We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chippewa Spur Steak Ranch

Is this your business?
430 Peter Mokaba Ridge | Shop 46, 47 & 48, The Atrium Overport City, Berea, Durban 4001, South Africa
+27 31 207 4381
Website
Save
All photos (21)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good26%
  • Average23%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (11 reviews)
“play area” (4 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 22:00 Hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Fast food, Barbecue
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
430 Peter Mokaba Ridge | Shop 46, 47 & 48, The Atrium Overport City, Berea, Durban 4001, South Africa
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: Chippewa Spur Steak Ranch
1. SA's favourite Steak house
"The steaks are exceptional , well aged"
JamesM007
See reviews that mention steak
2. Original Spur burger
"burgers are simply mouthwatering"
aaishahassim
See reviews that mention burgers
3. Kid friendly
"Kids will love the experience, especially the play area"
aaishahassim
See reviews that mention kid
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

We eat here quite often and the food has always been good. At times the place gets quite full. They are quite friendly and have good service. You can't go wrong here! Good atmosphere, good food and good service.

Thank moki786
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Chippewa Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear moki786, Thank you for your wonderful review of Chippewa Spur. We are always looking to serve up a wonderful Spur experience - glad you enjoyed it. Warm regards, Spur Family

Reviewed 30 January 2018 via mobile

We had an awesome experience. Food was good. Love the play area . Kids had a great time. Nice and spacious and enough for the kids to be entertained .

Thank _fsuli
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Chippewa Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hi _fsuli, Thank you for your wonderful review of Chippewa Spur. We are always looking to serve up a wonderful Spur experience - glad you and the little warriors enjoyed it. Warm regards, Spur Family

Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

They definately need to up their game...They thrive on the Spur brand. The steak is chewy and lacks the taste of a good steak.. so much basting u never can tell if it's well done.. Feels like mass produced.. sadly dissapointing ..It used to be...More

Thank Ferial
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Chippewa Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Ferial, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We're so sorry to hear that this was your experience. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of food quality we pride ourselves on. If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on,...More

Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We experienced good service and good food at spur. The fillet is the best. The onion rings (ask for crispy) were divine. The burgers were good. Drinks were good as well. Moderately priced. It is a huge restaurant so plenty of space. Can get busy.

Thank Aisha W
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Chippewa Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Hi there Aisha, Thank you so much for your great review of our Chippewa Spur Restaurant. We're thrilled to hear that the food & service was a hit. We hope to see you again soon for another Spurrrific experience. Kind regards, Spur Family

Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

This Spur is in a dying mall, so the traffic is not as prolific as other Spurs. As a result the playground is huge and spacious, the staff is attentive, unstressed. Meals from the kitchen show time, care and attention, which is atypical of most...More

Thank 252dobby
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Chippewa Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear 252dobby, Thanks so much for taking the time to send us your feedback. Great customer service and excellent food is our aim. We hope to see you again soon for many more 5-star experiences. Kind regards, Spur Steak Ranches

Reviewed 21 November 2017

Great service, enjoyed the meals and the desserts were the perfect closure for a great night. Added plus was the kids being kept in the kiddies play area while I ate in peace.

Thank shokathr
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Chippewa Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear shokathr, Thank you so much for your great review. We're thrilled to hear that the food & service was a hit! We hope to see you again soon for many more positive experiences. Kind regards, Spur Steak Ranches

Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

I always have a nostalgic feeling about returning to spur for their ribs. Took my mom this time and was sorely disappointed with the quality of the meat. I wonder if they are still using a good grade meat. Not impressed!More

Thank Ludwig K
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Chippewa Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Ludwig K, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We're so sorry to hear that this was your experience. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of food quality we pride ourselves on. If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review...More

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

This Spur being the only halaal one in durban and i have dined here numerous of times. I used to really enjoy eating here unfortunately during the past two years there is a major cut down on food. The chips, onion rings and meat are...More

Thank Nadia R
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Chippewa Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Nadia R, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and the great customer service. However, we are sorry to hear that this was your experience regarding your food. That certainly doesn't...More

Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

The restaurant is large and great if you have young kids cos the play area is equally large. Specials are great. My family particularly likes the Buy one get one burger free Monday Special. Food is decent and portions are generally large. Only downside is...More

Thank MohamedFayaz
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Chippewa Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Dear MohamedFayaz, Thank you for your review of Chippewa Spur. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to have you back again soon! Kind regards, Spur Steak Ranches

Reviewed 1 February 2017

Good food, halaal. The play area keeps my son busy all the time. amazing attendants and facilities, best I have seen

Thank Azima M
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Chippewa Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

Dear Azima M, Thank you so much your amazing review of our Chippewa Spur Family Restaurant. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! We hope to see you and your family again soon, for another Spurrrific experience. Kind regards, Spur Family

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Berea Hotels
Coastlands Musgrave Hotel
274 reviews
.44 km away
Emakhosini Hotel On East
10 reviews
.77 km away
The Benjamin
243 reviews
1.82 km away
Florida Park Hotel
85 reviews
1.83 km away
Nearby Restaurants
La Bella
69 reviews
.78 km away
Legends Diner
6 reviews
.01 km away
Maxi's
22 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
Durban Botanic Gardens
987 reviews
.66 km away
Greyville Racecourse
64 reviews
1.51 km away
St. Thomas' Church
21 reviews
.95 km away
The Campbell Collections
15 reviews
.58 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Chippewa Spur Steak Ranch staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$11
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Delivery, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:00
Monday
08:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 22:00
Thursday
08:00 - 22:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 430 Peter Mokaba Ridge | Shop 46, 47 & 48, The Atrium Overport City, Berea, Durban 4001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  KwaZulu-Natal  >  Durban  >  Berea
  • Phone Number: +27 31 207 4381
  • E-mail
Description
Spoil your family & eat out at Chippewa Spur (Halaal), we are the best steakhouse & burger restaurant in Berea. Bring along your kids for some great tasting food & dessert from our famous Spur menu.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing