been family run along with an amazing team of loyal and conscientious staff members, some of which have been at Lord Prawn since the start. At Lord Prawn we strive to constantly serve the best quality of food at a reasonable price but with a genuine want to please our customers and in turn build strong customer relationships and add to our Prawn family!
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Seafood
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service, Validated Parking, Free off-street parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards, Family style, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
162
109
35
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
162
109
35
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews queen prawns seafood calamari bisque rice kingklip salad baby lobster delicious prawns lemon butter 1kg platter umhlanga million waiters kilo supper
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went looking for something different than the usual fish eatery. The food was great and the drinks was on point. Even though the food was great, the food service took longer to take your order than it did to prepare. So the restaurant isn’t...for the hasty.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have always been a fan of this restaurant but were disappointed at the price of the food. The lacklustre setting and average food does not warrant the prices on the menu. We feel resentful paying high prices for meagre meals.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
Lord Prawn, General Manager at LORD PRAWN, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear AndreanaOchse, Thank you for the review. Our Quality and Quantity of our food still the same, unfortunately seafood prices increased harshly and we had to adjust our prices, since our last increase 14 months ago. Most of our customers understand, and complimented us on...More

Reviewed 28 March 2021 via mobile

We had a very good time and the food was very good, just needed a bit more flavor on the lobster and prawns but elsewise very good.. I must say the service was excellent most probably the best in Umhlanga.. Well done a keep it...up..More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Lord Prawn, General Manager at LORD PRAWN, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2021

Good day, Thank you for the kind words and 4 star. We grill the seafood in Lemon butter, you can then flavour it further with our 3 sauces that come with it, Peri Peri, Garlic butter and Lemon Butter. Warm regards Gerhard

Reviewed 16 March 2021 via mobile

It’s been years since I was last at this restaurant. We sat on the deck outside and experienced great service, great food - would highly recommend.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
Lord Prawn, General Manager at LORD PRAWN, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2021

Good day, Thank you for the 5 stars and kind words. Warm regards Lord Prawn

Reviewed 29 November 2020

This place is a must visit when in Umhlanga. The food is THE BEST in DBN! Excellent service, food and atmosphere. Thanks for a great evening!

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 26 October 2020

We were met and served with great service throughout our visit. We ordered the Seafood Platter for 2 and was amazed with the quality and the ablosute deliciousness of every bite. Large portion, great value for money. Decor needs a little updating,but it is soon...forgotten when you dive into your plate.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
LordPrawn, General Manager at LORD PRAWN, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2020

Good day Tiaan, Thank you for the kind words. We keep the comfort of the furniture to be cozy,however thank you for your feedback. Warm Regards Gerhard

Reviewed 22 March 2020

Great meal at The Lord Prawn while on a recent stay in Umhlanga, ok it is a little old fashioned and cosy but that adds to the charm of the restaurant, also it is extremely popular with locals as a place to celebrate birthdays, there...was 3 on the night which I dined. Starter of tempura prawns (5) from the specials board, served with salad garnish was tasty, the prawns fresh and meaty, the prawn cocktail was just as good , the seafood sauce a little rich but the prawns were delicious. Mains of king klip fillet was perfectly grilled, the fish fresh and white, served with chips, butternut and spinach all washed down with some white wine which was reasonably priced, iced water available on request with no charge. Service was attentive , plates were cleared promptly and bill came when requested. There is both inside and outside seating so you have the choice of AC inside or fresh air on the outside terrace. I would not hesitate in returning if I was in the area again, a great choice for seafood.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
LordPrawn, General Manager at LORD PRAWN, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2020

Dear Valued client, Thank you for the kind words, See you soon, Warm Regards Gerhard and Team.

Reviewed 16 March 2020

Food at Lord of Prawns is fantastic as long as you not scared of garlic. The food contains a lot of garlic, but it's to be expected when eating snails and seafood. The service is good and everyone is friendly. I would recommend you go...try them. The food is a bit pricey, but cooked to perfection.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
LordPrawn, General Manager at LORD PRAWN, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2020

Dear Ruan, Thank you for the kind words, yes we love garlic... See you soon, Warm Regards Gerhard and team

Reviewed 11 March 2020

Fabulous. We ate here twice and each time was excellent the queen prawns are to die for and excellent value.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
LordPrawn, General Manager at LORD PRAWN, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2020

Dear L M Hughes, Thank you for the kind words, our Queen's are delicious. Warm regards Gerhard and Team

Reviewed 19 February 2020 via mobile

Our first night while on holiday in Umhlanga, we decided to eat at Lord Prawn. I had the fish cakes for starters and my husband the peri peri chicken livers. For mains I ordered 8 Queen prawns with butternut and spinach and my husband had...a seafood platter with butternut and spinach. Our meals were average, nothing spectacular, actually a bit disappointing compared to previous experiences. If you don't eat the food with the sauces provided, it is actually a bit bland in taste. The veggies were not tasty at all. Maybe a next visit will be better.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
LordPrawn, General Manager at LORD PRAWN, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2020

Dear Annali, Thank you for the review, the sauces are part of the meal. sorry you had a disappointing evening. Next time, please speak to a manager we gladly fix any concern. Warm regards Gerhard and team

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Capital Pearls
213 reviews
.11 km away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
454 reviews
.17 km away
Beverly Hills
1 683 reviews
.17 km away
The Oyster Box
2 784 reviews
.26 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Butcher Boys (Umhlanga)
798 reviews
.11 km away
African Roots Coffee
91 reviews
.14 km away
Julio's Umhlanga
171 reviews
.03 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Mindgame Escape
107 reviews
.29 km away
Umhlanga Main Beach
945 reviews
.48 km away
Umhlanga Beach
27 reviews
.11 km away
Whalebone Pier
129 reviews
.23 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
863ralphi
25 November 2017|
Answer
Response from MariG1571 | Reviewed this property |
Yes weekends
0
Votes
863ralphi
25 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MariG1571 | Reviewed this property |
Yes preferably but for lunch times it can be walk in
1
Vote
TAMISH-ZN
16 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Robert M | Reviewed this property |
Good place to celebrate but stick to Prawn and fish dishes
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about LORD PRAWN

  • Yes, LORD PRAWN offers takeaway services.

  • Yes, LORD PRAWN offers delivery services.

  • LORD PRAWN is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 4